We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of Sonnetta Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonnetta Residency
Ranked #21 of 430 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Great room
Excellent!!
Recommended by a friend from Kerala and was completely satisfied!
Very helpfull and friendly staff. Check in and check out was a breeze
Cleanest & nicest place we stayed in India by far.

Taxi was Rs 450 from Ernakulam town train station.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    82
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
39
92
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

After a long flight from the UK we arrived here at 5am! We rang the doorbell and was welcomed in. as our room was not occupied we were able to settle in straight away and get some well needed sleep. The room was clean with the security of a safe (Free of Charge). This is a family run Home-stay and they were all extremely helpful and all spoke very good English. They organised our Houseboat Trip, which is well worth doing. This is in the centre of Fort Cochin near the Chinese Nets. Just around the corner is the Excel Bar, which is one of the only places we found to get an alcoholic drink in that area. We were unimpressed with the beach, but for just 4 rupees you can get a ferry over to Vilpyn Island and then you need to get a Rickshaw to Cherai Beach. Well worth doing! We did not try the food in the Sonnetta, but went across the road to the Vineyard and had a reasonably priced breakfast.

In summary if you want a reasonably priced room in Cochin then you need look no further than the Sonnetta residency. we would recommend this to our friends and if we venture this way again we will book in here!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Hopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quadra Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed with the friendly and helpful folks at Sonnetta Residency for 5 nights. The room had two double beds with thick, comfortable mattresses and a spotless bathroom with a great shower. They assisted us in finding bicycles to rent and provided secure indoor storage for them. We had good Indian breakfast and "western" breakfast was also available. The room was quiet even though Sonnetta is located in the heart of the restaurant and shop district of Fort Cochin. The overhead fan worked well and cooled the room sufficiently that we didn't require any A/C. As a result our room rate was only 1000 rupees/night. (1300 with A/C).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't on the street side for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I concur with other reviewers that this is a great place to stay.
The facilities, cleanliness and extra mile service you get here is outstanding.
HOWEVER, I booked my room through Agoda - and when I presented my voucher the owner said he wasn't prepared to honour it, because apparently Agoda don't pass on enough of the tariff to them.
The proprietor initially said I should contact Agoda and tell them that I cannot use my pre-paid voucher here, or would have to pay an additional cash amount to "make up the difference".
After a quick fire negotiation, and having to uncomfortably stand my ground he relented to say that I am the innocent party, but should contact them anyway and say that they have created a bad situation for their customers. It seemed ridiculous to pass on such a "burden" to guests who have booked in good faith.
He watched me send an email... and then it was fine.
I got the distinct impression that the next person who presents an Agoda voucher will get the same treatment, so be warned!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoegazer_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Sparkling clean and beautifully decorated. Prime location with restaurants and sights within walking distance. The friendly staff is knowledgeable and helpful. Price is actually much lower than other hotels on the same street even though more amenities are offered such as a refrigerator, WiFi, tea & coffee, AC, fluffy towels, etc. I have been staying here for 7 years because every effort is made to make you feel " at home."

Room Tip: there are rooms on the ground floor if stairs are a problem all rooms are quiet and dark at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndiaSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
9.4 km away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 km away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.4 km away
Good Karma inn
Good Karma inn
#4 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 km away
Niyati - Boutique Stay
Niyati - Boutique Stay
#13 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnetta Residency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnetta Residency

Property: Sonnetta Residency
Address: 1/387 Sonnetta Residency Princess Street, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 430 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,034 - ₹ 16,808
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonnetta Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a building built by the Portuguese in the 17th century. It is situated in the prime spot of Fort Cochin, just 2 minutes walkable distance to the beach and near to other surrounding tourist sights. We have 6 rooms. 5 among them are double rooms and the remaining one is a triple bedroom. All rooms are deluxe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Sonnetta Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnetta Residency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing