We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
97
15
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
97
15
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cardamom plantation play area cardamom and pepper table tennis an ideal place great place for family plantains hot water estate property bungalow hospitality nature midst thekkady dryer greenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2021 via mobile

Great ambiance ; clean and spacious.
Delicious hot food and friendly staff.

Great place for family/small gatherings in the lap of nature. Picturesque surroundings.

Facilities provided for games and to engage kids.

Had a wonderful experience with family Post covid restrictions

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alishasmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merin George, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, Thekkady, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback!
Glad to great about your experience at the the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2021 via mobile

If you are looking for a large expanse of greenery, amazing home style food, mist in your room and extremely warm hosts then this is the place to be! Visited last week there with my family and a few friends! It’s a large estate with cardamom and pepper plantation! One can relax in their well appointed rooms in the midst of greenery, trek within the plantation, catch fish for dinner in the water bodies within the plantation or engage in indoor and outdoor sports available at the estate! Day trips can be made to Thekkady as well as Munnar. Overall a very relaxing experience and that too at an amazing price! An ideal place to take a break.

Room tip: Ample parking
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 41jitendraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merin George, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, Thekkady, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback!
We look forward to hosting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2020

Sam’s Kalarickal Heritage is a 70 acres property at a fantastic location a few km from the Puliyanmala town near thekkady. The weather was pleasant when we reached in Mid November around noon time. Sam had assured us that enough hygiene safeguards were in place for our stay. The property has a caretaker who took care of our needs.

The lunch was the traditional Kerala meals with an excellent fish fry and curry on the side. After our lunch, the caretaker showed us around the property which has been primarily growing cardamom spices for decades. He showed us around the old bungalow and the adjoining buildings and the history behind it. (The bungalow was built in 1929 by Sam’s great grandfather). He showed us the inside of the vast cardamom store where the cardamom seeds were dried with hot air dryer and stored.

The rooms were quite spacious especially the bathrooms with hot water( Usually the bathrooms of hotel/resort are very small) and were quite well furnished. WiFi is also available.

The cook mentioned that we can have a barbecue grill setup in the night. They have a decent portable music system on which we could play songs and barbeque the chicken in the open grill. The weather in the night is quite pleasant maybe a bit cold but nothing a nice sweater can’t fix. We also played table tennis, Jenga and chess. Cycles are available for kids.

The caretaker took us around the estate and showed us the cardamom plants with their enormous leaves which are more than 6ft tall. We also saw ripe cardamom growing at the bottom of the plants. While walking around, the caretaker mentioned to us to look at the wild boar diggings all around the property. While we didn’t see any wild boars, we could imagine that the estate must be full of them just by looking at the number of diggings we saw around the property.

Breakfast was delicious with tasty dosas and chutney. We left the property after our lunch which was also exceptional.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dilip_Kurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam mathew, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, Thekkady, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive review. It was indeed a pleasure to host you and your family. We certainly hope you will be back soon to enjoy the Kalarickal hospitality!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a planned 2 week tour of Kerala. Such a beautiful place to stay. The rooms are spacious, light, clean and well looked after & the setting with the surrounding plantation, garden with flowers & beehives is idyllic. I spent a lovely couple of hours sitting watching the peppercorns drying and then being raked and packed away. The food both for breakfast and in the evening was delicious with traditional Keralan on offer alongside other choices.
The tour of the plantation and an explanation of the cardamom process was really interesting and informative. We could have stayed here much longer than our 2 nights and were really sad that we had to leave, cut short by the Corona pandemic, if we had to have got stuck somewhere this would have been the perfect place to do it. The manager of the bungalow was really helpful, welcoming, reassuring and funny. It was a pleasure to stay here and we will definitely be back once the world is not so toosy turvy.
Thank you & we hope that you stay safe and well during this challenging time for everyone.
Becky & Toby x

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank C905CUrebeccah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merin George, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, Thekkady, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the property. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

The place is superb. The rooms are well kitted out. Mine host could not do enough for you. Very helpful and a great conversationalist. We had very interesting discussions about various things. It was a pleasure to meet this guy. Dinner and Breakfast can be accommodated around you plans for the day. We were on a tight schedule so he met are needs accordingly. Top Mark's for service and hospitality. Thanks Stevs and Debbie.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stehaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merin George, Owner at Kalarickal Heritage Bungalow, Thekkady, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback!
Looking forward to host you and your family soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews