We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Kerala Backwaters
from US$ 80.00
More Info
Reviews (3,665)
Filter reviews
3,665 results
Traveller rating
2,218
965
267
106
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,218
965
267
106
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews house boat back waters day trip god's own country village life small boat boat ride paddy fields seafood wonderful experience coconut trees per hour rice one night prawns overnight stay houseboat experience
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 3,665 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Total disaster at the houseboat
Washroom with no shower or washing facility as broken
Houseboat used is very old and not maintained
No soaps like shower gel and shampoo
Only one towel for 2people
No small towel to dry hands or face
Food ok lounge are ok but strong smell of diesel used for generator
Cockroaches in washroom
No hot water

even after this disasters they are not ready to refund also...

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank 3110punit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Went to kerala with my wife and 10 months old infant in Dec 2017 to celebrate New year. Was there for 8 days covered cochin, munnar, thekkady, allepey and kovalum and kanyakumari

1. You can skip Theddady as Munnar is a hill station and is small.
2. You onlu need to do kanyakumari if you want to visit one more temple else you will see better one at Trivendurum. 3 sea point is not worth it and vivekanand place is also not that amazing
3. dont plan to cover everything else you will be exhaustwd and not enjoy the trip. Not worth it.
4. cab driver are not good they will not take you everywhere hence clear that out before you book. Also working time in a day
5. dont stay at uday sagar they dont have any beach but just sea. its near to kovalum beach though. New Year there is not that great to pay so much and drinks including cold drink is not included in package and you will pay more tot them. Ayurveda General massage is also ok kind there

for boating you can bargain and if driver is taking you then he will have cut so pre boo and bargain and then ask driver before booking that you will beed to go for boating that you booked. There are so many boats and you will find one easily.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Puneet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

I had this naive notion that cruising the Kerala backwaters would be a tranquil, intimate experience. Well that’s what the brochures say. Whilst you may be able to manage a semblance of calm on your own boat, the backwaters themselves are anything but. Alleppey, the centre of the houseboat scene, is absolutely heaving with boats. There are literally hundreds, if not thousands, plying the waters. As you would expect, there are a few standard routes through the backwaters, and when on one of these, there are at least 30 other houseboats around you.
Don’t get me wrong, the experience is amazing. Just not the one I was expecting.
If you can get away from the main drag, there are fewer boats and a more relaxed experience. We had 3 days. In some areas we saw no other houseboats, just lush jungle or rice fields. If there is a breeze, it is very pleasant. If not, it can be stifling. Bring a good book and enjoy the ride. If you want to relax, this is the place. If you need more stimulation but want to see the backwaters, I reckon 2 nights would get you out of the rat run.

Getting beer or wine is not difficult. Prices vary. For beer, we paid between 120rupees (approx US$2) and 200 ($3.20) per 650ml bottle.
Wine can be much more expensive, costing up to 1800rupees ($29) or more for a 750ml bottle of local wine.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank simons843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Cruise Land House Boats.

We were 6 person and got 3 double rooms.
We were taken to fish market on the way where we bought fish crabs and prawns three times more than the normal price sold in the local market.
Cook was ok and was reluctant to cook food according to our taste.

Date of experience: December 2017
3  Thank MANISHSONI124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Year end 2017, We had family vacation at Kerala specially at Thekkady and Alleppey. As we all know planning family vacation is not simple take need consider several facts before we start, Number of days, Places to visit, Travel time Stay, Local travel, Food and safety. Fist time we have used GOGEO as travel planner with lot of hesitation we have planned 5 days tour plan with the help of them, I must say GOGEO helped us in getting best deals with hotels and they have taken care every aspect of the travel through out, Dedicated cab was ready for at airport and till we complete our tour polite driver was with us, Stay , Local travel and food was extremely good, Every one in family enjoy Elephant ride, Kalaripattum, Kathakalli, Site seeing. We also has beautiful temple visit on the way. Thanks to Priyanka for supporting us during the entire trip, GoGeo trustworthy and professional services.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank pattabhipv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews