We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Kerala Backwaters
from US$ 115.00
More Info
from US$ 26.00
More Info
from US$ 234.00
More Info
Reviews (3,858)
Filter reviews
3,858 results
Traveller rating
2,347
998
276
113
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,347
998
276
113
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviews house boat day trip seafood one night scenic beauty backwaters houseboat cruise boats cook alappuzha chef captain mosquitoes bedroom journey lakes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 3,858 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

This is a must. Stay only one night otherwise I think it will become repetitive.

The landscape is unique and the night on the boat offers a special prospective. Don’t forget your repellent and binoculars.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank WalidZ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

I take this apportunity to review one of best trips to Kerala. Our driver was Mr Tirupati with Innova car. Car was neat & tidy. Was very safe to travel with him. Very humble & honest with excellent service. Would highly recommend his services.
We thoroughly enjoyed his company.
Ashish (Australia)

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Ashish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

I've enjoyed my sunset yoga classes with my Nepalese teachers Deepa. Lovely views over mouth of Periyar River and Chinese fishing nets make the yoga class a delight.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Crisr_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

It was so fun with my friends we really were partying all around at Kerala backwaters. If you go to India go to Kerala.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Vishal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We dutifully checked with a boat salesperson who had a lovely two-story boat we would rent for two nights (for INR24,000 or US$380 which included elaborate meals) to make sure they had the green certification to protect the beautiful backwaters of Kerala, which strictly prohibit plastic. They assured us they did. Meanwhile we watched as they loaded a Costco sized shrink-wrapped pack of plastic water bottles. The first night we docked, one of the boatmen proceeded to chuck the empties over a fence onto a rubbish pile on a banana plantation. The trip was otherwise a welcome break from the frenetic pace of India, a chance to see duck farmers herding their birds in and out of the water, people slapping clothes on the rock wall after laundering them in the river, laundry lines with colorful saris and such drying, coconut palms, rice paddies, soaring white-winged birds landing on colorful clumps of flowering hyacinth, and men fishing in narrow canoes for clams. So please go—just ask to SEE the green certificate.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank KayRynerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews