We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value-for-money place... nothing much else”
Review of Hotel Moti Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moti Mahal
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Mangalore
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“value-for-money place... nothing much else”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

value for money. nothing much else to go for this hotel. fairly old place. nice atmosphere. slightly reluctant staff... not the best i've seen in mangalore. food is average. very centrally located though.

Room Tip: dont ask for the suites. they are too roomy and badly laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anandpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    66
    53
    17
    19
See reviews for
62
36
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kluang, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

It wasn't that much to say, but even if I try to deny the fact is Moti Mahal Hotel is great at having all the services together. It has its own swimming pool, great masseur and spa facilities, newly furbished rooms on 4th floor, 3 restaurants and a happening discobar in town. The hotel also connected to a huge Marriage hall, and their own banquet hall is not bad at all.

Don't expect professional treat anyways.. if you expect too much you'll be disappointed though. The management people are nice, and I do hope those traits may also be shared with the other staffs as well. Efficiency of services shall be improved.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pplindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I have visited my partner's place on April 2011 and his aunt had booked us in Moti Mahal as she's a regular client and she knows the hotel owner. We worked in a five star hotel as well in the Middle east and we are used to excellent and high standard service. We anticipate the same as we thought they will give 5star service as well. However on arrival, from the reception itself gives a bad impression. Receptions are unwelcoming and doesnt act like in a hospitality industry. No Welcome to the hotel, no greetings and looks like they think twice to smile. We have to offer them first our smile and greetings. Upon check in they were unable to locate our booking and we need to contact the owner about the booking. After the owner called to do the booking, we went up straight to the room. from the lift, oh my we think twice to go in. The lift was open in the middle and we think it was out of order. on the floor lobbly there was no AC. We were given a pool view room and we were fine. The climate outside was so hot so we decided to take shower. And to our surprise, the water was so dirty. they are providing a transparent water bucket in the shower and when you fill in the bucket the color of the water is like a urine. They are providing a room key with a huge key holder displaying Moti Mahal with 5 proud stars. But everytime we try to get in the room its not working. We have to call housekeeping to open with their master keys. We brought up the same complain many times and they end up giving us a master card. From the whole duration of stay we only asked for 1 wake up call as we really need to get up early on the 14th on April but the reception failed to give. their excuse was we didnt give the room number. This hotel should have proper training and standard. They should practice repititions and clarifications on each guest request. Like ''let me repeat maam, you need a wake up call tomorrow at 08:00hrs and your room number is 123''. wake up calls are important. what if the guest has to catch a flight and they fail to give wake up call? I mean they are proudly putting 5star logo outside the hotel but the service is not 5star. We went once in Night Flight and it took 20-30 minutes for a single ice tea to be served. My partner wants 2ice cubes only and the waiter took more than 15min and still didnt come back. It was like 10-15 customers only at that night. My partner has to call a manager and raise a voice to complain. Staff has low product knowledge. We asked each staff how many stars is the hotel. One guy from sales department said 3stars, the staff in the breakfast area said no star, the manager said 4 star. Good that the owner gave us discount in the end coz the service was not worth paying. Only few staffs are friendly. the room was good and the cleaner cleans the room very well.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbears2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2011

nic ehotel to stay. gud amenities u have and management is also gud . i stayeed for 2 days and u made it RIGHTY THANKS>>>

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vedaagama86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This hotel has been closed for refurbishment and now has quite smart rooms and bathrooms. But at $75 dollars a night it is very poor value. For that price in this location I would expect 4 or 5 star quality - Motihahal is 3 star in terms of service and amenities. The staff are friendly but clueless. Everything takes forever and you need to keep repeating yourself to get anything done. I moved eventually to the new Ocean Pearl which for the same price or cheaper gives real value for money. It's brand new, owned by a local guy and has efficient, friendly staff, good room service and excellent food. Avoid the Motimahal until they get their act together and start pricing realistically.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shylocktubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mangalore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangalore hotels
1.3 km away
The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore
0.8 km away
Goldfinch Mangalore
Goldfinch Mangalore
#4 of 38 in Mangalore
518 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Poonja International
Hotel Poonja International
#31 of 38 in Mangalore
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Hotel BMS
Hotel BMS
#3 of 38 in Mangalore
38 reviews
0.6 km away
The Verda Saffron
The Verda Saffron
#9 of 38 in Mangalore
249 reviews
1.0 km away
The Prestige Hotel
The Prestige Hotel
#5 of 38 in Mangalore
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moti Mahal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moti Mahal

Property: Hotel Moti Mahal
Address: Falnir Road, Mangalore, Mangalore 575001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Dakshina Kannada District > Mangalore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Mangalore
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,798 - ₹ 8,368
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moti Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is situated in the heart of the city. Our hotel is 1 km to Railway Station, 13 Km to airport. Centrally air conditioned. Oridinary A/c, Standard Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Suites. We have Multi cuisine Restaurant like Mangala (Continental), Taichien (Chinese and Thai), Madhuvan (Pure Veg), Mehfil (Inclusive Bar). We have Banquet Halls for Functions from 250 pax to 2500 pax. (Shalimar, Vajra & Heera, MKM Halls). Other facilities are Sheethal Swimming Pool, Health Club, Massage Center, Pool Side Bar-Be-Que Evening Restaurant. 24 Hrs Check out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelGuru, ClearTrip, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Moti Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moti Mahal Mangalore
Hotel Moti Mahal Mangalore, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing