We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed reactions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Goldfinch Mangalore
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Mangalore
Reviewed 29 July 2012

During the 2012 Mahindra Monsoon Rally, we were put up at the Goldfinch in Mangalore. Getting to the hotel is not really easy - do not rely on Google Maps : they were taking us somewhere else!
The hotel is on a rather busy road with lot of traffic and those deadly Mangalore buses!
Once we got it, the small parking meant that the hotel staff told us to park out, in the Woodland hotel's parking. They also refused to let the valet park the vehicle stating that there was too much occupancy today - what the..?
Check-in was smooth and the room pretty good for the price of the hotel. We had dinner at the hotel itself which was at the bar's balcony : food was average, nothing great - ditto for the breakfast the next day. Check out was messy - the front office staff were busy attending the phones and not concerned about the customer standing at the counter for checking out!
And yes, I had to go fetch my vehicle myself from Woodland hotel's parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BunnyPunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for Goldfinch Mangalore
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 465 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have stayed at Goldfinch a couple of times in the last 8-9 months including my stay last week
This is the only place where I had to shift away from the Taj (Gateway) and actually liked Goldfinch better
The food options are quite many and good. The local dishes here are actually the best
They provide a buffet during lunch times - which I tried once but later liked the a-la-carte much more
The room (I took their suite #606) is huge, Big living room, big toilet-bath and large sized bedroom, but now (during my second visit after 8-9 months) gave a worn out feeling. There is huge scope for maintaining it a little better in terms of general cleanliness etc
There was somthing wrong with the airconditioning, even if I set the temperature at 26-27 degrees C, it would cool till 24 and make ti a little chilly for my comfort. Also the fact that it would pick up smoke smell from somewhere indicating faulty ducting / vent
The bed was comfortable with fresh linen (very important to me for a good night's sleep)
In the evening, I went to their Top floor restaurant with my office colleagues for Dinner. They had a display of fresh fish for eating and the entire restaurant was stinking (very bad!!!). They didn't even allow us to open the windows for some fresh air behind where we were sitting as "The AC was on"
Breakfast was a decent spread with more south Indian options - Overall decent!
All in all, I think the Hotel has good unutilized potential (with polite staff etc), and with a little focus on "Raising the standards" in everything, they could compete with the best!

Room Tip: The suite doesn't offer too much besides space. My colleague who stayed (single) in the standard...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepakmalik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed here for a night as part of free night coupon by Goldfinch. The Standard room was very big when compared to other 4 star hotels with a Nice Managers Chair and Table. The Wifi Worked Well and the Breakfast was also good . Make sure that you ask for some items to be prepared like poori's and dosa's which are only done if you order it.

Overall a great stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel following recommendation from a colleague who was accompanying me on this trip. For the corportae booking rates, the facilities are no less than corresponding 4 star hotel which may charge you higher rate. The reception staff is courteous, co-operative. Rooms are large with adequate walking space and sitting arrangment. Hindi channels are available on TV. I could not figure out inter room dialing system. You need to ask for toothpaste & toothbrush. Complimentary tea, coffee is freely available and house keeping staff is very happy to provide more. A/C thermostat does not control cooling (even my collague who stayed in another room said so). Veg. buffet is at E level in kebabs and the deserts are quite nice. Salads are dry, fruits are minimal, no one cares to ask for roti and we had to take tissue napkins from adjacent table. The staff in kebabs were not as hospitable as one expects in dining hall. There is constant noise from horns of buses travelling from nearby road. There is no garden or lawns. The hotel is located near to railway station. There are few options in mangalore, but this one beats others under "value for money" category.

Room Tip: The hotel is L shaped or half U shaped and rooms are located on one side which is near the main stre...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saket G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The Hotel has good Rooms, with just above average bath rooms.
The staff is polite. The overall design of the hotel is nice.
The food is good and Sea Food is excellent
Another good thing is the 24 hr check out facility that they offer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuShankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangalore hotels
2.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore
0.9 km away
The Ocean Pearl
The Ocean Pearl
#2 of 38 in Mangalore
426 reviews
0.4 km away
The Prestige Hotel
The Prestige Hotel
#8 of 38 in Mangalore
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Deepa Comforts
Hotel Deepa Comforts
#7 of 38 in Mangalore
243 reviews
1.1 km away
The Verda Saffron
The Verda Saffron
#9 of 38 in Mangalore
250 reviews
3.0 km away
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
#5 of 38 in Mangalore
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldfinch Mangalore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldfinch Mangalore

Address: Bunts Hostel Road | Near Jyothi Circle, Mangalore 575003, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Dakshina Kannada District > Mangalore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Mangalore
Price Range: ₹ 5,011 - ₹ 7,709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goldfinch Mangalore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldfinch Mangalore is a true boutique hotel and the first of its class in Mangalore. Perched in the heart of the city, this 56 room luxury hotel meets all the standards as well as the facilities and amenities that guests can expect from a pioneering luxury boutique hotel. Walk in to savor a new world of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, Yatra, Hotels.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Goldfinch Mangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldfinch Hotel Mangalore
Goldfinch Mangalore Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing