We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee and Conservation”
Review of Woodway Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chikkamagalur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodway Homestay
Ranked #7 of 100 Chikkamagalur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
1 review
“Coffee and Conservation”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed at Woodway with my family on the advice of a friend, Girish DV (also a coffee planter) whose life has been devoted to protecting the nearby Bhadra Tiger Reserve, one of India's wildest forests. I'm an old wildlife hand and am used to pretty basic living... what I got at Woodway was hugely comfortable... luxurious. This IS a home. Its where Sreedev (the owner and an active wildlife defender) grew up. The staff is not merely polite, but efficient, helpful and always on hand 24x7. I loved the food (it's a good idea to mention upfront what you like or do not like (chillies, oil etc.)... the kitchen is versatile, though I would suggest you opt for the local (delicious!) cuisine. If you dislike city noise... enjoy solitude, like walking, birding, reading, sleeping, night-caps.... COFFEE... and nature... don't think... go! But do remember, this is (mercifully) not the Four Seasons... it's a home stay and you are a guest... so if you behave like one (and not a stuffy "customer") you will go back delighted.

Room Tip: They are all good, but I chose to stay in the front (somewhat smaller) room where I could look out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bittu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    60
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
145
63
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The place was referred by a friends friend and I took his word and booked it for 3days and I simply had a wonderful memories associated with Woodways. To put in simple review...

Location: Picturesque
Rooms: Homely
Interiors: Simple
Food: Mouth watering
Staff: Friendly & Waiting to serve you
Others activities: Sums up the whole stay (Coffee tour, Trek, Bonfire, places to visit)

we had a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sreejith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2011

A trip which happened after one year of planning! A word or two about my experience : i work from home and as a result, i have never been "at home" in my home :-). I actually got to "being at home" at woodway..! a very refreshing trip..a special mention about sridhar who was very forthcoming in making us comfortable. sitting around campfire was almost unreal. we actually saw the stars!Thankyou Shreedev & Sushmita.

Room Tip: all of them are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Our drive to Chikmagalur to Bangalore was very pleasant and put us in a pleasant state of mind. The directions given by the owner Shreedev were perfect. However we were in for a bit of rude shock when we were told by the staff that there was no lunch for us because there some communication gap! They managed to rustle up some lunch for us soon enough after showing us the place and the rooms which are neat and clean without being luxurious. The bungalow itself is an old planter's bungalow with 5 rooms. The dining area is outside and the gardens are nicely maintained.

The owner arrived later and personally apologised for the goof up in our lunch and to make it up to us he took us on a tour of the coffee estate adjoining the bungalow. We were accompanied by a couple of friendly but frisky dogs that alternatively wallowed in the mud and jumped on us to leave paw prints. Pretty harmless except for the laundry bills but if you are afraid of dogs, ask for them to be tied up.

A word about homestays - if you are used to staying in hotels with room service and house keeping, a homestay will be a different experience. The other thing is that you will find yourself upclose and personal with strangers since it almost like living in one large house. People who are of a reserved nature may feel awkward. If you are in a group it will not matter. My wife and I were alone on the trip and we were lucky to have met two other couples with similar interests there.

While the service at Woodways is efficient, dont expect it to be like a hotel...this is a homestay and it has its limitations. As if to make up for the botched up lunch, the cook rustled up some lovely hot bajjis with coffee in the evening and put together a sumptuous dinner which was very homely rather than greasy. The food was local Malnad food with one non veg item and 4 to 5 veg items with a dessert. We enjoyed the meal with our new found friends.

There is not much to do in the homestay except read and take walks. There are very picturesque routes you can take on a trek in the surrounding areas and enjoy views of the hills around. Be sure to ask the owner or the caretaker. Oh..and remember to carry an umbrella when you step out, it rains a lot here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guru_magellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I had the pleasure of spendiing a couple of days at the Woodways homestay in November 2011. The location is great..perched on a hilltop offering an amazing view of the mountains and greenery all around. The staff just topped up the location advantage they have with their courteous pleasant and honest service.

The cook Ganesh and team cooked some delicious and homely veg and non-veg food and always managed to surprise us. Suffice to say that I had the best two days in my recent memory at Woodways. I plan to visit again!!

Pros:
Great Location
Great food
Courteous staff

Cons:
None really!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RanjitRamakrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
15.5 km away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#3 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
793 reviews
5.8 km away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#2 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
83 reviews
10.9 km away
Aadrika
Aadrika
#6 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
The Serai
The Serai
#4 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
432 reviews
18.5 km away
Gonakal Homestay
Gonakal Homestay
#4 of 100 in Chikkamagalur
349 reviews
13.1 km away
Guddadamane Homestay
Guddadamane Homestay
#29 of 100 in Chikkamagalur
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodway Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodway Homestay

Property: Woodway Homestay
Address: Woodway Estate, Chikkamagalur 577130, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Chikkamagalur
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,883 - ₹ 10,012
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get to Woodway to really experience coffee and Malenadu life the way it is...in its purest form!! A great getaway in the midst of the awesome Western ghats, for all who want to unwind and spend time with family and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodway Homestay Hotel Chikamagalur
Woodway Homestay Karnataka/Chikkamagalur, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing