We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO UNWIND”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chikkamagalur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silent Valley Resort
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Chikkamagalur
Manngalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO UNWIND”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I had been to Silent Valley three years ago as it was recommended to me for its great location and nice places to see around. I went back this time and was pleasantly surprised to find that they have renovated the front office and restaurant with beautiful tiles by retaining the charm of open restaurant with great views of mountains. The cottages are clean and so is the linen. The service team is excellent and was responding to our requirements immediately.

While we thought of some uplifts in the amenities, the good news heard was that the resort is being renovated and should be all done by September 2011. Added to this we saw pretty good accommodations are being constructed and are in final stage of construction. I was caught hold by one of the beautifully built Villa which is under final touch up and decided to go back and stay in that once in near future. Being in such a remote place if they are putting so much of efforts means, I hope that Silent Valley is going to be a great place to chill out for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rocky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    45
    26
    13
    37
See reviews for
90
21
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I am glad to write this as more people can visit a wonderful place in kalasa called silent valley resort.

We went from corporate travel booking from our office. The booking procedure was really pleasant and customized to our requirements. We were a group of 60 colleagues and had pre booked the resort. They had arranged everything very beautifully for our arrival. We were given the exact directions to the resort and had no trouble finding it. We enjoyed amazing breath taking scenery from Bangalore to kalasa. The misty weather enhanced the beauty of the resort which is beautifully designed.
On arrival at 8AM we were greeted to a sumptuous yummy breakfast buffet with ample choice. Each of us was stunned with the beauty of the resort and the courtesy of the resort staff on our arrival and during our stay. We freshened up in the cottages with large bathrooms and hot water facility. And went sightseeing to temples and the numerous waterfalls nearby. Returned to an amazing array of buffet lunch. Spent the afternoon at the swimming pool which was spotlessly clean. After tea we had a fun time organized by the resort at the campfire with music.
Similar setup followed for the next day till we left that evening. The cottages were large and clean and easily accommodate 4 people. I am happy to recommend this resort to group travels and families and look forward to our visit again in December. They plan to enlarge the space adding more cottages and facilities, looking forward to visit to see the additions made.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HappyTraveller21_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

After reading all this, If you decide to STILL go ahead and Book this place, DO NOT MAKE FULL PAYMENT.
Make a Partial 30% payment, and tell them you will pay the rest when you leave. Skip this place, cancel the trip, get beaten up, whatever the case, Do No Make Full Payment.
Come back and post your review here if you really feel like paying the rest of the money after your stay.

We visited this place on 13th weekend of August 2011:
People who write reviews are the ones who have been traumatized to an extent that, they would relive it all again and write a review so that others don’t go through the same Hell. Please read thru all the review you can find anywhere and we have faced all those issues and more!!

Reviews from so many years, all of them say the same thing. “Stay Away from this Resort !!”

Our first thought… Reviews from 2004, 2007, 2009, 2010… too old, and they would’ve improved by now. June 2011 review, we thought it might be a One off experience, and for 4250/- per room, how bad can it be ?! Let us adjust a little and decided to go.

We learnt the Lesson the hard way. This place was beyond any human “swalpa adjust maaDi” tolerance levels!!

My Review : (August 2011)

Positives:
1. Food was decent. Nothing fancy but tolerable.
Looking at it from the price he is charging, it is definitely not worth it.
2. Kudremukh is close by and a good place to visit during the day. You can do all this provided you get Water (Hot or Cold) to take bath and get ready in the morning.
3. Lovely Drive from Bangalore. The route is scenic and the drive very enjoyable.

Negatives:
1. EXTREMELY Child Un-Friendly: If you have a kid, don’t even think of this place.
Reasons:
a. The area all over the resort around your cottages is Slushy with water stagnant all over the place, and very slippery even for you to walk. Kids… Will suffer the most as they will not be able to run around even with all that place!
b. Railings near the Lunch area are missing making huge gaping holes that are prone to accidents with kids. The railings are Rusted and has sharp jagged edges at many places.
c. Swimming pool surroundings are extremely slippery even for a cautious adult.
d. Very dirty Toilets.
e. Packs of Stray dogs (5 of them together) walk all over the place all the time. Very very scary as they charged at us once at night outside our cottage.
f. Very Badly lit after dark. Makes it very dangerous to even go to the Dinner area and back to cottage with all the stray dogs around.

2. Too many Guests (For corporates), too less people to serve. For a capacity of 70 people, he has ONE person running around attending. If you are reading this to arrange for a “Team Outing”, think about all the chaos that will ensue when everybody in the team starts complaining. One group spent One hour waiting for their turn to shout at the manager because another group was busy shouting at him. How will you explain Wet, dirty beds, dirty toilets to your team later?

3. Another group who had come with us had taken “Dormitory Accommodation”, and were appalled to see that it was a store room for all the resort stuff and their beds were among the dirt and filth. It had Only One bathroom without a Lock, so they were forced to Sing a song while they took a Dump. Even that one bathroom had the commodes overflowing and no lights after dark.

4. Swimming Pool: The area around the pool is sooo slippery. You will have your heart in your mouth whenever your Kid walks around it. Even you will be scared to walk around it. Dirty Pool with frogs in it. They can’t help with the frogs with the terrain, but what about the dirt and filth inside and around it ? Not to mention the amount of Chlorine/Bleaching powder in it. The skin gets sticky after 15 mins in the pool.

5. The Cottage:
A Slum will have better hygiene and facilities. ALL Cottages have molds and fungus growing on the walls that have water seeping in. This has been the standard complaint from all reviews written from 2009 till date. So, it is not going to change any further.
The beds are always wet and stinks. We had to sleep in our jackets with Hoods around our heads to avoid skin infections.
Bathrooms are the worst. Absolutely no maintenance. Another group that were there that time complained about the commodes overflowing and broken doors.
There was No Hot water in the mornings. Geyser not working because of No current, generator cannot light up all the geysers. Hot water was sent to our rooms in buckets, and they were luke warm. Each bucket took 15 mins. So, by the time the kids were ready, it was too late to go out anywhere. Our Morning plans screwed. We had to stay at the resort, at the lunch area as the rooms were unbearable.

2 camera Chargers, 3 phone chargers (worth some 5k in total) were burnt because of faulty electrical fittings. And, Who is Responsible ?! Nobody.

THE BIGGEST PROBLEM OF IT ALL and the One that Cannot be resolved:
There is NOBODY responsible for all this. When you report the troubles to the manager, all he does is stand stiff and nod along. After a lot of talking, he says, “I hear the same things every day from every customer. I cannot do anything about it. There is nothing in my hands.”
The MD/Owner of the resort who took our money will not speak to us on the phone. May be because he cannot answer the simple question, “If there are NO facilites, why are you charging so much ?!”

The Marketing person (Ms. Yoga in our case) says After we have made the payment, “This is all we can provide. Do whatever you want.”
I am not sure if these two “employees” will stay for long as they will not be able to sleep a peaceful night’s sleep after listening to all the complaints every other day.

All the issues reported have been persisted over the past 7 years. So, that says volumes about what is going to happen later, and what you can expect.

I think the Idea of the Resort Management is: (My thought after my experience dealing with people here)
Don’t spend anything on the Resort maintenance. They will get back their investment with profits even if people live thru such hell and never comeback. There will always be new gullible people who will believe the colorful website (http://www.greenplanetresorts.com) they have and their marketing executives.

And, If you happen to be that group for that Week, You lose your money, weekend and Peace of mind. Nobody else cares.

After reading all this, If you decide to STILL go ahead and Book this place, DO NOT MAKE FULL PAYMENT.
Make a Partial 30% payment, and tell them you will pay the rest when you leave.
Skip this place, cancel the trip, get beaten up, whatever the case, Do No Make Full Payment.
Come back and post your review here if you really feel like paying the rest of the money after your stay.
This way, they cannot cheat you off your money without giving you the right service.
I would not budge beyond 30% for Advance payment!!!

The room tariff was like Rs. 3500/- for Old cottages, Rs. 4300/- for New Rooms. And the NEW Rooms are much more horrible than the new ones.
I would say they are worth about Rs. 500/-. Nothing more than that.

Look at the Pics and decide for yourself !!

Room Tip: "New Rooms" are more pathetic than the old cottages. Old cottages have better view. Ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank sunil_k_kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenplanetresorts, Manager at Silent Valley Resort, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
This guest has given a feed back which is far from truth. There is long story behind this which cannot be explained here. All the pictures published are of construction area. During construction period what else you could expect to see except mud mud and mud.......? This is no way a reason to demand for refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chikkamagalur hotels

Bangalore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Myself and my wife spent 3 night and 4 days at Silent Valley resort. Overall it's been a very peaceful stay at this place. Food and hospitality was excellent. Rooms were decently maintained for the kind of rainy places it is. We did not face any major issues with the room except for some occassional power cuts and water shortage, which was again well attended to by the members there. We wanted to stay close to nature and spend a quiet time away from the madding crowd. So, I will not go about complaining about insects and bugs. It's part and parcel of any resort that's in a location away from concrete jungle. Unfortunately it was raining cats & dogs during the time we'd visited, but management team was good enough to give suggestions about places and the time to visit. We even managed to drive all the way to Kudermukh view point. It was "The Drive Of My Life". It was worth the risk of driving even when it was raining.

Overall I think it's value for money.

Some suggestions :

1.) Swimming pool could be maintained better. Water wasn't clean and so we missed out on this fun.

2.) Dining area could be arranged and managed better. Also needs more lighting.

Room Tip: I have seen many tree houses maintained very poorly but this one was clean. On that assumption,I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jayaram P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
udupi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This destination is ideal for team outing. I had been to this place with a team of 23 and we enjoyed a lot with camp fire and music till late night. This was my second visit to Silent Valley. We had a wonderful stay. Rooms are renovated & far better than that during our previous stay before last year. Tariff is also reasonable as they worked out it for just Rs.1,450/- per head with all meals and taxes as a corporate offer under sharing basis. To be honest as per my enquiry with other home stays in that location this is the best deal what they offered. Over all we had a wonderful time. I found it very difficult to get booking during weekends. Hence plan well in advance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank dashabekal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
53.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#2 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
768 reviews
0.0 km away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#4 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
67 reviews
47.7 km away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#6 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.5 km away
Java Rain
Java Rain
#1 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
50 reviews
48.0 km away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#8 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
91 reviews
47.7 km away
Aadrika
Aadrika
#5 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silent Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silent Valley Resort

Property: Silent Valley Resort
Address: Thodlu, Kalasa-Kudremukh Road | Kudremukh Road, Chikkamagalur 577124, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Chikkamagalur
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,264 - ₹ 6,395
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful strip of land lying at the foothills of Kuduremukh Reserve Forests, 2400 feet above the sea level with vast stretches of green pastures, paddy fields, areca trees, waterfalls, lush green forests, huge mist clad mountains, hillocks with rivers and rivulets, makes the Silent Valley Resort fascinating and enchanting. Silent Valley Resorts is a well maintained resort with 26 cottages taking you back to a village type of an atmosphere where simplicity and harmony reigned supreme. We have a Restauarant,Conference Hall,Swimming Pool, Spacious parking area and Indoor/Outdoor games which provides an ideal environment for Family/ Corporate outings, meetings, seminars, trainings, yoga, meditation and social events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silent Valley Chikamagalur
Silent Valley Resort Karnataka/Chikkamagalur, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing