We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Homely food, British bungalow, but very high on cost”
Review of Plantation Trails

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chikkamagalur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plantation Trails
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Note: Though great location, neat and clean, Cost is 5 star, but few basic things I feel needs improvement, hence 3 star.

Very good location near Baba budana giri hills with great view and deep inside the coffee plantation.The bungalow is built during British period and opposite to the bungalow is the Coffee drying and processing place with a huge cemented ground for drying coffee beans.

Great place to relax and spend time watching birds and flowers in the garden. The library room has very old books which British people used to read. The food is great, very homely food.

They have the generator as a power backup option and they switch on when there is no power.(frequent power cuts were there). The geyser takes a while for heating and hence you need to wait a while to take bath. Hot water is not available at all times, you end up waiting.

There is a badminton court (cemented) opposite to the bungalow, but if it is windy then you may not be able to play. They have a fire place on the side of the bungalow near the fig tree.

The heritage room is slightly bigger than other rooms. Beds and Toilets were clean.
Cost wise, this accommodation is very high on cost, Breakfast is complimentary. There is no kettle and tea/coffee sachets provided in rooms. Towels are replaced on request.

Staff are very friendly and courteous. There is a common hall where there is a TV, sofa and chairs for relaxing and reading books. This common hall has the attached library room and a common toilet inside library room.

We could go for a trekking inside the coffee plantation which was like 7Kms up and down. This was really great and cool. We enjoyed the trekking. Kumar and Perumal from the bungalow accompanied us in this trekking.

Mobile signals are weak and no wifi. None of the rooms have good privacy as they all are opening to a common hall or dining hall or something.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kthanigai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2016

This is an excellent property for an outing with family/ friends. We all (almost senior citizens) enjoyed our three nights stay at this property and were fully rejuvenated. We had an option of staying at a 5 star property in the area with private pool. After visiting this 5 star property, we all realized that the natural surroundings of this Arbidacool Bungalow far outweighed the advantages of the 5 star hotel property.

Location:

It is around 275 kms from Bengaluru airport and about 15 kms from Chikmagalur town. It is situated on a small hill. To locate the property on google map one has to type AREBIDACOOR ESTAE, KARNATAKA. The property is located around 4 kms from the main road and last 3 kms is up the hill.

The Property:

The charms/ advantages of this property are:

(a) Colonial Bungalow with 4 large size rooms with equally large en suite bathrooms, and

(b) The garden and various other facilities surrounding the bungalow.
The Bungalow:

As mentioned on the website, this colonial bungalow was built in 1914. The same has been refurbished with modern facilities and amenities.

It consist of:

 4 rooms with en suite bathrooms,

 Living room with fire place with 1 sofa, 2 sofa chairs and more chairs to accommodate more guests,

 Dining room with a dining table to seat 8 persons,

 Next to the living room is a library and carom board room,

 Kitchen,

 Laundry area, and

 Open Verandah (entrance lobby) with cane furniture to seat 8 persons.

The Garden:

In front of the bungalow is a huge garden with a bench and a garden tea table with 4 seats and a good flower bed.

Adjacent to the garden is a ground/ court to play volley ball.

This entire area is surrounded by coffee plantation & processing area and forest.

As the property is located on a hill, there is a good view of the surrounding hills, forests, sunrise from the property.

The Rooms:

All the four rooms are large in size and the two Heritage rooms (one adjacent to the living area & second room adjacent to the dining area) are almost 400 plus square feet in size. All the en suite bathrooms are also large in size with shower area as well as bath-tub.

Out of 4 rooms, 3 rooms have a double bed and a single bed. Thus, these three rooms can accommodate 3 persons. The décor in the rooms matches well with its colonial style.

Each room is equipped with LED TV. There is no DVD player available.

Food:

The bungalow has large kitchen with 2 refrigerators and other gadgets (except microwave/oven).

For any hospitality property, the chef is one of the most important person. During our stay, the chef Madhu did an excellent job of preparing different varieties of dishes during breakfast and all meals. As we were vegetarian, he served good varieties of south Indian dishes and all in our group sincerely compliment him for the delicious food served.

Each afternoon, he served different types of snacks with the afternoon tea/ coffee.
The property does not serve alcohol, but guests can carry their own. Madhu served different varieties of starters with our drinks, besides what we had carried.

Maintenance:

Mr. Kumar was in charge of the property and he all through ensured that:

(a) The rooms, the bathrooms and the entire property is kept neat and clean,

(b) Food is properly served on dining table and during drink sessions.

He also arranged a bon-fire even though it was monsoon season.

He was well assisted by Natesh and one maid.

Activities – within the property:

There is a big tree right in front of the bungalow and every morning (between 6 to 7.30 a.m.) hundreds of birds flock on this tree and their chirping creates an excellent musical orchestra. Guests can enjoy the same sitting in the open verandah (lobby). Besides, all through the day, birds, mainly different varieties of sparrows, fly around in the garden.

Besides, the best out-door activity is taking walks through the Estate, the coffee plantations and various other plantation trails.

This atmosphere makes the visit mesmerizing.

Activities outside the property are well stated on the property’s website and elsewhere.

Games:

Though badminton rackets are available, due to wind we could not play this game.
Fortunately, we had carried Frisbee and it was fun playing with the same.

Suggestions:


We feel that the following can add more charm and advantage to this otherwise fabulous property:
1. Microwave / conventional oven in the kitchen,
2. Bicycles for guests for out-door activity,
3. One 2 or 3 seater swing (jhoola) for adults in the garden,
4. DVD player with DVDs on natural, wildlife, birds, temples of the region,
5. Coffee table books on similar subjects,
6. A small kids play area so that the kids can play and enjoy in their own manner,
7. A kettle for warm water in each room.

Room tips:

The best room is the room adjoining the living room and the next best room is room adjoining the dining room. There is third room where the door open onto verandah (lobby), but this room has a disadvantage that the window also opens onto verandah and therefore, there is no privacy if the window is kept open. The fourth room is big in size but the en suite bathroom is smaller in size compared with other bathrooms. It would be better if the lay-out of the rooms is displayed on the website for guests to make a selection.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Fantastic stay at the royal suite, pick if this one's available as this one's the biggest among the other four rooms. Its a Tata Coffee company maintained property where you can enjoy a walk in the coffee estate and endure the greens everywhere. Road to this estate is adventurous (narrow), but driveable . And ones you reach you love to spend time within the boundary than venturing out back on the highway.

Room Tip: A place to connect yourself with your dear ones sans the connected world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arvindab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

I traveled with my wife last month to the Arabidacool Bungalow at Chikamagalur. We had booked the Heritage room. The drive to the resort once you get off the main road is an experience in itself. The 3km dirt road winds through thick coffee planations and is more suited to an off roader or a car who's suspension you dont mind ruining. However the nature around you makes up for that misery.
There are 4 rooms at the bungalow. One has access through the living room, one through the verandah, one through the dining room and one almost through the kitchen. Needless to say that there is no privacy in any of the rooms. You can be sitting in your room and have a bunch of complete strangers take dinner right outside your door. This would not be an issue if you had all families and like minded people around. But in the event you went with your spouse or parents and had a bunch of guys in the other rooms, this would quickly become very uncomfortable. Or if you got the verandah room and the other guests decided to chit chat until late night in the verandah while you want to get some sleep. Its almost like living in a 3 BHK apartment with the three bedrooms occupied by unknown guests. Also, when you book a room you dont know who you are going to be sharing the bungalow with, so its like picking a lottery ticket. Not my cup of tea. Some might like it, but I prefer my privacy.
Also, the innermost room which is almost next to the kitchen is best left alone and not recommended at all. It has no view and is basically one step away from the kitchen sink and laundry area with the worst privacy possible,
The rooms are typical colonial rooms with sparse furniture and huge windows. Our room never got hot water and we had to ask for hot water in a bucket to have a bath. Not cool especially when its raining and cold outside.
The staff at the bungalow is friendly and pleasant to deal with. The food options are limited to their menu. However when i ordered a dish, I was told that they didnt have the ingredients and I needed to pick and a different one. This reduces the choice of food drastically and its not like its cheap. We paid 1200 bucks for one dinner and one snacks + tea in the evening for two people. I had to leave early morning and asked them to serve breakfast a little earlier at 7am and they refused saying that breakfast starts at 8am. They offered to pack sandwiches to which I agreed. Next morning when it was time to leave at 7:30am the cook was still asleep and sandwiches were all but a dream. The care taker obliged and made a cup of tea for us. The cook is brilliant but he needs to be a little more accommodating in terms of timings.
To put it simply, the bungalow and the setting are beautiful. However, the choice of food, privacy and service tend to be show spoilers especially if you are expecting value for the money you spend.

Room Tip: The Heritage room is the one you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yd_gli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Visited for a weekend break. Loved the experience which was unparalleled. Beautiful Heritage British bungalow part of a very large Tata coffee estate away from pollution, noise and crowds. Very limited mobile connectivity in the area which was a relief. The chef was very friendly played carrom and badminton with us. The food was as per our specific requirements each day...very tasty and freshly prepared from locally sourced ingredients. The butler was so prompt in meeting all our requirements. This is the place to go for relaxing amidst nature and the only sounds you hear are of the birds chirping. When we left we had a feeling of sadness on leaving this beautiful place and also bonding developed with the friendly staff. Not a typical hotel or resort stay. Something very very unique and any nature loving traveller should experience it sometime. Changes your perspective on holidays.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MumbaiKss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
0.0 km away
Java Rain
Java Rain
#1 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
104 reviews
0.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#3 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
828 reviews
0.0 km away
Trivik Hotels & Resorts, Chikmagalur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
#9 of 153 in Chikkamagalur
206 reviews
0.0 km away
The Serai
The Serai
#4 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
449 reviews
0.0 km away
Nirvana Kutira
Nirvana Kutira
#4 of 153 in Chikkamagalur
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Trails? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Trails

Address: Arabida Cool, Bungalow, Mylemoney Estate, Chikmagalur Post, Chikkamagalur, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Chikkamagalur
Price Range: ₹ 6,382 - ₹ 11,006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Plantation Trails Karnataka/Chikkamagalur, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing