We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
54
8
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
54
8
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nook and corner away from the hustle and bustle home cooked food taste buds friendly dogs approach road great hospitality courteous staff coffee plantation beautiful place wonderful experience fireplace perumal nature estate blend mr
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2020

Excellent place for long weekend holiday, away from the maddening croud of Bengalore. Our two day stay with
our children was really memorable. Enjoyed every moment over there. Pet dogs are too caring and guiding our all walks and treks through the estate. Hospitality and the homecooked meals were exceptional! Highly recommend to anyone looking to unwind and relax!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VishwanathRai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2020 via mobile

200 acres of lush flora and fauna takes your breath away !! Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, an ode to the local heritage and nature.Ms Kritika took us for the famed plantation walk and bird watching activities, everything was spot on!!
The food variety suits all tastebuds.
A memorable break for us and wanting to come again !!
Na

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank amitm614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2020

To start with, thanks to all the previous reviews based on which we have chosen this wonderful place.What a location.!!! its more than awesome such a pleasant locality where we will feel very safe in the hands of mother nature.What can i say about the amenities they are trying to preserve our culture and traditions to the core in each and every aspect which is very cool and we are very much impressed with them and everything and anything is natural ..including their care and hospitality.Most important thing to talk about is food....OMG i have never tasted such tasty and classic food which they have prepared in an authentic way..its amazing...though i have never tasted authentic maland food...we all just loved it and the other best thing is they have made everyone to engage with nature in every single manner...no TV no free wifi, no all these s**t , we can aram se enjoy and get relaxed ...even kids had more fun...and Bungalow was surrounded by peacocks we had grand welcome by such beatutiful birds even that was not arranged by anyone its coincidence which has added more fun to our trip....Everyone there are very courtesy to help us especially the coordinator Mr.Perumal, cooks Shiva and i forgot other person name...and the helper ThimRaj he is extraordinary.Now comes the hero of the Bungalow Captain sir,MR.G.R.GOPINATH what a gem of person we are so glad that we have got an wonderful opportunity to meet such legendary people , so down to earth and he make sure that we had more comfortable and the best stay ever. Grateful to you SIR.Last but not the least "Dogs"...come one they are so friendly and very well trained to respect the guests...its so adorable.I would like thank each and every person who made this trip Superb

Room tip: Every room there are awesome
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thulasi_Bhaskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2019 via mobile

This was our first long road trip with my little munchkin. He is an year old and we booked this place after lot of deliberation. Was worried about the cold weather, his home cooked food, insects and mosquitoes and a list of things to say the least. We stayed for two nights and we ended up having the most enjoyable time with our baby. Parimal and his small team took the utmost care and went out of the way to make us comfortable.
The place is beautiful, one of the best I experienced in Coorg, Chikmagalur area. The bungalow belongs to Captain Gopinath (Air Deccan ) and each nook and corner of the bungalow is tastefully curated giving you a feel of luxury and Intake class.
Quickly summarising the pros:
1) Cottages and rooms are huge and beautifully done like any 5 start resorts, infact better than the serai and county. Cottage rooms are like glass house with huge balcony. A small corner carved out for reading and also a fire place to keep it warm during chilled evenings
2) Bathrooms are huge with options of open view tub
3) Food is delicious Malnad food. Fresh and simple . Don’t expect pizzas and burgers, it’s like your home cooked food. Pork curry and mutton curry are to die for. They keep showering you with freshly brewed hot coffee as many times you want
4) Amazing customer service. I never saw them saying no to anything. Cottage is slightly uphill and I was feeling bad to ask for multiple things for baby but they obliged every time with a smile.
5) Very serene and green surrounding, limited rooms. Overall you can feel it’s your home and do as you like.
Things to note:
1)Food is like home made simple. Primarily South Indian flavours, but they will adjust spices etc. if you want to customize
2) the approach road to the bungalow is not too good. Need to be careful in last 2 kms
3) It’s 1 hour drive from Chikmagalur, not ea
4)cottages are slightly uphill, say 40 steps so don’t book if you have any knee pain or walking problem

Overall a great experience and worth every penny!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Shomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2019

My wife and I had the privilege of staying at Captain’s Bungalow early Aug., 2019 for aweekend. It was a wonderful experience. It was the monsoon season and the rains brought a particular mystical charm to the whole environment including the cottage. The low hanging water bearing clouds were magical. I will come back to this place to enjoy the other seasons as well.

Captain’s cottage is truly unforgettable as it blends well with the nature. It is difficult to capture in words the beauty of the cottage, the warmth of the people who take care of the Cottage, the lovely breakfasts/dinners, the joy of playing with the friendly dogs or indeed the great hospitality of Captain and his wife. These experiences will stay with you forever. These moments were captured in our photos (see attached). We visited the estate, the school started by Capt. for the children of the coffee plantation employees and took some long walks.

This is neither a normal hotel nor a place for business. It is a place where you can spend a great time with your family or quietly reflecting/ planning on your next venture i.e. writing a book or starting your next company.

Would recommend this place to anyone who wants to enjoy being with the nature and spend some quality time with themselves and their family.

Dwaraka & Suji.

Room tip: 1. Be quiet and do some reflecting then the cottage rooms on top. 2. Be close to the nature, then choose the tent
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SujiDwaraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews