We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
54
8
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
54
8
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nook and corner away from the hustle and bustle home cooked food taste buds friendly dogs approach road great hospitality courteous staff coffee plantation beautiful place wonderful experience fireplace perumal nature estate blend mr
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2019

My wife and I had the privilege of staying at Captain’s Bungalow early Aug., 2019 for aweekend. It was a wonderful experience. It was the monsoon season and the rains brought a particular mystical charm to the whole environment including the cottage. The low hanging water bearing clouds were magical. I will come back to this place to enjoy the other seasons as well.

Captain’s cottage is truly unforgettable as it blends well with the nature. It is difficult to capture in words the beauty of the cottage, the warmth of the people who take care of the Cottage, the lovely breakfasts/dinners, the joy of playing with the friendly dogs or indeed the great hospitality of Captain and his wife. These experiences will stay with you forever. These moments were captured in our photos (see attached). We visited the estate, the school started by Capt. for the children of the coffee plantation employees and took some long walks.

This is neither a normal hotel nor a place for business. It is a place where you can spend a great time with your family or quietly reflecting/ planning on your next venture i.e. writing a book or starting your next company.

Would recommend this place to anyone who wants to enjoy being with the nature and spend some quality time with themselves and their family.

Dwaraka & Suji.

Room tip: 1. Be quiet and do some reflecting then the cottage rooms on top. 2. Be close to the nature, then choose the tent
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SujiDwaraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2019 via mobile

Best home stay experience amidst nature at its best,.
Total tranquility,.....real escape from urban mayhem,
Beautiful cottages, with panoramic views.
Really enjoyed food, .. please ask for local
Culinary specialities,
Very courteous staff, .. always ready to serve you with smile,.
Enjoyed every bit of our stay.
Many thanks , captain , bhargavi, kritika.
Natesh....

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Vijendra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2019 via mobile

We went to captains Bunglow with no expectations, read about it on the net some good comments and some not so good comments. It is a beautiful property and the staff there is wonderful!!! We had most amazing South Indian food and we were treated like a family. Would love to go back, whenever I need to chill. Met and made some great friends!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nandinimani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2018

As the title goes, it indeed is a mesmerizing home stay amidst lush green coffee plantation. We visited the place in the monsoon & I was spellbound. A relaxing place if you need a break from the city chaos & want to find a stay more closer to nature. Spacious rooms, beautifully maintained interiors, yummy food & courteous staff - what more can you ask for !!! And not to forget, the dogs are extremely friendly & obedient. My 3 yr old son loved playing with them.
To put it together, it was a top notch experience - words & pics merely do the justice. Thank you Capt. Gopinath & Bhargavi for creating such an amazing place !!!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ushashreenidhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Beautiful location in and around Chikmagalur; one of the best places I’ve been to! Pictures don’t do justice. Luxurious rooms and bathrooms, amazing food and quality service. All in all, a top notch experience!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ShifaJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrithikaG8, Manager at Captains Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Thank you Shifa for your kind words & I hope you come back soon to stay with us! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews