We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming staff but hotel needs a major update.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Chikkamagalur
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Charming welcome and the staff were very helpful. However, the hotel is very tired and feels trapped in the seventies. There was a tray of dirty dishes outside a room which sat there for two days until we mentioned it.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scottraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

735 - 739 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

This small property is convenient for families to stay to explore the scenic beauty around chikmagalur. The well groomed staff are doing wonderful job ensuring your stay is very comfortable. Chef Siva, Manager John, Housekeeping Murugesan are doing wonderful job. Girish the local sightseeing coordinator is always available to arrange for all trips and advice.

We had visited the same property 6 years. The interiors needs renovation.

Still my rating would be 5*.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are great. You may get to see Muliyangri peak right from your bed ( in some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gopalan348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The Taj Gateway hotel on the outskirts of chikmagalur is a very nice place to stay. the food was great and very helpfull staff. my request for candle light dinner with my wife in the garden was executed perfectly. i used the Hotel car for transportation which was a bit expensive.so its good to go on your own as you can visit some nearby places like the mullayanagiri betta , kemmanagundi etc.

if you are a TATA employee you will get some % discount on your bill. i did a mistake by first paying the bill and later when i realised and showed my Tata ID card , the manager was very understanding and he void my bill and i payed only for the dicounted bill

great place to stay! would recommed for for all, couple, family, old aged ppl ..

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nagi029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed at the Gateway Hotel for 3D/3N in the beginning of June. The hotel is located at a very nice place.Its outside the main city of Chikmagalur and hence it has very peaceful surroundings.
The rooms that we were given were very neat and spacious with a large sit out where from one could enjoy the scenery. We had visited with our parents and we were given rooms which were inter-connected (through a door) .It made our stay all the more comfortable.

The service provided at the hotel was very good. The food at the restaurant was nice as well. There is provision of indoor games for children like carrom board, table tennis etc..
We took the coffee estate tour arranged by the Hotel in which we went to coffee plantations, also the place where coffee is processed.The tour was well arranged and informative.

The hotel provides an atmosphere where one can relax and enjoy and feel as if one is in the comfort of one's home.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We visited in end of May with 3 families and everything was perfect. The service was very good; people were friendly and the rooms were neat and clean. It was a perfect weekend gateway from Bangalore. Food spread was good and not great. Bit of improvement in food taste and service at the resturant is required. However overall stay was nice. The Hotel Manager was extremely cooperative. Must stay if you are visiting Chikmagalur.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the mountain. Ensure that trees are cut so that u get a clear view of mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arindam2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
15.1 km away
Trivik Hotels & Resorts, Chikmagalur
10.3 km away
Java Rain
Java Rain
#1 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
102 reviews
5.5 km away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#5 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Aadrika
Aadrika
#6 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
19 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#10 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
92 reviews
11.3 km away
The Serai
The Serai
#4 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur

Address: Jyoti Nagar Post, Chikkamagalur 577102, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chikkamagalur
Price Range: ₹ 6,894 - ₹ 14,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and TravelGuru so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Chikamagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur Karnataka/Chikkamagalur, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing