We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Apoorv A

Don't think twice!

Review of Kerehaklu
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2022via mobile
We had attended a brilliant workshop conducted by Pranoy and his father, Ajoy. Suffice to say, it exceeded our expectations. We spent 3 days learning about their plantation, the lives of the locals and just everyday things. Our rooms were clean and cozy, and we had the heartiest home cooked food.

It was a work trip turned serendipitous vacation. Would definitely be coming back soon!
Date of stay: February 2022
Room Tip: Days tend to get a little hot in the summer. Plan your trip accordingly. Also carry enough...
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this review
Responded 15 Mar 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Kerehaklu! We are also glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to seeing you again. With best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
₹27,730
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
15.8 km from Kerehaklu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
₹2,328
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
21.2 km from Kerehaklu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹5,114
  • Priceline
21.0 km from Kerehaklu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹3,488
  • eDreams
20.9 km from Kerehaklu
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹3,526
  • Priceline
20.8 km from Kerehaklu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₹6,474
  • Vio.com
  • MakeMyTrip
21.0 km from Kerehaklu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹9,143
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
23.3 km from Kerehaklu
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    ₹2,228
  • Booking.com
21.5 km from Kerehaklu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹6,520
  • Priceline
21.3 km from Kerehaklu
View more hotels in Chikmagalur
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
142
14
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
142
14
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bison jeep ride walking trails the cottages flora and fauna coffee plantation father and son interesting stories coffee enthusiast coffee production his knowledge detailed directions warm hospitality growing coffee drove down bird calls peace and quiet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2022 via mobile

Very insightful workshop and awesome stay at the Kerehaklu estate! Highly recommended!
The workshop spanned three days covering coffee plantation tours, coffee picking, processing, roasting and finally cupping

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank fatlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Kerehaklu! We are also glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. With best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2022 via mobile

Eight of us (all involved in the coffee industry) attended a 3 day coffee workshop at Kerehaklu hosted by Mr.Ajoy and Pranoy Thipaiah, owners of Kerehaklu Estate. We occupied all 4 cabins at their homestay for 3 days and 2 nights.

Apart from the workshop itself, we found the cabin to be beautifully rustic, spacious enough, very tidy and comfortable. You can see that the wood used to make the cabin originates from within the estate. Mr. Thipaiah has also used Coffee wood stumps very creatively. The cabins are tucked into the Estate but bordering the forest boundary, opening up the best of both worlds.

Coming to the food, the dining area is located very close by to the cabins and we were well looked after by Raju and Bhagya (Hope I haven't mixed up the names) cooking up some great South Indian delectables throughout the three day. They mixed things up really well so no meal tasted like the previous one.

The super knowledgeable combination of Father and Son both focused on Estate operations will definitely offer a detailed insight into Coffee production and moreover, the life of coffee producers living remotely in the hills of Chikmagalur which is an eye opener particularly for City folks.

I'm sure you'll enjoy Kerehaklu as much as I did!

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mayukrebello
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Kerehaklu! We are also glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was our pleasure hosting you. With best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2022 via mobile

Waking up in this farm that’s surrounded by so many trees was just blissful. The food and the staff are the loveliest people. But my highlight of the trip was the farm tour where I hugged a massive 400 yr old tree.
Thanks for being so kind and having built this wonderful place Ajoy. And your dog kiwi is the cutest thing ever!

The place is comfortably reachable by road. 4 of us drove down to it and stayed for 2 days where all our meals were sorted. So all we had to do was sit and have a peaceful time and not worry about any amenities. Everytime we went into the dining area, we’d be excited to see what was served. It was a surprise everytime and the taste always reminded me of home. I’m really greatful for this place and the people who run it.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank holymotherbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Kerehaklu. We are extremely grateful to you for the kind sentiments that you have expressed therein and are also glad to note that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay here. With our best wishes to all of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2022

Spent the New Years here and it was absolutely wonderful. The cottages are comfortable and the food was 'home cooked' good. The best part of Kerehaklu is the beautiful surroundings - there are ample walks and pretty spots to discover. The sounds of nature - the rustling wind, the myriad bird calls - and the smells of nature provide a perfect haven for reflection and connection. Ajoy and Pranoy are excellent hosts and I would highly recommend Ajoy's jeep ride through the estate :)

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madhvi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2022

We are indeed extremely grateful for the kind sentiments that you have expressed in your review and are glad to note that you had a comfortable stay here at Kerehaklu. Our very best wishes to all of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2022 via mobile

Our stay at Kerehaklu was great - the cottages are clean and well maintained, the food is very homey and nice, and above all this place has a great vibe. The owners are truly welcoming - they took us for a hike that ended with amazing views and a jeep ride of the estate sharing a lot of interesting stories. We also learnt so much about coffee, it was truly amazing to see how things work. Overall, it is a great place to unwind!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rohitajain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us at Kerehaklu and we are just happy to note that you did like your stay here. With our best wishes to both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews