We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
121
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
121
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bison jeep ride flora and fauna the cottages fig tree coffee drying self guided trails estate drive coffee plantation incredible hosts blue trail father son duo western ghats coffee tasting host owner digital detox early morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2021

Nestled on a hill about half an hour out of Chikmagalur, Kerehaklu is a tremendously organic ecosystem. While it is a coffee plantation, its surrounding forest, trails, caves and streams constitute an independent natural ecosystem of its own.

There are plenty of bison, drongos and several thousand species of flora and fauna in and around the property. Almost all the trails make a great workout for the city gopher.

Ajoy and Pranoy (a very friendly father and son duo who collectively run the plantation), make the stay very comfortable and enjoyable. They both are some of the nicest people in these parts and really know their stuff when it comes to coffee and the ways of the forest. Several stories emerge if you're lucky to spend an evening with them. Ajoy took us on a jeep ride of the property which really puts Kerehaklu's scale into perspective, and we also happened to spot some bison.

Since network here is patchy, its the best place to come to with a trunk full of books. Digital detox is a keyword. Will definitely recommend.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Anant_PC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review and impressions of your stay here with us. We are happy to note that you did enjoy your stay here with us. With our very best wishes to you from all of us here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2021 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed at Kerehaklu for 3 nights and 2 days and we didn’t want to come back after that! If you are looking for escaping into nature, this is your place! Great rustic accommodation and delicious food! There are only 4 cottages in this property, so it’s like you have the whole place to yourself... you are surrounded by fresh air, chirping birds and solitude.. they have great trails within their property to take long walks. Ajoy is a great host and he had so many stories to share on the jeep ride that he took us on.. It was a great stay for us and we forward look to returning back again!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank _dipty_nanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Kerehaklu and we are happy to note you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us we look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2021 via mobile

It was such a great experience. Both Ajoy and Pranoy are great hosts. We already miss the food we had there. It was so good. The estate is so beautiful. They have an option of 5 self guided trails . We would definitely like to visit the place again.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pujjpatel2831
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Thank you very much for the kind sentiments that you have expressed in your review. We are also very glad to note that you enjoyed your stay here with us. With warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

Kerehaklu is easily one of the favourite places I've been to in all my years of traveling. It's hard to fault anything really. Ajoy is a very gracious host who ensures everything is perfectly managed on the property.

The rooms are clean and cosy. The food is especially good - home made and authentic, it leaves you happy at the end of each meal. The property is breathtaking. 270+ acres of coffee plantation which feels like a plush forest. We went in the middle of a very hot summer and could take walks at noon without breaking a sweat. The best part is that there are many kms of trails which are marked out and easy for anyone to access. This is one place I can't wait to go back to!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank harshajrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Kerehaklu and the very kind sentiments you have expressed. We are glad to note that you had a comfortable stay here. With our very best wishes to both of you from all of us here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2021

I visited Kerehaklu with my family in early 2021 to take a break from the city.

We booked two cottages - they were clean and well-maintained, exactly what we needed after the long drive to Chickmanglur. The cottages provide a brilliant view of the estate. Waking up to the sounds of birds chirping was every bit as incredible as we expected it to be.

The food (and coffee! - but more on that later) was delicious. We were offered hot meals (thanks to Mr Raju and Ms Bhagya) - rice, dal, sabzi, fruits and a dessert were typically on offer. Beverages such as coffee and tea were also available on order.

The best part about Kerehaklu were the treks and tours. The host - Mr Ajoy - provided an informational pamphlet on the treks that visitors could take while staying there, ordered according to difficulty and coded by colour. We took at least three treks, all of which were incredibly scenic. Ajoy also took us on a jeep tour across the estate, detailing the various plants and animals that live in the region. He also gave great insight into the coffee production process at Kerehaklu, and answered all our questions with patience. When we asked where we could get pepper vines and local pickles, he generously provided us with saplings from his own nursery and brought us pickles from the town.

This review would be incomplete without mentioning coffee. Though I typically don't drink coffee, I drank at least three cups a day because it was so delicious. We were also enlightened on the method and manner of brewing coffee by Pranoy, who gave us an enjoyable session on coffee tasting.

Kerehaklu is a great place to visit, especially if you're looking to take a break from everything that a city brings, such as traffic, noise and a reliable internet connection! I highly recommend Kerehaklu to anyone who loves to walk and soak in the greenery and fresh air that the estate provides.

Room tip: All rooms have good views.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKrittika
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2021

Thank you very much for the very kind sentiments that you have expressed in your review. We are indeed glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Our very best wishes to you and the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews