We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
123
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
123
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bison jeep ride flora and fauna the cottages walking trails fig tree self guided trails coffee drying coffee plantation jungle sounds incredible hosts blue trail father son duo western ghats digital detox host owner coffee tasting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2021

I visited Kerehaklu with my family in early 2021 to take a break from the city.

We booked two cottages - they were clean and well-maintained, exactly what we needed after the long drive to Chickmanglur. The cottages provide a brilliant view of the estate. Waking up to the sounds of birds chirping was every bit as incredible as we expected it to be.

The food (and coffee! - but more on that later) was delicious. We were offered hot meals (thanks to Mr Raju and Ms Bhagya) - rice, dal, sabzi, fruits and a dessert were typically on offer. Beverages such as coffee and tea were also available on order.

The best part about Kerehaklu were the treks and tours. The host - Mr Ajoy - provided an informational pamphlet on the treks that visitors could take while staying there, ordered according to difficulty and coded by colour. We took at least three treks, all of which were incredibly scenic. Ajoy also took us on a jeep tour across the estate, detailing the various plants and animals that live in the region. He also gave great insight into the coffee production process at Kerehaklu, and answered all our questions with patience. When we asked where we could get pepper vines and local pickles, he generously provided us with saplings from his own nursery and brought us pickles from the town.

This review would be incomplete without mentioning coffee. Though I typically don't drink coffee, I drank at least three cups a day because it was so delicious. We were also enlightened on the method and manner of brewing coffee by Pranoy, who gave us an enjoyable session on coffee tasting.

Kerehaklu is a great place to visit, especially if you're looking to take a break from everything that a city brings, such as traffic, noise and a reliable internet connection! I highly recommend Kerehaklu to anyone who loves to walk and soak in the greenery and fresh air that the estate provides.

Room tip: All rooms have good views.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKrittika
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2021

Thank you very much for the very kind sentiments that you have expressed in your review. We are indeed glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Our very best wishes to you and the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2021

My partner and I did a 3N4D stay at Kerehaklu during my birthday week. It's a beautiful property nestled amidst a coffee estate, and the slightly elevated rooms lend the feel of staying in a tree house. If you're a nature lover, it's the perfect place to be as you wake up to the chirping of birds and beautiful sunshine. It's definitely not a place for people wary of co-habiting with insects like lizards and spiders [we weren't :)], as you're literally living in the middle of a forest. There are trails around that you can explore too.

Ajoy is a very warm and terrific host. We really enjoyed the one-hour open jeep safari, where he drove us through the forest explaining the nitty gritties of the coffee plants and the history of the region. Special mention to Raju and his wife, who prepared the meals that were fresh, local and delicious. We had signed up for a two-meals-per-day plan but ended up having all our meals there.

If you're not travelling with you own vehicle, getting out of Kerehaklu will be a bit of a hassle (and expensive, given cab rates) since Chikmaglur centre is a few kilometres away. And there's very limited mobile connectivity, so if you're looking to to a digital detox, it's the right place.

It was a great experience overall and we'll definitely go back when the weather is cooler!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wordwitchthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2021

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at Kerehaklu and are glad to note that you enjoyed your visit and are also very grateful for the kind remarks that you have made therein. With our warm regards to both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2021 via mobile

We have stayed in many homestays and there's no contest that Kerehaklu is the best! So what's so special about this place? Only 4 cottages nestled among coffee plantation, awesome simple freshly cooked food, the hosts give us a lively, lovely,engaging informal tour of the vast estate abutting a forest. One is free to contemplate,restrospect for oneself.

With a blink of an eye, I will go back to this pristine place.

Many many thanks to Ajoy,Prannoy and Raju

Shaila Chavaly

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chavaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2021

Thank you for the very kind sentiments that you have expressed. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and it was pleasure hosting all of you. With our very best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2021

We went out to Kerehaklu to spend some time together. The ambiance and experience elevated the romantic experience we had. We had a lot of fun time exploring the estate and plantation. The tranquility of the place, the surrounding birds and the sound of the stream as you walk through the estate is an amazing experience. The food was super tasty and homemade, hence did not feel guilty about stuffing ourselves. I would recommend this place as a getaway for the weekend. Cell reception is poor, but this only helps us connect with each other and spend time with nature.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonyGeoAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2021

Thank you for taking time off to review your visit to Kerehaklu. We are glad to note that you had a comfortable stay. With our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021

A quaint getaway ahead of Chikmagalur.
Go for
- the coffee
- the 400 year old fig tree
- to learn more about coffee!

It was wonderful to see native species co-existing in their natural habitat alongside coffee. Unlike most coffee estates, Kere hasn't cut down the ecosystem to produce only coffee. Came back appreciating farm to table produce a lil more as well. Pranoy and his dad are great hosts, couldn't have been seamless.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Dhw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajoy Thipaiah, Owner at Kerehaklu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2021

Thank you for the kind review. We are glad to note that you had an enjoyable stay here with us. Our very best wishes to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews