We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Serai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Serai
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Chikamagalur
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I booked the resort relying on some of the reviews on this website and was in for a treat. After 5+ hours of car travel from Bangalore, me and my wife with our daughter reached the resort and were pleasantly surprised. We were at the resort in July first week and the weather was pristine. Light drizzle with a lovely breeze blowing, immediately convinced us of our choice. The rooms (villas) were beautifully done up with a private plunge pool. Apart from the weather and facilities, the staff of the resort made our stay truly memorable. Genuinely interested in their Guests (not customers). Our 1 year old daughter was well taken care of and the staff kept going out of the way to make the little one comfortable.

SPA was great, food was good and all this at a pretty good price. Got the value of a $500+ room, for a lot less !! Would definitely want to go back and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: I preferred the pool villa vs. the Jacuzzi villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADhandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    114
    31
    14
    9
See reviews for
185
126
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This gem of a resort in the sleepy coffee town of chikmagalur is really worth every penny. A stones throw (less than 30 min) from Chikamagalur bus stop is this wonderful resort covered on all sides by coffee and pepper estate. The staff are well dressed, warm, courteous and ensure you are taken care of at every point of your stay. We spend 2 nights in the wonderful property (albeit two years back-apologies for the late review) in a villa with an adjoining swimming pool. The villa has some elements of contemporary architecture with wood and stone being the prime ingredients. The "walk in" bathroom with outdoor shower is one of the best I have seen in any resort so far. The coffee that they serve in this resort is magical. We opted for the buffet spread for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We were absolutely pleased with the taste, quality and variety of the spread. Although there was a corporate outing in the resort at teh same time with a truck full of executives running around the resort with a license to thrill- we were not disturbed at all- goes to show how the staff took care and attention to the guests. You could ask for a complimentary trip around the coffee estate where the staff takes you around showing you how an estate is maintained. We visited the place during monsoon and it was absolutely magical. I would like to thank the staff of this resort for an unforgettable experience and would like to recommend this "understated yet excellent" property.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vipivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Nestled in the coffee country this is a very well done resort. An ideal place for honeymooners, the rooms are spacious, bathrooms remarkable and very well done; each room comes with an attached pool. While priced slightly on the higher side, would say it is value for money. would want to come back again and again to this place.

It is an apt place for relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parthgovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

It was a sheer delight to stay in this resort. The rooms, facilities and the staff made sure that everything was up to the mark. We stayed one night in the jacuzzi villa and 2 nights in the pool villa. Both were very good and had their own charm. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms have been very smartly designed. This place is a must do if you have little kids and want to spend a weekend within a resort itself. The activities offered by the hotel include walk of the coffee plantation, badminton court, little park for the kids and some indoor games besides the large pool. The food spread is great and the staff took our feedback for the minor glitches and improved.

Overall, fantastic experience!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi and pool villas - both are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justbkfromswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Serai Chikmanglur is a very upscale and beautiful property set amidst the green coffee plantations of Chikmanglur.

The rooms are just awesome and bathroom is huge and very fancy. All rooms come with an attached pool and are very neat and beautiful,

Service is prompt and very good.

The food is good, but the buffet could be improved on weekdays - we brought this to their notice and immediately the chef appeared and asked us our preferences and voila - we had dishes specially prepared for us for the next two meals (our last).

There are few local attractions here like the highest peak of Karnataka which is recommended. You could go there for an extended weekend or a quick getaway. Saw a couple of honeymooners too.

The drive from Bangalore is quite smooth and fun!

Overall a good experience and would come back, if visting Chikmanglur.

Just one thing, we went during the rainy season, so lots of toads around, but none near the cottages or room.

Room Tip: Basic room is good enough and quite luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunainatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chikamagalur hotels
11.3 km away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#2 of 16 in Chikamagalur
727 reviews
0.0 km away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#3 of 16 in Chikamagalur
44 reviews
9.6 km away
Java Rain
Java Rain
#4 of 16 in Chikamagalur
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#6 of 16 in Chikamagalur
19 reviews
6.3 km away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#8 of 16 in Chikamagalur
89 reviews
9.2 km away
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
#4 of 131 in Chikamagalur
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Serai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Serai

Property: The Serai
Address: B.M. Road | Mugthihalli Post, Chikamagalur 577133, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chikamagalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chikamagalur
#1 Spa Hotel in Chikamagalur
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,914 - ₹ 27,724
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Serai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, ClearTrip, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your The Serai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Serai Hotel Chikamagalur
The Serai Karnataka/Chikamagalur, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing