We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chikkamagalur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eagle Eye Holiday Homes
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible place”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

One of my biggest mistake in my entire travelling career is going to this place. I can probably write a book on the experience on this. The highlights are here:
1) The location itself - this almost near Sringere and not Chickmaglur. 58KM!!! Thankfully the road is not that bad and you are in mid of nature. Else god save us!! The last stretch is more of a treasure hunt - you miss a board and you know what can happen. There is one big signage as you enter chickmanglur and the next noticeable one is almost 50KM away!
2) We booked 2 days on the so called exe-villa! I must say big spacious villa with 4 beds and attached bathroom. It's not too clean - but if you are not fuzzy, manageable. The point they make is that we will clean it for you!!!
3) No room service in a executive villa. no room service to the extent of no intercom. if you have issues, walk all the way to the reception and in night there is no light on the path.
4) Food is horrible - i have had better food in road side daba's!
5) You get hot water only from 6:00 to 10:00 am - timings for hot water in a executive villa: can you believe this?
6) Dinner is server at 8:30 to 10:30 pm - timings for dinner. You can order anything else also, but must order 3hrs before i believe!!! Awesome
7) To top all this - there is a generator which runs 24hrs. so if you are looking for some quite place or hear the birds chirping, think twice. I later found that this is because of the power breakdown in the area. They could told me before i came - i did'nt have to travel 300KM to hear more noise than that in Bangalore!!!

In all, there is no major luxury nor good food nor good service - if you think you can compromise all these, this is the place!!!

We booked the place for 2days and had to cancel the second day! There are much better places and things to do in chickmaglur - please do not get conned with the website!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dpramod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    68
    46
    34
    39
See reviews for
85
40
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

There is a lot of hype about this place and after visiting it, I would say, its not worth the money. We stayed on the treehouse, where there is no hot water, even though there is a geyser in the bathroom, service to the room is extremely poor, no arrangements of lights to the treehouse from the common area, pathetic food quality, too much crowd, improper management of facilities, even the help desk people are unaware of the things available there like rooms, rents and other facilities. There is no way one can locate this place without any local help.

Room Tip: Stay in the standard rooms, they are near the cafeteria/restaurant and have hot water facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachinnarayanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chikkamagalur hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

It was awesome fun for group of 6 guys staying on Tree House.
Visit this resort if you are there for enjoy away from city...don't expect great food and services..
Best place to stay is tree house..you need to book at-least a week in advance and carry enough cash as nearest ATM is 55 km.

Room Tip: Book a week advance Keep enough cash Not a good place for family with young kids or old couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bishwajeet111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Note:
1. Carry the map and follow all the instructions well.
2. Now there is a banner near the church where you need to take a right
3. There is a tiny board near the paddy field and banana plantation to find this resort.
4. Drive is good and roads are well laid now. Even patch work is happening at the damaged portion of roads.

I am surprised by the comments given in the net for this place. We went to this place based on a recommendation from a relative who stayed there and totally enjoyed it.

This place is in middle of some estate with beautiful view. We had booked a villa for 4 adults. Its a nice big room with 4 carts placed. Neat bathroom with hot water and well lit. Clean bed sheets, curtains and friendly staff.

Few things to note:
1. It's not a luxurious resort. It's like JLR but much better than that.
2. No room service
3. Basic tasty food. Best: Gobi pepper dry without onion/garlic. I still feel the pepper smell it gave. Do try! Fresh strawberry juice. Never had anything of that sort. Masala dosa. Farm fresh bananas
4. The whole place is at different levels. If you are taking elders they may find it difficult to climb up and down for food or going out. It is a good elevation where rooms are. Be prepared.
5. Do try the Trek. It's not very difficult. 4KMs. Awesome view you get.

We didn't get a chance to do plantation walk as it was a Easter holiday person incharge was on leave.
The river side picnic again was not available

There is enough to spend time.

There is lot of open space. They give to Badminton racket, Volley ball, Cricket bat. All indoor games are also available.

Bon fire with music is nice. My toddler son thoroughly enjoyed it.

Just go to this place, relax enjoy nature carry memories and come back.

There was a huge fight from a person being unsatisfactory. I found it very funny. I think they keep up the promise of saying it's a home away from home.

Go to this place only if
- You want to get up with the birds chirp.
- Enjoy the night with moon and stars.
- Play and talk with your family and friends.

Room Tip: Pick up a room at top of the building. You may get good view. If you are travelling elders who have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Qrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have been to this place between 6-8 April. I saw many negative reviews of this place and were little apprehensive. The resort is around 50kms from the Chikmagalur town and getting there takes almost 1.5 hours. Aldur is the major place on the way. From Aldur it is around 30 kms. Road is straight ... Only thing is you have to look for a church after you have crossed 22-23 kms from Aldur. Opposite to the church there is a sign board with the resort's name on it so that you do not feel lost :) It is another 10 kms from here .. and road condition is not good everywhere. Thankfully work is going on .. so we can expect improvement.

When we finally reached the resort .. it was a good relief. The place is beautiful. We were a group of 6 and 2 kids. We stayed in 2 Skywalk Villas and 1 waterfall villa. The skywalk villas are excellent .. very big room (It actually had 2 double beds) .. very nice view and the balcony was awsome. The food was good .. Apart from the regular offerings we also ordered extra foods which were nice and cheap. The staffs and services were also good.

The resort has various activites. campfire, fishing, plantation walk etc. Plantation walk was a good experience.

Overall my impression is good and I would not mind going there again. This is particularly suitable if you just want to relax amid nature.

Room Tip: The skywalk villas are the best. Big rooms, nice view. Also these are very close to the dining hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mounita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
28.5 km away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#3 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
775 reviews
0.0 km away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#2 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
77 reviews
23.8 km away
Aadrika
Aadrika
#6 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 km away
The Serai
The Serai
#4 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
432 reviews
20.7 km away
Nirvana Kutira
Nirvana Kutira
#3 of 137 in Chikkamagalur
26 reviews
38.5 km away
River Tern Lodge
River Tern Lodge
#1 of 137 in Chikkamagalur
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Eye Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Eye Holiday Homes

Property: Eagle Eye Holiday Homes
Address: Hoscodu Estate, Kadavanthi Village, Chikkamagalur 577136, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Chikkamagalur
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,608 - ₹ 17,468
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle Eye Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Eagle Eye Holiday Homes Karnataka/Chikkamagalur, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing