We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Jungle Resort with good view”
Review of River Tern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Tern Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Jungle Resort with good view”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

River Tern resorts is one of the Chain Resorts of Jungle Lodges in Karnataka. I have visited most of the resorts of Jungle Lodges and this indeed is very good one compared to all the other resort they maintained. This is close to the Bhardavathi dam and resort is located behind the dam this gives best view of the river. We visited here in first week of December 2011.

The resorts is quite peaceful and calm. The food is good. The rooms are clean and balcony has good view of the river. Do not miss to get up early in the morning around 5 AM to see Moon. Its wonderful picturesque view of water and the moon.

We did not except much from safari. But it was not at all disappointing when we saw Leopard! Yes the Leopard , it was spellbound experience to witness the leopard.
They also take you for the boating where you can view lots birds. They provide binoculars to watch. They also have other sports which one can try out.

Overall it was good experience leaving behind wonderful memory of the LEOPARD.

Room Tip: Pick the room which has river facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pguruswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    114
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
149
78
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Named after the migratory bird "River Tern", it gets its name"River Tern Lodge".Its wonderful experience to spend your holidays here,if you love nature in the form of forest,river,wild-life and cool & peaceful atmosphere. Its equipped with facilities like Jungle Safari drive,Nature walks,Coracle ride,Kayaking,Water trampoline & wildlife movie shows. They have fixed daily food menu,served in the Restaurant. Alternate lighting arrangements are available in Cottage-rooms,just in case of power-failure. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: For convenience sake try book cottage near the Reception,otherwise one has to walk quite a distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HemMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Had been here in June 2011 with my wife and had a wonderful time.

We took the new rooms... All these rooms come with a lovely view of the backwaters of the Lakkavalli dam.

There are 2 Safaris... one in the evening where we get into the Bhadra reserve in a Jeep... and the other is a boat safari to the nesting grounds of the beautiful River Tern.

Do not expect much during the Safari atleast during monsoons... We saw some Bisons, Deer, Monitor Lizard. We saw a Serpent Crested Eagle, some Hornbills too...

I loved the bat safari, where we went really close to the nesting place of the River Tern...

Overall had a wonderful stay and would recommend this place

Room Tip: Take the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mithuntm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My previous stay at JLR was 5 years back. I was very nervous this time and was wondering whether the standards of staff (friendly, cooperative) and food (sumptuous) are still the same! Thank God, I was not disappointed. Moreover, I guess, this has the best location among all JLR.

Room Tip: Go for the newer cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazy_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

It may not be surprising that JLR (Jungle Lodges & Resorts) have doubled their tariff in the last 3 years – prices for nearly everything is increasing day by day, inflation and all that. But when you increase prices, you should also know that your property will be compared with the ones that come in the new price range. With my recent experience at River Tern Lodge, I think that they have not thought about, or prepared for, typical expectations at their new price point.

River Tern Lodge is located on two islands in the Bhadra reservoir. Location is amazing. Cottages are spread out nicely around the islands, each one with adequate privacy. Each cottage comes with excellent view to the vast & tranquil reservoir.

If you are driving from Bangalore, it should take you about 5hours to reach there. You can take directions to Lakavalli, Karnataka. Lakavalli is the nearest town to the property and there are clear directions provided from there.

Cottages are spacious. Comes with a nice balcony. As usual with other JLR properties, they do not have TV or phone etc – which is perfect. Bathrooms are big and clean. One thing to note – cottages are spread out on two islands – connected by a nice wooden bridge. Food is provided only at the ‘Golghar’ located on the main island. That means, if your cottage is located on the second island (#s 11 to 25) you will have to walk downhill and then uphill each time for food. Not a big problem if you don’t mind climbing steep steps – in fact the second island gives you more privacy and better views. But this may not suit elderly people and anyone who has problem climbing stairs.

They provide boat safari in the morning as well as evening. You can spot many birds if you are lucky. I would strongly recommend the evening safari – where you can watch the beautiful sunset in the reservoir. There are some water activities – kayaking, canoes, trampolines set in water etc. Kayaking in the reservoir is an amazing experience – not to be missed.

So why did I rate the place only 3 stars?

Well – the place works only according to their schedule, not yours. If you would like your breakfast at 7:30am – sorry – breakfast is served only at 8:30am. That too, if you are lucky – sometimes they finish spreading the items only by 8:45. Lunch is ‘around’ 1:30pm.

On one evening (We stayed for two nights) we wanted to skip the boat safari and spend time at the resort. When we wanted to have a tea at 5:00pm, we were told that tea will be served only at 6:30. We wanted to do kayaking during the sunset – but found that there is no kayaking in the evening.

Food is very mediocre – very spicy for my taste, and the spread is very limited. Absolutely no continental items – e.g.: no cereals for breakfast.

If you travel with young children – please carry adequate quantity of snacks etc. Food – even tea – is served only at the set schedules.

That comes back to the first point I discussed. At the current price point, you do expect services at the level provided by others in the comparable price point – I would request JLR management to see the service levels at places like The Serai etc – because, the current prices comes uncomfortably closer to that of Serai & such places, where the service quality - the food - both spread and quality, training level of employees, infrastructure etc are at much higher level.

Room Tip: Main island - quick to reach food and activities area. Second island - gives more privacy but steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vsree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
44.5 km away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#2 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
767 reviews
0.0 km away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#4 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
62 reviews
38.3 km away
Java Rain
Java Rain
#1 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.0 km away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#6 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
22 reviews
44.9 km away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#9 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
89 reviews
40.6 km away
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
#8 of 136 in Chikkamagalur
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Tern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Tern Lodge

Property: River Tern Lodge
Address: Behind Ranganathaswamy Temple, Bhadra Project | Lakkavalli, Chikkamagalur 577115, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Chikkamagalur
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,018 - ₹ 12,147
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Western Ghats the River tern lodge gets its name from the nearby island that attracts hundreds of river terns during the breeding season. It is located on a hillock on the edge of the Bhadra reservoir, near Lakkavali: a stone's throw away from the northern boundary of the Bhadra Tiger Reserve, in the Chikmaglur district. Chikmaglur was once a princess' dowry - and still holds the charms of a place that a king's favourite daughter once took as her dowry. Amongst all this, is a perfect place to form a whole new bond with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your River Tern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Tern Lodge Karnataka/Chikkamagalur, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing