We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Impeccable service in tranquil surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jayamahal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jayamahal Palace
Ranked #266 of 775 Speciality Lodging in Bengaluru
Rogerstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impeccable service in tranquil surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

We stayed here twice during our trip to Inida, when we first arrived and just before we left. We selected Jayamahal as it seemed an ideal place to crash out after/before a long air journey - and we weren't disappointed. The building itself is a charming old mansion and its surrounding gardens are beautiful. It is a haven of peace in the centre of a busy city. Food was wonderful, we ate snacks in the bar, meals in the restaurant and a barbecue by the swimming pool. This latter is ideal for lazing around during the day as well, never too crowded, large enough to swim a few lengths in clear blue water or just to cool off if the sun becomes a little too hot. Service everywhere in the hotel was exceptional, reception couldn't do too much to help us, arranging transport as required and even recommending the best places to shop and working out an itinerary for us.
The only reason that I can't rate this hotel as totally excellent is that the first room we stayed in was in need of a little redecoration, although it was spotlessly clean. The second time we stayed the room was excellent. But overall, if you want a relaxing base in Bangalore, this must surely be your choice.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephineump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    22
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
23
15
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
109 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

We stayed here with business traveller group in 2007 Nov composed of foreigners. The property is UNIQUE in Bangalore town. It is a heritage property.

The accomodation is of quality, but technical details and up-keep of amenities should be given attention. They are old-styled (geysers, AC, TV) and hence not very efficient to make this hotel the perfect combo of heritage+luxury.

I was surprised by the simple computer room behind reception which had a great internet connection - yes! its a must for a Bangalore hotel.

The F&B facilities hsould be improved and re-looked. The F&B areas are not maintained or well-furnished. Food taste was good though.

Overall good heritage property - One of the Bangalore's major railway stations is bang opposite!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basse Normandy
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2008

The photo's looked really good on the website - but we were very dissapointed when we arrived. The carpets, entrance halls, flooring, walls, chairs - almost everything was dirty and in need of a clean or fresh coat of paint.

We should have been stopping in the suites - but we took one look round and decided to check straight back out.

The rooms themselves looked clean enough (I.e. bedding and bathrooms), but it was the communal areas that were the worst.

The gardens were not anything near like they were made out to be - the pool was someone where i wouldn't fancy swimming - and there was a large marquee attached to the side of the main palace building that looked like it had regular parties - in fact, when we arrived at 6.30am, the left over dirty dishes from the night ebfore were still strewn around the garden and marquee areas.

All in all, if i was expecting a cheap run down hotel then i wouldn't have been dissapointed. The biggest shame about this hotel, is that in a country of relatively cheap labour - all it needed was some elbow grease with a bucket/mop/paintbrush !

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD_Boss_Hogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2008

Oh my gosh!!! Just got back from this hotel and can't tell you enough great things about it. We LOVED it!!! It was very inexpensive. It had gorgeous gardens and acres and acres of lawn. We were in India to adopt a child and the hotel staff spoiled us rotten. They went over and beyond expectations!! The rooms were great, the pool was wonderful and the staff even served our lunch by the pool. The ambiance was great and food great too. It was quiet and maybe only 3-4 families even at the hotel total. It is way off the road so you don't hear the traffic. They arranged drivers and they were inexpensive and very reliable. The internet is free. Again, can't say enough about this hotel. The staff made it so homey!!! Cleanliness was 5 star.

  • Liked — friendliness of staff, pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Indiamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
The Lalit Ashok
#56 of 640 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Domlur
Ramada Encore Bangalore Domlur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#27 of 640 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati
#159 of 640 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
The Capitol
The Capitol
#112 of 640 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jayamahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jayamahal Palace

Property: Jayamahal Palace
Address: 1 Jayamahal Road behind the containment railway station | Behind the Containment Railway Station, Bengaluru 560046, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 775 Speciality Lodging in Bengaluru
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,206 - ₹ 7,912
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jayamahal Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Stayzilla, Expedia, OYO Rooms and TravelGuru so you can book your Jayamahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jayamahal Palace Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing