We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Good Location and Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chancery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chancery
Ranked #156 of 640 Hotels in Bengaluru
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Good Location and Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I see that there are some poor reviews of this hotel and I am quite puzzled as to why. I found it to be clean, the rooms spacious, the food quite decent (I had room service on a couple of occasions and ate each morning in their breakfast buffet) and the staff both very friendly and professional. A large group of us stayed there for a conference and also used some of their meeting rooms for our events and we were thoroughly satisfied. Very centrally located, right near Cubbon Park and MG Road. I found the rooms well maintained and the amenities quite good (especially the gym downstairs). A very pleasant stay and well worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    109
    64
    34
    17
See reviews for
38
30
26
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Good location and had heard good things about hotel. My own experience could not match with my information. Bathrooms are too small and needs immediate up gradation. There is no napkin hanger on the wash basin counter. Bath tub is leaking from the sides, so when you step out from the bath tub, it is quite likely that you may put your foot in the puddle of water. Restaurant and its staff is not good. Refusing or saying "NO" is not a taboo here, which is generally found in hospitality business. When I tried to order some drinks, only one brand of whiskey was available from the bar menu. Food will not be available if you have checked in after the closure break fast and before they start buffet for lunch. Even during buffet you may find empty serving bowls and you will have to draw attention of restaurant staff, who are not very attentive. Service in the restaurant is not good.

Room Tip: Do not keep high expectations
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DIVANJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

The location of hotel is good.. But you feel suffocated in the rooms.. I was wondering how can a hotel like this provide you old towels... Looking at the condition of the towel, i felt as if I am in a lodge or a third grade paharganj hotel from Delhi.

I will always recommend this hotel as a last option to stay..

The last rank in the list of good hotels in Bengaluru

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I had taken 11 guests for a buffet lunch on 17th Dec., 2011. One of the menu was supposed to be Thair Vada / Dahi Vada. But instead it was only the bread soaked in Curd. That is Ok, but the bread was smelling very bad and had fungus. I had put it in the mouith and was feeling very very bad. I could not spit it out as it was I who was the host and I did not want show that I had taken the guest to a hotel of that standard.

Next day morning I started having loose motion and it continued till after noon when the doctor presribed immediate medication and attention as most of the water had drained out and the doctor feared dehydration.as by that time I had visited toilet 16 times. It was only then I became all right by night .

All others who had consumed this bread stuff had suffered loose motion which I came to know later. When I complained to the hotel, the F& B manager told me that he will investigate and let me know how it might have happened. But till now there has been no response from any body from the hotel

The hotel management should take sufficient care to see that stale foods are not served when we pay so heavily and go there with confidence that we get good food. This is unfortunate to say that this chancery hotel served stale and fungus caught food.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpsureshkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Nice hotel moderately priced. Good services and good south and north Indian food. The services could be improved with a little more training. Good Banquet facilities. Quite neat and clean But overall best thing was value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay_Sinha30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
The Chancery Pavilion
#103 of 640 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#5 of 640 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Ibis Bengaluru City Centre
#60 of 640 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HM Suites & Studios
#118 of 640 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Richmond Town
Melange Astris
Melange Astris
#150 of 640 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancery

Property: The Chancery
Address: 10/6 Lavelle Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 640 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,753 - ₹ 11,056
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chancery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though a 4-Star deluxe hotel, 5-Star luxury has been kept in mind while doing up The Chancery. Consequently, there are all the trappings that you would expect in a 5-Star. Starting with the location, to the splendid classic Gothic design, to the exquisitely furnished modern rooms, 24-hour service, fabulous restaurants,specialty Japanese Restaurant, i-phone docket, amenities like special business lounges, a fitness center, a beauty salon , a SPA . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda, TravelGuru and Expedia so you can book your The Chancery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chancery Hotel Bangalore
Chancery Hotel Bangalore
Chancery Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing