We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, No Fuss, Slightly outdated but Great Service”
Review of St Mark's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Mark's Hotel
Ranked #8 of 664 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Chandigarh, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming, No Fuss, Slightly outdated but Great Service”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

If you don't know what the fuss about this hotel on Trip Advisor is, the slightly outdated interiors won't help the first impression. But go along.

I would have to give them the best marks for hospitality. The best in Bangalore. My check out was 4 AM. I would have missed complimentary Buffet Breakfast. So, they arranged for that to be delivered in my room. No other hotel has done that ever. And, this was not just 1-2 items, full breakfast choices with fruits, toasts, pastries, tea, juices and all. I loved them for it. They also completed all formalities a day ahead so that my check out is a breeze.

The room itself was quite ok - completely functional. Two bottles of water is rather generous these days. But the bed was slightly small and I am not even tall at 5 feet 7 inches. The bathroom was great.

What they can improve? On-site dining options. No ambiance, no character what so ever. If they did that, I would give it a 5 on 5.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vikramadhiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    238
    23
    4
    5
See reviews for
160
164
122
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

As always I want to say "I love to come back to this place again and again"
The entire team from the door man to the Vice president (Mr.J.P.Menon) of this hotel are there to talk to you, listen to you and meet all your requirements. Small things of your preference like peeled boiled egg for breakfast vodka and orange juice or cock and rum for the evening comes to you without asking. Very nice to see the importance they give to individual guests.

Room Tip: One new thing added is the roof top cocktail and snacks counter where you can enjoy drinks and snack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epsreekumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I spent a week in this hotel and I felt very comfortable. The food was great with a very attentive team of waiters. The room was of very good size and almost everything can be controlled from the comfort of the bed (lights, A/C, blinds,...).

The whole team at this hotel is very hospitable.

The location is just unbeatable! You have the city and UB City just around the corner. The hard-rock cafe and the biere-club, for those that love clubbing, all just around the corner!

I would visit this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shepherd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My husband and I were in Bangalore for a wedding, and St. Marks ended up being a good choice. After traveling around the north of India, St. Marks was a nice break from the hustle and bustle. The hotel is on a fairly busy street (be careful crossing the road!) but once in the hotel it's very quiet. The lobby is beautiful, and the rooms are lovely - there is a window from the bathroom to the bedroom! With blinds that close of course, but still pretty funny. They say it's so you can watch and listen to TV while showering (there are speakers from the TV in the shower). The breakfast was great - some local food paired with Western food (great omelettes!) and some of the best coffee around. My only complaint is difficulty to just walk out the door and walk around, due to the busy street - although this is probably the case in most of the city. Also, the staff seemed to toot their own horn about being a top-rated hotel. I'll be the judge of that. But we did have a nice stay, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonzeeAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The most important feature I like in this hotel is the three layers of glass (windows) between the inside of the rooms and the outside, this completely elliminates any street noise coming into the room (and if you know Bangalore, you know this is important).
The rooms are extremely clean, well designed, and comfortable.
The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to assist you.
The breakfast is a full buffet style breakfast with Indian style, Western hot style, fresh omlettes and eggs, continental fresh fruits and juices, and amazing south Indian Coffee (you have to try this with milk) Well worth to have it included in your rate.
The Towels are a three and a half star in fluffiness (I am a very picky towel person), but should be good enough for most people.
The only thing I urge this hotel to do is to enforce or organize the segregation of smokers and no smokers. other people in my group were put on a smoking floor, while on my non-smoking floor, there were people who smoked in their rooms and the smoke made it's way to my room.
The location is very good, close to UB City, which is the center of Bangalore.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ht142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,926 reviews
Adarsh Hamilton
#15 of 664 in Bengaluru
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#18 of 664 in Bengaluru
667 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mark's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mark's Hotel

Property: St Mark's Hotel
Address: 4/1 St Marks Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#5 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#51 Best Value Hotel in Bengaluru
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,124 - ₹ 8,690
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Mark's Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Mark’s Hotel is a value for money 4 Star Business hotel located in the heart of Bangalore, the garden city of India. Situated 38 kms from the airport and a stone’s throw away from the city center, the hotel has 96 smart and comfortable rooms with excellent amenities including Complimentary Buffet Breakfast & Unlimited Internet Connectivity (Wired & Wi-Fi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, Yatra, ClearTrip, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Mark's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing