We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Team banquet dinner on the roof - never again”
Review of The Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capitol
Ranked #110 of 695 Hotels in Bengaluru
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We arranged a team dinner at the roof garden and would never do this again. We payed an 'all in' rate including drinks, resulting in a small table being set up next to the bar which was not capable of serving 50+ people. There was a long delay. The floor constantly had puddles on it, eventhough it had not rained for at least a week. Seeing the staff mop up muddy puddles around your feet is not good. The staff brought the starters round, but you almost had to run after them to get any food. The main meal was OK, but bright spotlight lighting the terrace was always pointing in your face, not very relaxing. The worst thing of all was paying the bill, for which I had to follow the staff into the kitchen area and pay the cashier who was sitting at a strange desk in the kitchen - that left us with a terrible impression. We will not be using the hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GCH2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stay there for 3 times in the last year. First time found good, big rooms, cleanliness bad as usual in India for price - Rs. 4.000,- but food was reasonable, breakfast OK. But 2nd time trouble with shower, dirty and cloggy, and last time was terrible, business centre without printer working, when found a printer (from manager's office, PC does not have PDF reader) and again shower problems - not hot water, and air conditioning noisy, so I give up

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduba101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I would think twice before holding any event / function / wedding there.

Let me tell you of our experience.

We held an event with guests and representatives coming from all over India, America, Canada, Russia, Australia and New Zealand. It was an important day so we booked a function room at the Capitol this is where the problems began.

During the negotiation process false statements and assurances were made. Two that immediately come to mind was the rate per person was not decreased when once a certain threshold number of guests was achieved and secondly, everything will run smoothly – we will handle it.

The mistakes that arose:
1. They double booked one of our bedrooms; allowing people (not from our party) to entre whilst we were not there.
2. They didn’t book the bedrooms despite a confirmation but were happy to book one of the halls without any discussion or deposit and attempted to charge us for this.
3. Electronics in one of the bedrooms was not in 100% working order – meaning that that at 0400hrs all the lights came on.
4. Had to ask for recepts – they had difficulty finding theirs
5. One of the people that they had contracted failed to show.

This last point was the main problem. The Capitol has set themselves up as event managers without any liability. They:
1. Do not allow guests to use there own contractors (and those contracted have inflated prices)
2. Require FULL payment (to the Capitol) before the event
3. Have no procedures to check that those contracted would do their jobs (and it was an obvious, 30 second check that could have alleviated a lot of heart ache)
4. Rely on the guests to sort out any problems that arise from their contractor not showing up
5. Did not accept any responsibility what so ever
6. Do not provide any written apology

Now just when you thought it could not get any worse. They offered a 33% refund on that contractor’s work – that’s right they wanted to keep 66% of the sum (thousands of rupees) for themselves. It took 2 weeks and the threat that we were going to the police to secure 66% of our payment for the service that was not provided.

The one partially redeeming part was the buffet – the food was quite good.

If you still want to have a function here these are my tips:
1. You keep a written record of your meetings and get them to sign it off at the end – and be specific
2. Do not provide full payment upfront
3. GET RECIPTS
4. Be prepared to instigate legal action if things go wrong

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Known_only_as_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Imagine the sales team of a hotel confirming a conference and lunch ( rate can be shared if necessary) for 400IT professionals and the hotels banquet office has no clue about anything.. well this is exactly what left all in a lurch.
This hotel commited certain rates and plans but backed out at the last minute because their "MD" would not approve one round of complimentary coffee that was already commited - talk about professionalism - i guess this is what to expect from proprietorship concerns. Would not recommend this place to any member.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sid581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 May 2012

They Never had a Function and never experincied our Service. They only had enquiry to hold a confrence. Which was not feasable to agree to there terms and condations. Hence refused to honour there booking. We are sure that writer of this comment is aware of the discussion happend at the time of Reservation of the Banquet Hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I had stayed there recently and found that the service is horrible....right from bed turn-down to hot water the hotel staff take exceptionally long to even reach the room even after repeated reminders....

The rooms are decent but the hotel in general requires a renovation....

The staff is not at all courteous...I couldnot even speak to the GM there....he was always in some meeting or on some call.....or so I was told....

Given a choice I would not like to stay in the hotel again.....

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anirudhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Hotel Mount Palazzo
#500 of 695 in Bengaluru
12 reviews
Whitefield
MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel
MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel
#139 of 695 in Bengaluru
149 reviews
MG Road
Iris - The Business Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasanth Nagar
Citrus Cunningham
Citrus Cunningham
#78 of 695 in Bengaluru
246 reviews
The Pride Hotel
#44 of 695 in Bengaluru
801 reviews
Jayanagar
La Marvella Sarovar Premiere
La Marvella Sarovar Premiere
#36 of 695 in Bengaluru
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol

Address: No 3 Raj Bhavan Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Vasanth Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: ₹ 3,740 - ₹ 6,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Capitol 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol, Bangalore a 4 Star Hotel, offers an impressive collection of Rooms and Suites tastefully appointed overlooking lush greenery of the city. The hotel, being strategically located at the Central Business District, is a preferred place to hold Meeting, Events & Celebrations, the venues completed with luxurious interiors showcasing finest Indian Craftsmanship & contemporary designs specially chosen to complement the alluring decor. Our Hotel weaves together an impressive collection of 144 extra - spacious Rooms & Suites that speak a language of Luxury.The interiors in their simplicity, style & keen attention to detail, showcase all that is finest in Indian Craftsmanship & Contemporary Design.The Rooms & Suites are beautifully appointed overlooking the lush greenery the city has to offer! A complete accommodation package for Global Travellers, the tastefully appointed Rooms include a host of amenities including a 32"LCD TV, Electronic Safes, Hair Dryer, Magnifying Mirror,King Size or Twin Beds, Mini Bar,Microwave Oven, Separate Extended Living/dining and Bedroom, Tea/Coffee Maker, and Complementary Wi-Fi services. We have an array of different but equally comfortable and splendid Rooms & Suites for your needs. With 8 luxurious Banquet Halls, covering an area of 22,000 Square feet, the facility can accommodate anything from 20 to 1500 Guests. Being one of the City's most sort after places for events, Conferences, Corporate meetings, Product Launches, Exhibitions, Trade Shows, Weddings, and Celebrations, we at The Capitol believe in rendering highest quality of service to our Esteemed Guest in order to create a memorable event. At "24 Carats" start your day with a filling Indo- continental breakfast as the morning light streams in through the Stained glass atrium. The restaurant located in the heart of the city offers an any time treat with its Round The Clock Menu's to the elaborately planned Buffet Lunch/Dinner and A-la Carte dishes. It's a perfect place to hold your Corporate Meeting, even catching up with friends over a cup of Coffee or spending leisure Sunday afternoon with a book in one hand & tea in the other, munching over the snacks on your table. The elaborately planned Buffets and A-la Carte dishes from around the World designed to suit every mood and taste. Recreational facility at the hotel includes an outdoor Swimming Pool, a Fitness Center, and an in house Travel Desk to cater to your requirements. Convenience of every kind, Luxury to suit the best and location that is simply perfect sums up the total experience we offer to our Esteemed Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and TravelGuru so you can book your The Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Bangalore
Capitol Hotel Bangalore
Capitol Bangalore
Hotel Capitol Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing