We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, excellent food, good services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Ranked #31 of 659 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, excellent food, good services”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Have spent 3 weeks in this hotel and I must say I've enjoyed every single day here. The staff has been helpful and kind, the food excellent, hotel clean. There's gym and a pool and the hotel is located in the heart of Bangalore. The hotel is well equipped with all needed stuff: 2-3 liters of water every day, tootbrush, tootpaste, shaving kit, etc. It has a strong wifi signal but for this service one needs to pay extra charge (about EUR 5 for 2 hours or EUR 10 for 24 hours). Ask for a room facing the pool 'cause it's quieter (the rooms facing the main street are very noisy because of the traffic).

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool 'cause it's much quieter than the ones facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sycul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Sycul,


I thank you for taking the time to share a review about your experience at the Gateway hotel, Bangalore and I am happy to hear you had an excellent stay with us and enjoyed every single day.

We are delighted that our team left a great impression on you by way of their excellent service. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition of them, is heartening which will encourage them further to deliver their best. I have conveyed your compliments to our team.

We are now ready with our new lobby, bar and specialty Restaurant KARAVALLI which will be launched by the end of this month. We would be happy to post the images of these on trip advisor where you get the opportunity to view these.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon and assure you of our best always.

Warm Regards

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    401
    75
    12
    6
See reviews for
137
93
69
623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The hotel is ina prime location -- run by the Taj. Undergoinmg renovation should be okay by June 2012. Rooms are a little small but still clean and comfy

Pretty good food though breakfast spread was not as good as other Indian Hotels

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share a review about your experience at the Gateway hotel, Bangalore and I am happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I do understand the breakfast served did not meet your expectations and would assure you that we will ensure you have a great experience on your next visit.

We are now ready with our new lobby, bar and specialty Restaurant KARAVALLI which will be launched by the end of this month. We would be happy to post the images of these on trip advisor where you get the opportunity to view these.


We look forward to having you stay with us again soon and assure you of our best always.

Warm Regards

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This is an odd little hotel. It is a sub brand of the Taj group and meetrs the need of cost conscious customers. It is in the centre of the city.

It is not attractive. The entrance is on the side of the hotel. You feel you are going in via the tradesmans entrance. The reception is in a windowless small room. For breakfast you have to go outside and then up fire steps to a first floor room. All very odd. One other reviewer mentions it is being renovated. No one said anything about renovation to me when I was there.

It has an old fashioned feel. Lots of brown furniture, old Axminster style carpets with buff and yellow colour schemes. Not at all imaginative or modern. It has that heavy 1950s feel about it which is not at all attractive.

Breakfast on Sunday - no waiters, no cooks. Mainly Indian food. On the Monday I asked for Sweet Lassi, and they made it for me! Overall breafast is only a little worse that would be expected at home. but odd there is no orange juice.

So I am afraid this hotel is not at all inspirational and provides guest with no positive reasons to want to return. It caters for those, especially guests on a low or fixed budget who have few choices. Not a good recommmendation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share a review about your experience at the Gateway hotel, Bangalore and I regret that we were not able to give you an excellent experience.

The hotel has been under renovation for the last couple of months and I regret you were not informed of this. The hotel is operating from a side entrance and a temporary reception area due to renovation and our main entrance is from the front of the hotel.

I understand your breakfast experience was not upto expectations and would personally ensure you have great experience if you would give us an opportunity on your next visit.

We are now ready with our new lobby, bar and specialty Restaurant KARAVALLI which will be launched by the end of this month. We would be happy to post the images of these on trip advisor where you get the opportunity to view these.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon and assure you of our best always.

Warm Regards

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My second stay here. It's a decent hotel. Taj have clearly identified their brands and this is their medium brand, so I must say it was good. The coastal restaurant had some great food. Also the breakfast spread was good. The lobby is undergoing renovations so access was through the banquet entrance, but that's okay. Overall a recommended hotel and would stay there again.
One more positive is staff and level of service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSA1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Right in the center of the city, close to malls, shopping, restaurants and sight seeing. For me, it was also walking distance to the office. Recently renovated (lobby still in process), and great service. Would recommend this hotel highly. Did not give it 5 stars because there were minor inconveniences due to upgrades.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#7 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#18 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#32 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
The Taj West End
#13 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road

Property: The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Address: No 66 The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#18 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#29 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,514 - ₹ 10,640
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•The Gateway Hotel is located in the heart Bangalore’s Business, Shopping and Entertainment district on Residency Road.•Winner of National Tourism Award three years in a row.•Select rooms designated as Green rooms – Part of our EARTH Initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Gateway Bangalore
Hotel Gateway Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing