We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Ranked #31 of 693 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

very well located right next to the MG road and where all the evening action happens. stayed here for three days last week. the reception area in undergoing renovation so they have a make shift room coverted into a reception. so if you are staying here for the first time one wonders whats this and whats going to unfold. !! But what unfolded was not unpleasant at all. the rooms are nice and the food is actually quite awesome.

i did in-room dining on all three days and the food quality was good and so was
the service.

breakfast in the morning is a very good and among the better spreads i have seen in some time. i guess the way its presented delighted me more than anything. fresh fruits and juices with indian and continental food spreads are a delight. and service is great. in case you are a working traveller and move out of the hotel for the entire day then this breakfast is just waht you need. was here on all the three days and on all the three days coffee takes awfully long time to come whereas it should have been the easiest of the things to come.

rooms are decently spacious thou i didnt have too much of a view being on the 1st floor so my window faced another building just ouside. ideally the top floors would have been better.

The hotel is right in the heart of the city. the airport is a good 90 to100 mins aways from here during peak rush hours. i made it in 50 mins early in the morning at 5am to the airport but its quite a distance and in banglores traffic now adays its important to map your time so that one doesnt get stranded.

checked out early in the morning at 5am in the make shift reception and my check out was faster than what would have happened in any good hotel with a good reception. well done on this count inspite of the restrictions.

overall a nice place and surely recommended. would i come back...may be but after i have seen another few hotels in the city and then choose one which suits me the best.

Room Tip: choose a room on the higher floors to avoid bumping into the next door building just outside your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayeshgadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

945 - 949 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel thrice, hence belive I am qualified to make a true and useful assessment.

There are lot of ways a bad experience can be narrated, but expressing something perfect is not always easy. I could have easily given it an " Excellant" rating and closed the review, but that would have been unfair.

Everything is great. Location can't be any better. Specially for thoese who belive a trip to Bangalore is incomplete without a walk on MG/ Brigade road. Room aren't as lavish but good enough to make you have a good time. Interiors are good. The entrance is not as elagant and probably you would miss a 5 star feeling. But the service compensates for everything.

Staff is extremly courteous and helping - so typical of any Taj Property. Food is great. Breakfast excellant. Commutation to and fro cant get any better than this.

Over all- Highly recommended for everyone.

Room Tip: The hotel is fully occupied most of the times. Hence, the rentals can vary greatly. Book in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radhsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I booked into hotel gateway on a special offer weekend package. The hotel was in major renovation which was a big put off and wasnt mentioned at time of booking. While weekend package benefits were good there was no "much needed" internet connection in room. Overall a very old hotel building undergoing renovation & lot of inconvenience.

Room Tip: Very close to main shopping area in Bangalore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharatMendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I went to dine at Taj gateway on 26th december.......The hotel looks ok and the lobby is small and some said that it is under rennovation......but the food is great......i just had a ride around the hotel....and was good....and have alot of space for improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anandkerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed here on business for 2 nights July 2011. The staff were pleasant and the rooms were roomy and clean. The food was good both breakfast and evening meals. The hotel itself didn't smell of mould although the whole area at that time of year does. £65 a night including taxes seems about right for the quality. The hotel is easy walking distance to shops etc.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dollywallop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#2 of 693 in Bengaluru
2,040 reviews
Rajajinagar
Sheraton Grand Bangalore Hotel at Brigade Gateway
Taj West End
#17 of 693 in Bengaluru
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
MG Road
Iris - The Business Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road

Address: No 66 The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > MG Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#18 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#29 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: ₹ 6,239 - ₹ 14,037 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•The Gateway Hotel is located in the heart Bangalore’s Business, Shopping and Entertainment district on Residency Road.•Winner of National Tourism Award three years in a row.•Select rooms designated as Green rooms – Part of our EARTH Initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Hotels.com, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TravelGuru so you can book your The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Gateway Bangalore
Hotel Gateway Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing