We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #14 of 668 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Texas City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

You don't get very many hotels such as this in the middle of the city where one side is race course and on the other side golf course. Beautiful rooms, and plenty of greenery around. Loved the 14th series room, great view. Short stay would have loved to stay for longer period of time. Food is not all that great, very average. Restaurants in neighbouring hotels has much better food.

Room Tip: 14th series rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balahyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them, is heartening which will encourage them further to deliver our best. I have conveyed your compliments to my team.

We have also shared your feedback on the food quality with the restaurant team and we assure you that the issue will be addressed.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End on your next visit to Bangalore..
Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager
The Taj West End, Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,153
    284
    74
    27
    15
See reviews for
301
266
104
771
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed at Taj West End recently, and by far this is the best hotel out there in Bangalore. Impeccable service, tropical resort like feel and pleasant weather made it a memorable stay...

Importantly, once you are in the hotel, you don't feel that you are just few feet away from main road. Its extremely quiet, serene and relaxing...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KalpitDubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them, is heartening which will encourage them further to deliver our best.

I have conveyed your compliments to my team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End on your next visit to Bangalore..
Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager
The Taj West End, Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The taj retains its "old world " charm while ensuring rooms are equipped with all conceivable modern comforts.
The staff are anticipatory, helpful and well trained.
The blue ginger offers great pan asian fare, while the coffee shop is also quite good.
What the hotel could do to improve is to build the ambeince in the main lobby area and advertise facilities availble more clearly.

Room Tip: rooms could be scattered. Ask for a garden facing room in a block close to the main reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nippik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them, is heartening which will encourage them further to deliver our best. I have conveyed your compliments to my team.

We have also noted your feedback on the lobby and the communication of facilities. We will definitely try to ensure that this is addressed.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End on your next visit to Bangalore..
Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager
The Taj West End, Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This was my second stay and it was just as good as the first one. The staff are so friendly and welcoming, it really feels like a home from home. I had a room in the main building which was spacious and well appointed. I love the extensive gardens in the middle of this bustling city. The pool is small but perfectly adequate and the water is warm !
The hotel is celebrating its 125th anniversary this year, it has come a long way from its early beginnings as a small inn - having said that: it has remained relatively small (less than 120 rooms) and that certainly adds to its charm. There are great restaurants - the Mynt produces excellent Indian cooking and the Blue Ginger offers the most wonderful Vietnamese cuisine. The hotel offers a taxi service which is more expensive than a standard taxi company but - unlike a standard company where you may get a call to inform you that there is no driver available - they are on time to drop you off or to pick you up.

Room Tip: The rooms in the gardens are a bit away from the main building - there is a buggy service to take yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACL3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them, is heartening which will encourage them further to deliver our best.

I have conveyed your compliments to my team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End on your next visit to Bangalore..
Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager
The Taj West End, Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed here recently on a quick visit to Bangalore and I cannot reccomend it enough. My room was huge, room service was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful and it was in a super location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them, is heartening which will encourage them further to deliver our best.

I have conveyed your compliments to my team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End on your next visit to Bangalore..
Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager
The Taj West End, Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 668 in Bengaluru
1,948 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#11 of 668 in Bengaluru
1,956 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
#10 of 668 in Bengaluru
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#17 of 668 in Bengaluru
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Property: The Taj West End
Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#7 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,940 - ₹ 28,502
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, TravelGuru, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing