We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Top Property With Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #8 of 651 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Top Property With Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed at Taj west end for one night during May 2012. We checked in at 2 pm and it took just 5 minutes at the check-in desk and we immediately went to the room. The room is lavishly furnished and big compared to the other 5 star hotels I have stayed in a metropolitan city.
Bathroom has a tub and all the necessary toiletries.
Room has a big balcony, a study table and a excellent bed. Room was quite with no outside noise and we slept comfortably.
During our stay we had dinner at Masala Klub which is an excellent restaurant with great north Indian food.
We enjoyed the pool and the pool boy got us complimentary mango shake. After bath we ordered the pakoras and enjoyed them eating near the pool.
Didn't have time to visit the bar lounge and other facilities.
Overall an excellent stay backed by top service.
For my next vacation I would be staying at a Taj property.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waytoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from all of us at the Taj West End.

I would like to thank you for your kind words of appreciation further to your visit to The Taj West End.

Each and everyone have conveyed their grateful thanks for your kindness of thoughts and words of encouragement which in turn will continue to motivate them to travel the extra mile at all times. We always endeavor to instill this passion and commitment among the team members and am really glad to know it made a difference to your experience of the stay with us.

Thank you once again for your wonderful message and we look forward to welcome you and your guests back to the Taj West End again soon.

Thanking you,

Yours sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager
The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    247
    63
    20
    12
See reviews for
226
207
98
668
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Recently I happen to attend a birthday bash in this hotel. Right from the entrance I was given guidance where there are empty slots to park my vehicle. In the parking slots the security has the whole knowledge about all the party halls and location.
Once we entered we were served with an lemonade which were not from the normal preservative ones.
When it comes to the arrangement of the party, the graffiti were not so good. But still the Cake and other foods items looked fresh and welcoming.
I would recommend this hotel for any kind of party.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkshobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great party with us and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them, is heartening which will encourage them further to deliver our best.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End on your next visit to Bangalore..
Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore 560 001, India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is a fabulous hotel located in the heart of the city. It’s a very well preserved property and dates back to the colonial days. It almost does feel like a jungle resort within the maddening city that is bangalore, with the careful preservation of the greenery all around and the elegant manner in which the resort blends into this. The service is impeccable and the rooms are quite big. All in all, a truly delightful hotel and very different from a business hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the heritage wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAGTVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from all of us at the Taj West End.

I would like to thank you for your kind words of appreciation further to your visit to The Taj West End.

Each and everyone have conveyed their grateful thanks for your kindness of thoughts and words of encouragement which in turn will continue to motivate them to travel the extra mile at all times. We always endeavor to instill this passion and commitment among the team members and am really glad to know it made a difference to your experience of the stay with us.

Thank you once again for your wonderful message and we look forward to welcome you and your guests back to the Taj West End again soon.

Thanking you,

Yours sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager
The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

first day here and i am already having a good feeling about this place.

nice and serene environment that blocks out the hustle and bustle of the street is like an oasis in the midst of a desert.

staff are all very friendly and helpful and the service is impeccable.
truly wonderful and impressive!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from all of us at the Taj West End.

I would like to thank you for your kind words of appreciation further to your visit to The Taj West End.

Each and everyone have conveyed their grateful thanks for your kindness of thoughts and words of encouragement which in turn will continue to motivate them to travel the extra mile at all times. We always endeavor to instill this passion and commitment among the team members and am really glad to know it made a difference to your experience of the stay with us.

Thank you once again for your wonderful message and we look forward to welcome you and your guests back to the Taj West End again soon.

Thanking you,

Yours sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Yes, the grounds are green and lush in the middle of a city with 8 million residents. The hotel is 125 years old, but where I stayed was certainly not! Having said that, this was not a sophisticated renovation of a heritage home. The room was fine, but not particularly comfortable. The service was sleepy, but pleasant.

The rate, now that there are so many new hotels in Bangalore, was reasonable for what you got. With they had taken the outrageous profits that earned a few years back when people had to fly to Chennai because they couldn't get a room in Bangalore- and really done a stylish renovation. With some imagination, this place could be a gem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepid88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor and also for posting your feedback. Without constructive feedback from our guests, it will not be possible for us to measure the quality of services and products provided and make necessary improvements.

We have noted your feedback on the rooms and the service and i have also shared the same with the rest of my team and would like to assure you that the concerns will be certainly addressed.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End on your next visit to Bangalore.
Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore 560 001, India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bangalore
The Oberoi, Bangalore
#1 of 651 in Bengaluru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#6 of 651 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ITC Windsor, Bengaluru
#14 of 651 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
#12 of 651 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#13 of 651 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Property: The Taj West End
Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,296 - ₹ 19,842
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Taj West End 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing