We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Thai flavours !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Benjarong

Benjarong
Ranked #219 of 10,838 Restaurants in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
756 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“True Thai flavours !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

The current seafood festival advertisement drew us to this Thai restaurant on Ulsoor Road. The food was authentic in taste, aroma, presentation. Service was 'speedy gonzalves' - which is a good practise for a Sunday, when the luncheon turnout is in large number ! The ingredients and fish was fresh and carried the right flavours - unlike in other restaurants where one can clearly distinguish between frozen and fresh. The liquor list was limited and the beer not chilled enough. Ambience good and staff courteous and quick to clear tables before the next item appears before you. Overall a good experience. The elevator is the only means of entry/exit - somewhat disturbing in case of an emergency.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank puchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    56
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good ambience, nice but not outstanding food - overall nice afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I've been to Benjarong in Chennai so many times - its impossible to not compare it to this outlet. The Chennai outlet is fab - nicer decor, warmer staff and somehow tastier food. This one - is also nice - but somehow the food is not impeccable. The starters are fine, so is their pad thai and rice noodles - but the basic green and red curries leave a lot to be desired. The red curry chicken was so sweet - felt like a Punjabi butter chicken!
Their lunch menu is worth it though - for something close to Rs 400 per head - you get a welcome drink, starters, main course steamed rice and desert. Its pretty good. You could tell them to make your curry spicier or more flavourful. Its definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LazeeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Food in Bengaluru”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

this is our second visit to the restaurant, the 1st being, in Feb 2011. the atmosphere is very good, with lots of privacy.
service here is good, waiters don't hover over you, but they are there when you need them.
the starters on the house called Miang Khun is very delicious and very Thai-like
we ordered chicken tom yam soup, pandan leaf wrapped chicken, fried prawns in sambal, mango salad,bamboo shoots, noodles, and rice. (probably a little too much for the 3 of us as we had to pack the noodles as take-away).
the pandan chicken was succulent and cooked just right, and we tried the bamboo shoots for the first time and lied it very much.
they also serve lemon grass tea - free.
a very memorable outing at the Benjarong, Bengaluru

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jegaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Loved the food here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Great Thai food. We had lunch here and loved the food. I understand the lunch buffet is also great...waiting to try the same soon. Must visit, if you like authentic Thai food!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shashi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

I had visited their Chennai restaurant a couple of years ago and had loved the food there so decided to visit their bangalore restaurant as well. to start with, they served us some sort of appetizer wherein you take a lettuce leaf, fill it with peanuts, roasted and shredded coconut, red chillies, ginger, onion and a sweet sauce and pop it in your mouth. it was quite light and good. the starter we ordered was a thai spring roll kinda thing which came piping hot and served with a hot and sweet sauce. this was great too. for the main course we ordered the thai green curry and jasmine rice. the quantity was generous for 2 of us, the curry nice and the rice sticky as expected. the curry had all the ingredients you'd expect if having it in Thailand, which we loved. skipped dessert as we were satiated by then. it was a working day so we skipped alcohol too. we were seated on their covered terrace overlooking a few bunglows on the other side of the road with lots of foliage cover. given the bangalore weather, it felt great!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank prashantkataria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benjarong also viewed

Bengaluru, Karnataka
Bengaluru, Karnataka
 
Bengaluru, Karnataka
Bengaluru, Karnataka
 
Bengaluru, Karnataka
Bengaluru, Karnataka
 

Been to Benjarong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing