We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World-class services!”
Review of Caperberry - CLOSED

Caperberry
Price range: US$ 23 - US$ 47
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Caperberry, established March 2009, is the Signature Restaurant by Chef Abhijit Saha. A restaurant of highest international quality, Caperberry excites and provokes multiple senses. Innovation, premium quality and attention to detail are the essential guiding principles of Caperberry. Located in the heart of downtown Bangalore, it is a destination of multiple dimensions and showcases Modernist European Cuisine with elements of molecular gastronomy. In April 2014 Caperberry moved to its swanky new location in UB City. AWARDS • Best Standalone Restaurant in India, Time Out Food Awards, 2011-12 • Best European Restaurant, Times Food Awards, 2010, 2011, 2012 & 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“World-class services!”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I was on a business trip and decided to have dinner at Caperberry on the very last day of my trip. Took me about 15 minutes to get there from the hotel (Iris hotel) to this place. On arrival we were told that the whole restaurant was booked for a party that night (...my bad I didnt call and check beforehand). The manager felt so sorry for us and offered everything that he can. We were feeling frustrated at first but very soon the frustration turned into satisfaction and warmth! thanks for the manager for being sooo thoughtful and attentive. We were told about their sister restaurant ( see my other review on Fava) and the manager was being very helpful in arranging transport for us and made sure we got a seat there. During the wait for the transport we were served with a glass of wine and endless snacks (which was really yummmyy....)....feeling so warm!

Just for this world-class service I would surely recommend this place to everyone! and I wish I had the chance next time to visit Bangalore and try my luck again at Caperberry!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    37
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“wine with food”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

the alcohol and the food go really well.the choice of wines are plenty.

Helpful?
Thank glory1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Just the best in Bangalore. Exceptional food”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

If it were in Europe it would be very close to deserving a Michelin star. Innovative food, but using modern “molecular gastronomy” methods very well for some dishes. We both had “simple” starters - me a pear, walnut, manchego cheese, and rocket salad, my husband a sweetcorn soup. Both perfect. For main course we both chose the duck - cooked “sous vide” and was just melt-in-th-mouth. Stunning. For dessert my husband had the Spanish churros - a real favourite of ours - and they were good, but not the best we’ve tasted. I had the Cryo dessert - a creamy cranberry foam “cooked” in liquid nitrogen, instantly freezing the outside whilst leaving the inside creamy. Gorgeous.......

I really don’t understand why Caperberry is not the top restaurant on Tripadvisor for Bangalore, as the quality of the produce, the skill, and the variety, is second to none in this city.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mulqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“World class quality at Indian Prices!”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This unassuming restaurant located next to manipal centre does not give a whiff of the food to come when you walk in.
We ordered the "Famous duck" which comes specially farmed from delhi, the Basa fish dish and the seafood paella, all of which far exceeded our expectations.
The flavours were distinct and specific with obvious thought and resaerch gone into each recipe and the quality of food was superlative as were the quantities.
The icing on the cale was that our waiting staff did not give stereotype answers like "everything is nice" when asked for an opinion and actually helped advise about each dish and also what he thought was better between two dishes etc. I think molecular gastronomique definitely works!

Helpful?
Thank lm1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Overrated !”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I went there to celebrate my wife's birthday. The place is right next to MG road but the croud is almost NO. Although i like secluded place but the loneliness gave me a worry.
However the services were friendly and the menu was big. I had a tough time to choose from a'la'carte' , so i called the head waiter. Now he insisted on some of the cuisine which we were not found of, however we ordered as per his recommendation.
The pasta with cheese was very hard and chewy and could not enjoy till the last. The pizza was just Ok and we ordered a mock tail which was not at all tasty.
The staffs were curtness to bring us a cake with a big announcement and it saved us a grace.
This pricey restauarnt is not worth the value.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saish746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caperberry also viewed

Bengaluru, Bangalore District
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
 
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
 
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing