We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Frisco-themed hotel in Bangalore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SFO Hotel and Suites
Ranked #26 of 563 Bengaluru B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Frisco-themed hotel in Bangalore”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times during the last six months, and found it to be a good option as a moderately priced business hotel. It is in the Jayanagar area of Bengaluru, and since there don’t seem to be too many other hotels in this area, I’d strongly recommend considering SFO if you have business in this part of town.

In terms of facilities, I would echo comments by other reviewers: rooms though smaller (but not small) in size have all the usual amenities: LCD TV, coffeemaker, minibar, safe-deposit box. Basic toiletries are (shampoo, lotion, soap) are provided in the bathrooms. Breakfast selection is good, and the quality of food in the Pier 39 restaurant is also satisfactory.

I noticed that this hotel does not always show up on travel sites in online searches, so it’s a good idea to contact the hotel directly to check for availability.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    33
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
3
2
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed at the SFO based on reviews on TA and must admit,the hotel is a nice one,bang on the main road with all amenities close by in the locality of Jayanagar.Check in was handled by a couple of confused staff who kept telling us a different tariff whereas we had been booked on a completely different tariff.Thankfully it was sorted out by the time of checkout.Room is modern and nice albeit a little small.Bathroom has a separate shower cubicle.The hotel is by no means a budget hotel going by their tariff,but they are hell bent on charging for every small thing.

Room service menu is exorbitant.A basic meal for two in the room cost us close to INR 700.This was when I was introduced to the host of hidden charges that this hotel charges(fleeces)its guests.There is a service charge component added,I would call it forcible tips,no matter whether you are pleased or not with their service,you are forced to pay it.Next we called in for a cup of coffee and voila there is a service charge even on that.Totally absurd and atrocious.Food was just average,nothing great but definitely edible.Prices were over the moon.

I notice that the bathroom did not have any amenities and when I called up housekeeping they send a person to tell me that shaving kit etc would be charged.Now that is totally absurd.Thumbs down for me.Either keep them or dont keep them,dont tell a customer if you use it you will have to pay for it.By now I realised that I need to be extra vigilant when it came to billing as anything and everything seemed to have a charge built into it.

We did not use the restaurants so cannot comment on it.The place plays host to a lot of office parties and lunches as was evident from the crowd.The staff are earnest and sincere but very untrained and they definitely can do with some grooming and training sessions.

Parking available and there is a valet as as well.

At check out the saga of hidden charges continue.I see that there is a percentage charged on the total room tariff as service charge(yes yet again!-do not confuse this with the govt service tax which was levied separately).On enquiry the person at the counter mumbled something and I made out that he had no clue what he was speaking about.When I demanded a reply(I am generally a no fuss traveller,but here I was fed up of paying for all these non-existent services which was a total ripoff)the check out supervisor tells me that the hotel charges a service charge on the total tariff as rates for housekeeping-Now that takes the cake,you pay an extra service charge on inroom dining,you pay for the toiletries and amenities in the bathroom,and to top it all you have to pay for housekeeping as well.So I wonder what is the explanation for "room tariff".I am definitely not going back there ever.I dislike hotels who are not upfront about their tariffs and keep building into their tariffs.

Overall be prepared to pay up approximately 22.5% extra(on top of your agreed tariff).Phew definitely displeased with the place.If it wasnt for these charges,the place is nice with ok staff and good rooms.

There is a letter inside the room stating that it was the dream of the hotel owner to return to India and build a hotel-well not sure if the dream included all these adhoc pricings as well.Such a show stopper to an otherwise good place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor as the top floor has the gym and the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lifeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Del Rey, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

An incredibly enjoyable stay in an outstanding hotel. Clean, well-apoointed rooms, friendly, fast service, delicious room service selection, delectable breakfast buffet--this place has it all. I could not have been more pleased. I look forward to staying again. I even extended my stay one additional evening simply so that I could enjoy the breakfast buffet one more time. Kudos, laurels, blue ribbons--they deserve them all.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgr57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Excellent hotel with good ambiance. Each floor is designed in a particular theme / resembles unique things you find in SFO. Food in this hotel is one of the best in bangalore.
Except for the non availability of pool and gym, this hotel has all the things needed for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CochinNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangli, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This hotel located in 5th block jayanagar, Has a beautifully interior and excellently designed rooms which is worth staying for a business class.. good Food and Excellent Amibence and excellent services by the hotel and Good Liquor and has good mexican food and italian food with lots of variety and changes.... It is really woth staying and enjoying ... Has lot of flavours of liquor and juices and mocktails and cokctails... with mouthwatering non- veg dishes....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinay_kumarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Pai Comforts, JP Nagar
Hotel Pai Comforts, JP Nagar
#162 of 662 in Bengaluru
118 reviews
1.7 km away
Quality Inn Shravanthi
Quality Inn Shravanthi
#145 of 662 in Bengaluru
136 reviews
1.0 km away
Treebo Select Jagadish
Treebo Select Jagadish
#122 of 662 in Bengaluru
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Grand Continent Hotel
Grand Continent Hotel
#106 of 662 in Bengaluru
104 reviews
1.4 km away
Aurick Hotel
Aurick Hotel
#419 of 662 in Bengaluru
84 reviews
1.5 km away
Treebo Crystal Castle
Treebo Crystal Castle
#130 of 662 in Bengaluru
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SFO Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SFO Hotel and Suites

Property: SFO Hotel and Suites
Address: No 24 46th Cross | Jayanagar 5th Block, Bengaluru 560041, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,232 - ₹ 6,265
Hotel Class:3 star — SFO Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SFO Hotel & Suites is the South Bangalore’s Business Boutique Hotel with San Francisco Spirit and San Francisco Style. We have 36 Rooms (Executive, Club and Suite) beautifully designed to meet the requirements of today's business travelers.We have 2 restaurants, 1. Cable Car - Pure Veg Restaurant with dedicated veg kitchen serving India, Italian, Chinese and Thai. 2. Pier39 Restaurant on the 5th Floor - Veg and Non Veg Restaurant with bar attached serving Mexican, Indian and few choices from the Global Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip so you can book your SFO Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing