We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Purple Lotus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Purple Lotus
Ranked #44 of 512 Bengaluru B&B and Inns
Belgaum
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The staff is very friendly, soft spoken . Rooms are really very good, spacious.Very good ambiance They have to improve on the breakfast front and slight maintenance like plumbing in the bathrooms has to be taken care periodically

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pulse9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to share your experience with others. I am very happy to hear you had pleasurable stay with us. We hope that we can serve as your home away from home should you pass through Bangalore again!

Warmest Regards,

Krupa
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    69
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
58
50
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in April 2012.

Had a Superior room with a King bed. Room # 9042. Breakfast included.

Location - location is central in Bangalore. Walkable to lots of shops and restaurants. It's at the end of a quiet lane so no traffic and is very quiet. My fourth floor room had a rooftop view which gave a sense of space and light.

Room - Polished concrete floor which gives a clean and modern feel. Spacious, nicely fitted out, comfy bed, table and chairs, kitchenette, writing desk, good lighting options. Key lock safe. Flat screen TV with a lot of channels. Small mini-bar selection. Bathroom was modern and clean. Everything worked and was clean. Good strong wi-fi signal that worked every time.

Service - The staff were really really helpful and friendly. At times the language was a slight issue, but this was mainly with asking for things at breakfast. Reception were great. They arranged a ticket to the IPL for me with zero problem. Housekeeping were good but you have to ask if you want your room cleaned. Leave the "Make Up My Room" tag hanging on the door in the morning.

Food - Breakfast was quite good but breakfast service was not so great. Not that the staff weren't trying or willing to help, it's just that things weren't replenished when empty without asking. I came to breakfast quite late every morning and every morning had to ask for one or more of fruit, yoghurt, crockery, tea, bread. No problem at all when asked for but management could do well to train the staff to replenish without having to be asked.
Had room service one evening and it was good but way overpriced compared to restaurants nearby. Overpriced for India - it was still less than $10.

The restaurant / breakfast space is nice. Sort of indoor / outdoor with a lovely water feature. Nice, relaxing place. There's also a yoga studio if that's your thing. Equipped with mats and blocks and air-con.

Whilst at the expensive end of the range for India, unless you're going for the real luxury Taj, Oberoi or similar, this is still good value for Bangalore. Whilst there I looked at a number of other hotels - Regaalis, Nandhini, 9MarksInn, Sundance Apartments, Sri Lakshmi Comforts - and Purple Lotus, whilst being a bit more expensive, is worth it. Modern, clean, comfortable. Will return if I'm back in Bangalore.

Also, if you want a local guide who knows everything about the place and is a great guy, then I found a rickshaw taxi driver who is a gem. Honest, friendly, cheerful, reliable and a lovely guy. He took me all over the place wherever I wanted to go and was happy to wait for me. He also showed me some local, non-touristy places and waited for me whilst I walked around there for a few hours. Just daily Indian life which was the most interesting thing for me. Made my Bangalore stay more interesting and easier. Mr. Rhabi - (91) 09341702719. Totally recommend this guy. He can also arrange cars and tours if needed.

Room Tip: Higher floor room gives a feeling of spaciousness here with views over surrounding rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
David,
Thank you for visiting us (all the way from Perth!) and taking the time to share your experience with others. I am very happy to hear you had pleasurable stay with us. We hope that we can serve as your home away from home should you pass through Bangalore again!

Warmest Regards,

Krupa
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

SmallBoutique Hotel with nice suites, furniture of very good taste all new and clean, bathroom in perfect conditions, good internet wi fi connection. Continental Breakfast was wonderful to me as I am from South America and we dislike food smell at breakfast. Located in one of th ebest places of Bangalore I went fro business and was close to everywhere. Helpfull and polite staff.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Romyana,

Thank you for visiting us (all the way from Argentina!) and taking the time to share your experience with others. I am very happy to hear you had pleasurable stay with us. We hope that we can serve as your home away from home should you pass through Bangalore again!

Warmest Regards,

Krupa
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Even after reading the other reviews of this property, we were very surprised by this wonderful boutique hotel. It is bright, clean, well maintained and creatively designed. The rooms are very large...and the concrete floors in the rooms are GREAT!!! At this price, to have a microwave, fridge, great wireless and cable TV, etc. is a real bonus. It is a close walk to shopping, parks, restaurants, etc. The beds are the most comfortable we've experienced out of the five hotels we've stayed at in India over the past two weeks. When one walks off the nearest street and down the little dead end to this hotel, the temperature drops perceptibly, and the noise of the city disappears. The rooms are well appointed with lots of closet and drawer space, and a convenient desk for the business traveler. The staff are very service oriented, friendly and helpful when it comes to getting around town. If I come back, there is no doubt that this will be the hotel that I'll book.

Room Tip: Each floor has a room "6"...see if you can get it. Lovely view out the plentiful windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PCforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to share your experience with others. I am very happy to hear you had pleasurable stay with us. We hope that we can serve as your home away from home should you pass through Bangalore again!

Warmest Regards,

Krupa
Owner / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Though some of their tariffs are equivalent to 5 star hotel, it is important to note that this is a upscale service apt. The good thing about this apt is that it is on a dead end street which means the noise levels are lot more subdued and so is the traffic.
Given that Bangalore is a foodies paradise, their food choice and rates are out of whack. For ex. their Thali( equivalent to business lunch) is Rs. 500. If you walk down the road, MTR which has a legendary name serves thali at Rs. 100 and Khusboo's across the street serves from Rs. 90 onwards. Even Rajdhani which is located in the upscale UB city mall serves eat all you can for Rs. 250.
They serve continental breakfast which is good enough. I didn't pay for it as it was part of the room. Room cleaning is on request and not automatic. It is difficult to describe but you get a feeling that they are trying hard to be a 5 star but they naturally fit family run. When you charge Rs. 500 for a thali and quite a bit for taxi service, the expectations also goes up quite a bit.
One advise to the management-- based on the past reviews and my own experience, the autodrivers have fleeced quite a bit of us. It makes sense to put up on your website or send a note to the guest in advance on average cost of travel from airport,train station. This way the guest is informed.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Karjanmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
Melange Astris
Melange Astris
#140 of 651 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
HM Suites & Studios
#111 of 651 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Koramangala
Casa de Bengaluru
Casa de Bengaluru
#165 of 651 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
Komfort Terraces Business Boutique Hotel
Ulsoor
juSTa Off MG Road, Bangalore
juSTa Off MG Road, Bangalore
#45 of 651 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Treebo Stylotel by Jagadish
#129 of 651 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Lotus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Lotus

Property: Purple Lotus
Address: #46, 6th Cross, Lavelle Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 512 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,377 - ₹ 6,429
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purple Lotus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purple Lotus is a family owned and run boutique hotel in the heart of Bangalore. We offer luxury at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ClearTrip, TravelGuru, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Purple Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Lotus Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing