We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacful stay in otherwise chaotic Bangalore...”
Review of Purple Lotus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Purple Lotus
Ranked #33 of 563 Bengaluru B&B and Inns
Doha
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Peacful stay in otherwise chaotic Bangalore...”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The property is located in a peacful locality... We were glad to be here...Each room is well appointed and the restuarant area is beautifully done.. Overall the property is fabulous and we would definitely like to go back again...

There is a yoga studio in the ground floor... I believe the owners have taken care while designing the property...

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.178953868870950.28419.177943715638632&type=1&l=6fc9b94ffe

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dats_Abhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for sharing your photos via Facebook. From the photos, it looks like you had a fabulous journey and I am glad that we could be a small part of it.

Best,

Krupa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    72
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
59
51
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Purple Lotus in December 2011 and early January 2012. This hotel is a slice of heaven. I don't know what I loved more, the jazz playing in the open courtyard, the incredibly friendly staff or the amazing, hot, strong shower that I took daily. I loved, loved, loved this place and I'm known for being (slightly) high-maintenance when it comes to hotels. It is located close to UB City, tons of restaurants and shops yet has a peacefulness to it so you can leave the craziness of the city behind. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms were big, comfy and very clean. I can't wait to go back

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BSK221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for the very kind words. After previous feedback on our shower temperature we took measures to ensure that it remains hot and gets to the rooms (especially top floor) quickly. We hope to see you back in Bangalore where a hot shower will always be waiting for you!

Best,

Krupa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed at this beautiful place for 6 nights from the end of December until the beginning of January. While being driven to the hotel property, I thought that the hotel would be busy and loud. I was wrong. The hotel, while situated in the busy area of Bangalore, is tucked in a very quiet dead end road. The decor (complete with waterfalls and lotuses!) is very calming that you'd forget that you're only a few minutes away from all the action. MG Road, UB city, a whole selection of restaurants and shops are just within a 5-10 minute walk. The room was spacious and well decorated (not to mention, well lit!). The staff was very accommodating - they brought me orange juice and soda at 3am so I could make vodka orange and vodka soda (bring your own alcohol!), and brought the drinks to the rooftop to enjoy the view of Bangalore at night.

Definitely highly recommended and I would definitely stay there again when I return to Bangalore.

Room Tip: The rooftop at night with a drink in hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As a boutique, unfortunately, we don't have a liquor license (only wine), but am glad you were able to BYOB and enjoy the rooftop! We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Krupa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We really enjoyed our 4 day stay at the Purple Lotus in December. Our room was perfect -- clean, modern and large with a comfortable bed and great bathroom. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The Purple Lotus arranged an easy transport from the airport when we arrived very early in the morning. We had a delicious breakfast each day, served in the open and airy dining area next to a floating garden. The charming boutique hotel offers a nice respite from the hectic rush of Bangalore. This was our favorite hotel in India.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mxblvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and positive review. Glad to hear you had a good visit and we hope to see you soon!

Best,

Krupa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of December/beginning of January. The place is truly an oasis from the loud, bustling streets of Bangalore. The beautifully-done surroundings with waterfalls and lotuses and the open-air design instantly relax you. We took a yoga class one morning in the yoga studio and had massages done as well. The staff were friendly and helpful. The history of the space made it even more special, as it was the site of the home of one of India's freedom fighters and ministers of agriculture.

It's perfectly located, as it's a short walk from MG Road, UB City and other gems. Opt for one of the king suites with a view of UB City--it's worth the extra cost. The rooftop space was great for watching the sunset. We'll be back again next year!

Room Tip: Go for the king suites on the top two floors for a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkrishnaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
As a family run boutique, we rely 100% on satisfied customers like yourself. It was my pleasure arranging the yoga class for you and I hope you are able to keep it up! Hope to see you and your husband back in Bangalore soon!

Best,

Krupa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
Melange Astris
Melange Astris
#143 of 662 in Bengaluru
178 reviews
Koramangala
Grand Mercure Bangalore
Grand Mercure Bangalore
#62 of 662 in Bengaluru
459 reviews
The Park Bangalore
#54 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity Suites
#9 of 662 in Bengaluru
362 reviews
Domlur
The Paul Bangalore
The Paul Bangalore
#21 of 662 in Bengaluru
669 reviews
Richmond Town
Oakwood Premier Prestige Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Lotus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Lotus

Property: Purple Lotus
Address: #46 6th Cross, Bengaluru 560001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,651 - ₹ 5,555
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purple Lotus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purple Lotus is a family owned and run boutique hotel in the heart of Bangalore. We offer luxury at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Purple Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Lotus Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing