We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I do not appreciate the moral policing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #169 of 644 Hotels in Bengaluru
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I do not appreciate the moral policing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed at The Empire Hotel at Church Street with a friend. We chose this particular hotel for the superb location it offers. It is situated in a wonderful place close to some really great pubs, restaurants, discotheques and what not. Moreover, I love the food at the Empire restaurant so I was looking forward to a pleasant experience.

The staff at the reception was friendly, but I was a little uncomfortable when he repeatedly asked me if only two men would be staying there. We were given a room only when he was sufficiently sure that it would only be us two gents.

The room itself was very ordinary, although the air-conditioner was good. My friend and I were lucky to run into two friendly young women who were also staying at the same hotel. The 4 of us had dinner together at a restaurant nearby, and came back to the hotel. Since all of us had had a tiring day, we decided to exchange facebook contact information and retire to our rooms. But I later learnt that the hotel staff was constantly monitoring our actions over the CCTV cameras, and came hollering at us when we were exchanging emails.

I found this very very unpleasant and a complete invasion of privacy. The hotel staff claimed that it was against "hotel rules" to get friendly with other guests - how utterly ridiculous!! I was appalled at such a "talibanistic" treatment meted out to us.

I would never stay at Empire Hotel again, but would rather prefer similarly priced alternatives even if it would mean compromising on the location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank GoogieGoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    31
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
26
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Clean, well presented room with bathroom. Friendly reception staff. Good location. Busy restaurant downstairs with room service available.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

empire hotel is more known for its food quality.. its a hotel that values the money and iis affordable by middle class people.. apart from a comfortable stay you wil get a yummy food..

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aadibangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

Great food especially Empire special Kabab and Fried Rice, Food is very Hygenic and tasty overall a great hotel to spend weekend with loads of Delicious dishes.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Makmasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

Hello Folks,

Although you don't expect the hotel to be very charming and luxurioes but to my surprise it was very cosy.
Nice rooms,clean washroom,polite staff.
Food was awesome and service was excellent.
Very nic to stay if you are looking for inexpensive accomodation.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DipsyShekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
FabHotel Legacy Brigade Road
FabHotel Legacy Brigade Road
#254 of 644 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
The Signature Inn
#152 of 644 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Safina Hotels
#513 of 644 in Bengaluru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinna's Residency
#238 of 644 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Richmond Town
Vellara Hotel
Vellara Hotel
#62 of 644 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Hotel Tiara
#185 of 644 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 78, Central Street, Infantry Road | Opp BRV Theater, Bengaluru 560001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 644 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,274 - ₹ 1,877
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ClearTrip, Expedia and TravelGuru so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing