We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hot spot”
Review of Hotel Shangrila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Shangrila
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Faridabad, India
2 reviews
“hot spot”
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We booked this hotel for our weeklong stay
it was the time of my birthday.we enjoyed there too much as i love cool places.afterall it was the swarg of earth

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chirag999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shangrilaladakh, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Shangrila, responded to this review, 18 June 2015
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for the feedback.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Hotel Shangri-la Ladakh . We hope to see you soon in the near future and wish you the best . Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    23
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
14
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Staying at Shangrilla was comfortable , they give hot water only between 6to 9 am and 7 to 10 pm,inbetween the hot water stopps once the boiler gets empty.
even heating systems works only between 7 to 11 pm, if the room is not sufficiently heatedup, you will feel the great chill of Leh.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JITEN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shangrilaladakh, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Shangrila, responded to this review, 18 June 2015
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Shangri-la Ladakh !
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Providing our guests with the best possible service and hospitality has always been our mission. Today, Shangri-la Ladakh is a 3 star luxury , with running hot/ cold water 24 hours. Our rooms are bigger and better with central heating . Next time you come, we promise you will have a very good experience . Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biella - Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Quite a recent hotel, and a good base to explore Leh and surroundings. It is a tidy and not squeezed place like others hotels I saw in Leh. No view from rooms and common areas.
The plus is the restaurant: we always had, lunch and dinner, quite an ample choice of buffet food, ranging between acceptable and very good, we were also asked for any preference in the afternoon, and then the requested plates were prepared for the whole public! The team (restaurant and reception) is the best I ever experienced, also including 5 stars places! Rooms are ordinary, bathroom and especially shower are very good. Cleaning can be rated no more than acceptable. Hot water is limited to mornings and evenings, and electricity backup is limited to the hours between 7 and 11 pm.
The weak point: location. Even if still at a walking distance from Leh centre, it is one of the most distant places, needing a good 15 minutes walk, in mild ascent: this is not nice at 3500 meters!

  • Liked — Team
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobyTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shangrilaladakh, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Shangrila, responded to this review, 18 June 2015
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Shangri-la Ladakh!
Thank you for reviewing our property .We at Shangri-la Ladakh believe in providing the best possible hospitality and service . There has been drastic changes since few years at Shangri-la Ladakh. Today , all our rooms are centrally heated , with running hot/cold water 24/7 .Electricity backup timing is 6 A.M till 12 mid night or as the need be even if its at 3 A.M . Our new block has larger rooms with good view . We are the only hotel with capsule lift in ladakh . I hope if you visit us next time , you walk out the door feeling refreshed and relaxed. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leh hotels
1.1 km away
The Druk Ladakh
The Druk Ladakh
#16 of 74 in Leh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Royal Palace
Hotel Royal Palace
#58 of 74 in Leh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.7 km away
Grand Himalaya
Grand Himalaya
#24 of 74 in Leh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#15 of 74 in Leh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Singge Palace
0.3 km away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangrila? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangrila

Property: Hotel Shangrila
Address: Old Road Sheynam | Near Petrol Pump, Leh 194101, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Leh
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,000 - ₹ 10,200
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shangrila 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A star luxury hotel in Ladakh. The hotel has 45 rooms . 4 Shangrila suites, 23 Deluxe rooms,18 Super deluxe Rooms which are spacious and cozy and have attached baths with shower running hot and cold water. Outside the rooms there is a courtyard where you can sit, relax and enjoy snacks as well.The Hotel is centrally heated.You are personally attended here by the manager of the hotel and the staff here treat all visitors as special guests and is always eager to show you the warmth and hospitality of the Himalaya. We are the only hotel with capsule lift in ladakh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shangrila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangrila Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing