We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
vavasthi
Bengaluru, India

Good, but can improve

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Oct 2017
We stayed in this hotel in September of 2017 for two nights. The hotel is located in a very good location; one can just walk about a kilometer on Old Leh road to reach the Main Market. The hotel has ample parking space. The rooms are decent.
Hotel guys did help me in getting permits to Nubra Valley and Pangong at a fee.
The food is the most disappointing aspect of the hotel. We did have an instance of stomach upset.
Other major problem that we had that the credit card machines were just not working that caused us some hardship since we ran out of all our cash at the hotel. The SBI ATM is just outside the hotel, but still one expects ATMs to work in a 3-4 star hotel.
All in all, it is a decent hotel but some service improvements it can become better value for money.
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹7,434
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹7,434
0.5 km from Hotel Shangrila - Leh
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹26,035
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹26,035
0.5 km from Hotel Shangrila - Leh
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹22,520
₹20,667
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹20,667
1.2 km from Hotel Shangrila - Leh
Free parking
Restaurant
₹6,053
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • MakeMyTrip
  • Expedia.com
    ₹6,053
1.2 km from Hotel Shangrila - Leh
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹23,698
₹10,424
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
5.4 km from Hotel Shangrila - Leh
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₹15,562
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Hotel Shangrila - Leh
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹23,614
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Hotel Shangrila - Leh
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹6,423
  • MakeMyTrip
1.1 km from Hotel Shangrila - Leh
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹14,989
  • StayForLong
1.1 km from Hotel Shangrila - Leh
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹6,905
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Hotel Shangrila - Leh
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Leh
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
53
27
23
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
27
23
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safe parking space beautiful property memorable experience visited ladakh amazing food rooms are spacious comfortable stay hospitality ajay services cooperative luxury behaviour ambience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Stayed as part of a group. Some rooms were dirty, with dirty bed linen and poor lighting. Other rooms were quite reasonable. Some rooms had a view, other had none. Quite a walk into town, mainly along a busy dusty street. I think there are probably better options in Leh.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cr7London
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

I was in the hotel for 5 days. The rooms are quite good and the corner rooms have great views.
The food here is very good.I probably had the best butter chicken in my life here.
The staff is very good and they have a very good sense on hospitality.
I totally enjoyed my trip here.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nikhil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2017

The hotel was a pleasant surprise, though a small property, the staff is very well trained at par with a 5 star hotel in Delhi or Mumbai. The food was excellent and so was the Hospitality. Our special thanks to the Manager Raj Thakur, who ensured each moment at the hotel was a wonderful experience.

Compliments also Ranpal Singh, the F&B Manager!

Room tip: The rooms on third or fourth floor facing the mountains/valley, we were in #304, which offered an excellent view..........
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashwanikumard2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Pleasant weather and good Hospitality can make your outing perfect. Luckily, we had both. Shangrila Hotel offered us very warm service and customised food on demand. We were group of 17 people with some of them not taking even onion. We were served special food on demand. Staff was very helpful all the time. Rooms have proper heating. View is OK.Suggest manager/supervisor to be more interactive/open with the guests.Market is at walking distance. Suggest traveller to keep one good warm jacket. Put on clothes in layers. Must carry warm clothes while going to Nubra Valley/Pangong lake. Weather changes very fast from shining sun-snowfall. We were stranded for 3 hours at 15,380 feet(Khardungla).We enjoyed Chilly wind and Snowfall there. Leh is must visit trip with out of the world experience of nature, all type of hills, rivers, lakes,monastery. Good part of Tubelight movie has been shot in Leh.

Room tip: Main building(reception) has lift to all floors
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sanjayspn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Its a big business hotel - we stayed in a Super Deluxe Room - Rooms are spacious - or may be with some additional rooms without any specific use!!!!

Rooms and bathrooms are clean and neat - with proper room heater etc

Staffs are fine - but you won't get the real hospitality of Leh people in this hotel !!!

Limited options in buffet - if you are a non-veg person - then its bit difficult - sometimes they may not even keep non-veg dish on buffet - on request will be served on table...

Good part is its in the middle of the town - Leh market is just 1 KM away - so multiple good eateries are outside

There is no lift in their new block - so be prepared to take steps for 2 floors....

Overall its a comfortable stay!!!!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank htk_mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews