We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but can be Excellent...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cho Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cho Palace
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Leh
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good but can be Excellent...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Pros:

1. Excellent view.
2. Near to Airport.
3. Very friendly staff.
4. Hot water and breakfast availability were good.
5. Spacious room.
6. Good taste of food.

Cons:

1. far from market.
2. Exorbitant high price for ala carte food, tea and mineral water.
3. Dim lights and No fan (staff told fan is not present in any hotel room in leh)
4. High priced taxi pick up for market.

Suggestions:

1. Daily Pickup taxi to and fro market should be provided.
2. Price of food menu should be reduced.
3. Bigger tube lights and if possible fan should be provided in the room.

Keep improving!!

Room Tip: double side view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaineshB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    29
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

While booking the vacation, the travel agent has suggested that is very close to the Airport and market place. However, after reaching at the hotel, we realized that the hotel is at the worst location where we do not have any market place nearby and we are at the mercy of hotel staff to provide any quality of food or for any necessity.
After checking-in, Hotel staff told us about the sporadic elctricity and water supplies but assured us that they have all the alternative arrangments in place but within 2 hours, the power was cut-off so we requested them to start the generator but staff refused that and said that it could be done only in the night so, we had to be in dark for the next 8 hours and this had been a scenario for almost every day. Even in the night, they had the provision to provide electricity for only 2 hours.
Because of cold weather, we needed hot water for usage but the hotel has a policy to provide that only from 8 AM - 9 AM and from 6.30 PM - 7.30 PM. So, if any site visit requires an early departure on a day, there was no provision to get ready in the hotel.
The cleaning staff had also been very lousy and for two days, they had not cleaned the room and later they did that after having an arguement with them.
The positive aspects of this hotel had been the friendly attitude of its head chef and the view from its first floor cornered rooms.
Rather, I will recommend any hotel located on the Fort road (Main bazaar) for their proximity to the market action and availability of regular utility supplies.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank njaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I was there in the month of May 2012 on the ocassion of my 1st wedding Anniversary. To be frank there was nothing much that can amuse me or any couple in terms of location, class, cleanliness etc etc. I told them to get my room/bed decorated but they were unable to provide so but later on they upgraded my room to suite with some little decoration. I liked that.
Not much space in the rooms, the location is v bad but the rooms has mountains view since Leh is surrounded by all mountains only. Go with Room No 9.
Hotel staff is very good and cooperative.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hi_itsmepiyush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohali, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed at this place in the second week of June for 2 nights. Hotel is located quite near to the airport. The Staff is helpful and serve with smile. Also, the food is good. They serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner in Buffet, but can deliver food in your room if you request so.
The room was very clean and spacious and so was the Bathroom. Hot water was avalilable in the bathroom. Room had basic amenities like Lcd with TataSky, Cupboards with dressing mirror. Leh Main Market is also Nearby.One Drawback was the Very frequent Power cuts as the hotel does not has sufficient Power backup.

Room Tip: A Good Hotel, Excellant Stay in any Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kichi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We visited Ladakh between 20th to 26th May, 2012. Right from the time we landed at the spectacular Leh airport to our departure, they took care of all the small details. The car was waiting at airport, when we reached the hotel, tea and breakfast was ready! The rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable with magnificent views of the snow covered mountains. The buffet food, had some variety and was very palatable. They carefully packed lunch on the days we went out (Chicken sandwich, fruit juice, chocolates, bananas and boiled eggs). We did not expect these at 11,000 feet. We were on AP package, 7days. The vehicle provided was well maintained and the driver was an expert. The camp they provided at Hunder, Nubra Valley was also good. The hotel staff were very friendly and well mannered, and they always kept out out of the way requests. Thanks a lot for making our trip so memorable.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Saptarshi_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leh hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Gawaling International
2.3 km away
Hotel Lingzi
Hotel Lingzi
#11 of 73 in Leh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Chube
Hotel Chube
#7 of 73 in Leh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#10 of 73 in Leh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Caravan Centre
0.7 km away
Yarab Tso
Yarab Tso
#12 of 73 in Leh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cho Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cho Palace

Property: Hotel Cho Palace
Address: | Village Skara, Near Badami Bagh, Leh 194101, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Leh
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,100 - ₹ 3,700
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cho Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and Travel Business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cho Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cho Palace Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing