We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Namgyal Palace - Leh is a good option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Namgyal Palace
Ranked #62 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Namgyal Palace - Leh is a good option”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Nice Property, suits the pocket when you are at this wonderful place - Leh. One should ideally check into their suite room, costs about Rs. 4000/- during off seasons. Best time to go to Leh is June & July. Lot of places to see. Best part about the Hotel is food. Very good food as other places in Leh - food is something one might struggle with. I think people there use some different kind of oil so one takes time to adjust. Also the altitude creates some problems. Food at this hotel is delightful. Homely food and service is very apt. One should definitely check into this hotel when you are in Leh. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pranaygandhi1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    30
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Our's was a package tour and our staying arrangment was made in this hotel and we stayed there for 8 days. By seeing the architecture only, we feel that we have landed in a very good place. First imprssion is long lasting. The hotel is well maintained, neat and clean and looks beautiful. Staff members attend you with smiling faces and are alway ready to help. Centralised heating system is not available but they try to compensate it with hot water bags. Mostly we had Indian food there and it was more than ok. However, the packaged food provided by them for long journey needs improvement. Personally I feel, instead of providing packaged food, as it becomes cold and hard due to climatic condition, they should tie up with some hotels on the way so one can have hot food.
Location of the hotel is very good and we get panaromoc view of the mountains. We cetainly have good memories with this hotel, so big thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajesh_kamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We 4 friends planned a vacation in Leh.After reaching Leh after a tiring journey from Srinagar we started looking for decent accommodation in Leh City. We saw hotels like City Palace,Fakira but somehow could not get what we were looking for. Finally we reached Hotel Namgyal Palace and it looked beautiful from outside.Reception at hotel was also nice.After some negotiations we could got a good deal and we selected this hotel for our 6 nights stay.
We were bit surprised and embarrassed when 4 girls arrived to pickup our luggage as we are not used to see girls in such job however hotel manager told us that this is the way in Ladakh region and we need feel bad about it.
Rooms were nicely done and comfortable to stay however trouble started next day when we got up little late and found that water in bathrooms was chilled.When we inquired with reception we were told that hot water is available between 6 AM to 8 AM as there is only one boiler in hotel and water in same gets over by 8 AM and it takes another 2 hrs to water to boil again.However on our request they provided us bucket of hot water.
In evening we visited hotel's restaurant and again we were bit surprised to know that they provide only buffet option and do not have menu to choose and again we need to negotiate with them to provide us some dishes as we did not wanted whole buffet.
We stayed for 6 nights in this hotel and felt even though the services were not excellent but hotel management was very accommodating our requests.I would definitely recommend this hotel to people who look for hotel accommodation with decent budget option.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naveengoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
german in yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We went with friends for a weeks trip to Leh. It was still quite cold in mid May. In standard double room first night. For rest of week in larger suite room. Great room with amazing view. Bathrooms adaequate for Indian hotel. No central heating (only one hotel in Leh has central heating). Warm water between 6 and 8 am + pm. Being mid May it was stiil preseason and cold. Thermals where essential. Hotel food excellent. Some chaotic service at times and I as lucky as my friends spoke Hindi. English very basic. If you in Leh don't expect much luxury and a friendly chaos. The scenery makes up for any inconveniences.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janpki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Stayed for 12 days recently in a rather cold Leh (temp -10 C at night). The hotel staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. There are only two suites but they are worth the extra cost. I think the rooms were Rs 3900 (£65 per night). Standard room Rs 2600 (£40). Room service is available but one has to know what to order as there is no menu card (or at least there was none when we stayed). There is no restaurant as such though there is place to have breakfast. Centre of town is a five minute walk with some good places to eat. Hot water is available only between 6-8 am and pm.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rina-menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leh hotels
1.8 km away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#14 of 75 in Leh
170 reviews
0.9 km away
The Mogol Hotel
The Mogol Hotel
#31 of 75 in Leh
35 reviews
0.4 km away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#11 of 75 in Leh
161 reviews
0.5 km away
Ladakh Continental
Ladakh Continental
#36 of 75 in Leh
69 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Glacier View
Hotel Glacier View
#10 of 75 in Leh
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Namgyal Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Namgyal Palace

Property: Hotel Namgyal Palace
Address: Fort Road, Leh 194101, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,512 - ₹ 6,188
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Namgyal Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Namgyal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namgyal Palace Hotel
Hotel Namgyal Palace Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing