We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service in a peaceful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Caravan Centre
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
DXB
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent service in a peaceful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Came to Leh with a biking group and this was our base for the Leh/Khardung La/Nubra/Leh circuit.

The hotel was pleasantly surprising with its exceptionally friendly and attentive staff. The rooms were very spacious and the food was good (but not outstanding), and the best part was that the buffet breakfasts and dinners were non-repetitive.

The hotel facilities itself are roughly 2-star (probably 3-star level for Leh), but their service levels elevate them to another plane altogether.

If at all there is any cause for complaint, it would be the quality of bed linen and the slightly gaudy blankets they use.

Like a lot of Indian hotels they also tend to keep giving the impression that they are fully booked when they aren't. Probably helps them get better rates that way. I was disappointed because we stayed one day extra at our own cost on top of the included days in our tour package, and we had to cough up the FULL rack rate with no discount for the same.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the back of the hotel. Request for rooms overlooking the lawn. Carry your own soap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravanCentre, Owner at Hotel Caravan Centre, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
We are thankful for the time taken by the reviewer to share his staying experience at our hotel. It is heartening to know that we were able to provide him a kind of service and comfort level that he commends so generously. We also take note of his observations about some shortfall in the hotel facilities, thus helping us to try and improve upon, as we always do.

However, we take exception to the reviewer’s preposterous idea that Indian hotels fake their booking / occupancy position so as to attract better rates. He specifically mentions that that we gave a false impression the hotel being full so as to charge him the full room rate for staying a night beyond his booking. Apart from being an insensitive and sweeping remark against India’s hoteliers in general, it is a contradictory perception, simply because hotels invariably offer better discounts to attract clients if there are vacancies. Similarly, we would be offering better discounts to attract guests for filling up vacant rooms rather than charging the full published room rate, as mentioned by the reviewer.

In order to set the records straight, we feel that the background of this issue must be briefly recounted for the benefit of the readers.

The reviewer was member of a biking group from the Middle East, originally booked at our hotel with a 6-room inventory for the period of 16 - 20 June, 2012. But when the group finally reached Leh, its strength had increased to require 10 rooms. Since we did not have the additional vacancy, the group had to adjust within the available rooms and the organizing / support team had to stay in a nearby guest house. On 18th June the group left for an overnight trip to Nubra Valley, but the reviewer had to stay back for some reason and we had to somehow accommodate him for that extra night. Despite being full, we accommodated the reviewer by sending another guest of the hotel on an overnight trip by rescheduling his tour program. In this background it’s unfair of the reviewer to ignore our positive gesture, but to take it as the basis of his illogical viewpoint that we fake our occupancy position for charging the full room tariff.

Writing and posting reviews about travel-related issues and experiences is a good gesture and useful for travelers. But using popular platforms like Trip Advisor to denigrate hotels for not being able to derive benefits or incentives for any kind of self-serving reason is neither good for future travelers, nor for the destination. We urge all reviewers to be factual, unbiased and just in their appraisal of hotels and services, so that the readers are better guided in their holiday planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    71
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
62
37
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Our trip to Leh was absolutely fabulous and the stay at Caravan Centre was a great experience. They organised our entire itinerary for us, including a night of camping at Nubra Valley & Pangong Lake - both of which were clean and beautiful, just as they had promised. The itinerary sent to us was detailed, specific and well-thought out, and it was obvious that they had put a great deal of effort into planning our trip. All we had to do was literally show up!! Everything else was taken care of.

Since the season was starting up, the hotel was still undergoing some maintenance work but what we found really commendable was the kindness and generosity of the staff and the owners - all of whom were always going out of their way to make our stay more comfortable. They were careful to warn us about health concerns and they actually resolved plumbing and television issues even as late as 10 PM without us even asking for immediate repair! We enjoyed chatting with the staff and they always went out of their way to pack little lunch boxes and lemonade (on special request) for us so we could eat while we were on the road. The driver they had arranged for us was caring and alert and not to forget, a really really good driver!

Simple, clean, comfortable with a welcoming atmosphere. Would definitely recommend this place for people traveling and looking for a warm and happy environment and a place with character.

Room Tip: There's no elevator and climbing even one flight of stairs will definitely have you huffing and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radhika_Jhaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

This was my second stay at the hotel. Earlier visit was in 2009 and the second was in 2012. The hotel has improved a lot in services and ambience. The staff is cooperative and the food is very good. I wish if i get a third chance to go to leh i shall stay in this hotel only.-Sanjeev singh

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjeev s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

My family and I stayed here for 5 nights in Sept 2011. There was a mix up as to the day we were to arrive, and the arranged airport transfer was not waiting for us. When we called the hotel there was nobody available that spoke passable English, opted to hop in a cab and go to our hotel. The owner reimbursed me for the cab, which was nice. Other nice aspects to consider: the food was very good. My children do not like Indian food, and the staff always accommodated us as best they could. The hotel arranged a driver for us to see the local sites and the price was very good, and the service friendly and professional. When my wife and son acquired acute mountain sickness due to the extreme altitude, they arranged for a doctor to visit us. Some things to note: hot water is sporadic. The doors to the rooms are very thin and flimsy and sound travels through them easily. We were awoken every night when other patrons returned to their rooms. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They really did everything they could to make us comfortable, and showed real concern when we became ill. You cannot do better in Leh than this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravanCentre, Owner at Hotel Caravan Centre, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
The only purpose that this review can serves is to confuse the readers: is this "the best you will find in Leh" as he puts it, with caring staff and a considerate owner reimbursing airport taxi transfers, with 'good food' and "friendly & professional service". Or is this the worst hotel to be in, with 'sporadic' hot water and 'flimsy' doors? Is the reviewer mixing up his experience of statying in several different hotels in several places? After all he has written the review after more than 7 months since his Leh sojourn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

one of the best places to stay in Leh. Cozy rooms with all needed amenities, Beautiful gardens, Great view from each room, excellent service and amazing food.
It value for money of you stay here.
A quite and serene environment away from the busy town still close to it if needed.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fadevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.8 km away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
2.2 km away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
2.2 km away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Singge Palace
0.9 km away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.7 km away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#10 of 74 in Leh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravan Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravan Centre

Property: Hotel Caravan Centre
Address: Skara Road, Leh 194101, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Leh
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,091 - ₹ 8,248
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravan Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aesthetically built in the traditional architectural style of Ladakh, Hotel Caravan Centre is set amidst serene ambiance of Skara, an exclusive part of Leh, capital of Ladakh. It is conveniently located midway between Leh Airport (3 kms) and the City Centre (2 kms). Caravan Centre is a centrally heated "Deluxe-A" class Mid-Range Hotel, offering well-appointed guest rooms and suites, all with en-suite facilities, duly supported with professional management and personalized service, and enjoying the ambiance of a resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Hotel Caravan Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caravan Centre Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing