We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, wonderful and comfortable.”
Review of Hotel Kang La Chen

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kang La Chen
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Leh
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, wonderful and comfortable.”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

A great location, the hotel is well run, has large rooms and is very comfortable. There's hot running water about 5 hours a day. the rooms are clean and well maintained. The restaurant is fairly decent and turns out good food - breakfast is quick, and I'd recommend the home made apricot jam. The staff is very helpful, and will go out of their way to help. the apricot trees in the courtyard were in bloom while we were there, adding to the ambiance.

The property is in a quieter part of town, but only about 5 minutes walking from the market. It provides for some privacy and because it was built a while ago, has fewer rooms and smaller crowds than some of the other places I saw. Personally liked the fact that there was always some privacy and space around, as it is a fairly large property. There are great views of the Leh Palace from the rooms, and of upper Leh and the road to Khardung-la from the roof.

The staff are always cheerful and helpful.

The last operating spring in Leh (so I've been told) and the main source for water in the winters is right behind the hotel, and you're likely to see people filling up drinking water from the spring and carrying it in carts to various parts of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor (it only has a ground and first floor) for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RV_1_9_4_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A charming and very personal hotel near the center of Leh City, friendly and helpful staff and large and clean rooms.We consumed halfbord and the food was excellent. Mostly vegetarian, but very tastefully. There is a nice garden with apricot-trees behind the hotel for taking a tea or coffee or simply get sun. This. hotel is no place of luxury but surely one of the best places in Leh for a few days stay.

Room Tip: I would prefer a room on the first floor, not on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerryfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

A very well located hotel just about 5 minutes walking distance from the Leh market and yet set on the side for one to experience tranquility of the himalayas! The hotel staff is warm and the rooms are clean with clean bathrooms. The hot water supply in the bathrooms is available for 2 hours each in the mornings and evenings. During peak capacity, the hot water can finish before the 2 hours slot, so it is advisable either to shower in that time slot or fill-up a couple of buckets to get a bath later! Food at the hotel was tasteful and hygienic. We were visiting Leh and Ladakh for 9 days and the meals were inclusive in the stay arranged by Rimo Expeditions. Which was a bliss, as we did not have to go looking around for hygienic, quality food on a tough and tiring trip like Ladakh. Buffet is laid for both breakfast and dinner. For Breakfast there was a choice of eggs, cereals, breads with organic bottled juices of local fruits, tea and coffee. Vegetarians usually had a choice of paranthas, poha, sandwiches and toasted breads served with butter, jams, sauces and pickles. A-la-carte menu was served on lean capacity days. We sampled Chinese, Indian and continental cuisines during our stay. There is small garden within the premises of the hotel where one can lounge, relax with evening tea and soak in some, much needed fresh mountain air as one feels breathless even while doing the routine tasks like going up and down the staircase! One can stroll down to the Leh market which is very close to the hotel, even when one is not acclimatised! Even though the smell of the diesel (from generators used for electricity) is everywhere in Leh, it could be still be refreshing to go and unwind while window shopping as there is not much else to do within the Leh city! It is advisable to carry torches with lasting batteries as the power cuts are common at night. The rooms did not have any room heaters but when requested the helpful staff gave hot water bottles to keep cozy through the night!

Travelling around Ladhak for over 9 days took us to many hotels which were very basic, mainly because they are situated in deep interiors, almost at the foothills of the Himalayas where there is serious dearth of modern amenities, that we are so used to, in the cities. Coming back from there to kang-la-chen, everytime, treating it like a base camp before embarking on another destination within Ladhak, gave a feeling of coming back home! Warm and welcoming!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGtravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

we stayed at this hotel with another couple during our trekking trip. Although we usually stayed out for most of the day, the rooms were very comfortable, and we had a great night's sleep. (Very important for trekking trips).

The food was good, they had many cuisines available. There was not much variety for Vegetarians though. The hotel was also close to the city markets.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paul9831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
1.1 km away
Thongsal
Thongsal
#41 of 75 in Leh
93 reviews
1.0 km away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Ladakh Continental
Ladakh Continental
#35 of 75 in Leh
67 reviews
1.1 km away
The Mogol Hotel
The Mogol Hotel
#32 of 75 in Leh
33 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Lingzi
Hotel Lingzi
#16 of 75 in Leh
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kang La Chen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kang La Chen

Property: Hotel Kang La Chen
Address: Sankar Road | near Main market area, Leh 194101, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Hotel Kang La Chen Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing