We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$ 51
FindHotel
eDreamsUS$ 51
Trip.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
512
33
10
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
512
33
10
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr adnan his team nigeen lake shikara ride house boat the owner home away from home great hospitality visit kashmir traditional kashmiri take care wonderful person felt like home memorable experience heaven on earth the entire trip cab driver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

Our first vacation to Kashmir came to an end yesterday & what a memorable vacation it turned out to be. we stayed for 5 nights at Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats & it turned out to be a Masterstroke. All credit goes to Mr. Adnan.. from making perfect itinerary & suggesting what to see to where to shop & how to bargain.. he guided us really well. The arrangements made by him were out of this world. cook Mr. Hilal served delicious food. caretaker Mudassir was always on his toes to help us. we went to Gulmarg, Phalgram to witness the breathtaking beauty of kashmir & thoroughly mesmerised by it.
& while doing so, we faced no problems or restrictions whatsoever.
during these pandemic times, entire houseboat staff take proper precautions.. they use sanitizers & wear masks all the time.

Do visit kashmir & to get the authentic feel of the heaven on the earth, stay at the houseboat instead of hotels as the view you get from the deck of the houseboat is simply out of this world.
you will surely fall in love with the heritage property with all kinds of facilities. we will definitely come back again to stay at this group of houseboats.

highly recommended Akbar heritage houseboats!!!

Best Regards,
sunita,
maharashtra.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sunita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021

Hey guys, we visited Kashmir in March last week,2021. We stayed at Akbar houseboat. We were very happy with our decision to stay in houseboat on Nagin lake vs Dal lake. We had a shikara ride from Nagin lake to Dal lake which crosses floating garden and village..it was a beautiful 4 hrs ride to and fro. The negative part was the shikari boat interior was very bad with torned curtains and cloth on boat top which ruined our signature kashmiri shikara boat picture. I wished Adnan would have arranged a better shikara. I found Dal lake more touristy wherein Nagin lake is more calm and u will see less people around. Houseboat has traditional local interiors and breath taking views of lake from the houseboat. We loved the food at houseboat..it was homely and fresh. I will highly recommend to have your meals at houseboat. Thanks a lot to chef cum caretaker Mr. Hilal and special thanks to Mr. Adnan for the warm welcome and wonderful gestures which made our stay very special. Thanks Adnan for your hospitality.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ashibhansali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2021

We had visited Adnan and his houseboat of a trip in December. This time we wanted to go back with family, so me , my wife , my brothers family and our parents rented the whole houseboat for 2 nights. Adnan as usual excelled in his hospitality. He had reserved the same houseboat for us from our last visit. He even arranged the same driver Kamran for our entire trip. As usual his houseboat feels like home away from home. Adnan and all his team put in a lot of effort to make our stay comfortable as well as memorable. Thank you Adnan for such wonderful hospitality. We will surely visit again.

Room tip: All the rooms in the houseboat are good.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhatnagar_Nitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2021 via mobile

Stayed at Akbar heritage houseboats for 6 nights from 1st april to 7th april 2021. This was our ninth stay in Akbar & one of the most memorable experience.
     Although in such a difficult condition where the entire world is surviving to fight with Covid-19, the world's ultimate paradise..kashmir..is simply beyond all this to provide you comfort & much needed peace from all stress & hardships. during these pandemic times, the staff of the Akbar take extra health & hygiene measures to ensure utmost safety of each & every traveller. they compulsory wear masks. they sanitized all their houseboat rooms regularly & wash all linens in high temperature wash. you can rest assured that you are in safe hands!
    Akbar HB is a true value for money. Incharge of the kitchen, Mr.Hilal.. easily the best cook in srinagar.. was extremely helpful in making sure that food was customised as per our requirements. Breakfast each day was unique with many options. Dinner served was hot, delicious & healthy.
     As usual, Mr.umar drove us around many beautiful places in his innova & kept us entertained with his witty humour & stories.
     Review would be incomplete without mentioning Mr.Adnan.. the kind hearted owner of Akbar. words are not enough to describe the hospitality offered by him. when you stay at akbar, you don't need to worry about anything.. simply call adnan & everything will be taken care off !
     Thank you all for a memorable vacation.
       

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank HrushikeshP19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2021 via mobile

Thank you adnan and team for making this our best trip ever and we promise we will come back every year! After reaching there, my 10 year old daughter told me that she couldn't believe that she was here!!We experienced beauty & hospitality beyond our imagination , such is kashmir and such are its people !
We stayed in akbar houseboat for 3 nights, and the place, the hospitality everything was unforgettable. Adnan, who runs the houseboats, helped us finalize our itinerary in kashmir and he also arranged for an excellent driver during our stay, hussain, who became more like a family member in these few days when he drove us to gulmarg and pahalgam. To say anything about adnan will be less, one needs to meet him to know him and you will like to come back coz you know this person will go out of his way to make you feel at home. The staff at the houseboat, Yassin who was managing the arrangements in the houseboat, and the cook Hilal were so helpful and friendly and made our stay so homely that when we8 were leaving on the last day, we felt like we were saying bye to our relatives whom we will meet in next summer holidays!! I have to also inform that the property was very neat and clean and very very well maintained. The bathrooms were super clean with super hot water. Food was like home cooked, delicious meal every time.
The highlight was the view from the porch, Please watch my pics to know what I mean! You can't get these views from anywhere. Not just the sunrise view, but the night view of the mountain range too.
I have no doubts, that I will visit kashmir every year now and will stay in no other place than this!!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lmlvespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews