We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Kashmiri ambience”
Review of Dastan Houseboat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dastan Houseboat
Ranked #157 of 601 Speciality Lodging in Srinagar
Reviewed 18 May 2016

big room ,big bath room, and the total house boat is decorated with kashmiri handicrafts . from curtain to bed cover and from wall to carpet.However it is a group house boat so you may not get same property all time but I think all are similar in standard. However only con is no buffet breakfast and very ordinary complementary breakfast.I have booked this property for my relatives for 10th May 2016

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnab14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We were holidaying in Kashmir and Dastan houseboat was our first stop. We were 4 families and the houseboat was like a big bungalow accommodating all of us. The living area was beautifully done with carved walnut tables and comfortable sofas. The dining room could seat all of us and we had all meals together, which was a great start to the holiday. All bedrooms were very comfortable with a 3rd bed for the child and electric blankets. Food was like home cooked as the caretaker asked for our preferences before every meal.

The houseboat had 2 shikaras which was supposed to transport us. The caretaker tried to accommodate all of us in 1 trip, which is against the law (only 4 adults allowed in 1 shikara) and was fined by the CRPF. He was upset saying he does it all the time, and has never been fined. He refused to realise that it is a matter of safety. If you are traveling in a shikara, please ensure that it is not overloaded for your own safety. The lake is 25 ft. deep.

Overall, a very pleasant stay and set the tone for the rest of our holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IrisBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015

We stayed there with family few years ago during the month of Aug-Sep for 5 nights. Well decorated wooden rooms. Foods offered were not good. It was a wonderful stay although. Great view of Dal Lake. Enjoyed!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rahul_Kayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

We stayed in the House Boat Called “Kings Rose” which was out of this world. Beautiful interiors, each room has been decorated well taking care of each item which includes a Hall, a Dining Room, three bedrooms and a Sit-out. The attached bathroom has a bath tub too. Had been through Kesari Tours and Travels and food prepared was awesome. We stayed there over for two nights and we wished we could have stayed there forever however my job beckons me back at Mumbai. A good place to relax and enough leaving your worries back at home. I will once again go back there for re-living the same once again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Suresh I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0 km away
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
#5 of 139 in Srinagar
1,158 reviews
0 km away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#15 of 139 in Srinagar
358 reviews
0 km away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
0 km away
Hotel New Mamta
Hotel New Mamta
#40 of 139 in Srinagar
70 reviews
0 km away
New Bul Bul Group of Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dastan Houseboat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dastan Houseboat

Address: Dal Lake, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 601 Speciality Lodging in Srinagar
Price Range: ₹ 6,665 - ₹ 10,190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Dastan Houseboat Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing