We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
11
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
2
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We stayed here for two nights and found the general atmosphere to be very relaxing. The owners were friendly and provided us with delicious meals throughout the day. The room itself was very comfortable and cozy, with a super clean bathroom. The view from the boat is absolutely stunning, and there is a nice front porch that is perfect for lounging.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rellie_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

I stayed here for a night on my way to Kargil (June 2015) The place was nice, good clean rooms and the people were quite pleasant. What kind of put me off was they tried to do too much "add on sales" like stones/ jewels etc. I understand that this is their bread and butter but once some one says no they should back off a bit. Although included in my package, they charged me for dinner. the food was quite nice and tasty. Lack of wifi made it a bit difficult. Liked it but won't stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glutton4_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

This is not the first time I've stayed here, and it was another excellent stay. The houseboat has large, clean rooms, with modern baths and an excellent location. The beautiful traditional decor makes staying here feel very special.The food was delicious, and the staff is friendly...really, they make you feel at home. They went out of their way to accommodate the needs of all of the guests. It's such a special experience to stay on the lake, and Hermes Houseboat makes it even more special!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

First of all the location of the house boat is very beautiful.
The amenities provided in boat is very good. Rooms were very well maintained and hygienic.
Food provided was good and the house boat staff members were friendly and very supportive.
Enjoyed the stay at Hermes Houseboat.
I suggest anyone to prefer this houseboat

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Rama S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were very skeptical on this whole houseboat experience on Daal lake, we were wrong! It is such a amazing experience, from taking the boats from the shore to the houseboat to waking up in the morning and having breakfast and then sipping on tea on the deck. The staff was super friendly and talkative, room and boat was very clean, especially the washroom. They have a tub, but it's the bucket and pale style, which we enjoyed. The room was breezy with the fan going, a bit hot during the day, but not too hot that we were sweating away. We were here for a wedding and had returned at the shore at 4a, still the staff rowed a boat to pick us up, what else can you ask for!

Here are some good to knows:
- they supply meals, water and tea only
- if you need sodas, snacks, cigarettes or anything else, there's a small boat that goes around the lake selling this stuff
- this place, there's no way to lock the door from the outside, a bit weird, but you just have to trust them, we always took our valuables when leaving anyway
- you won't get any A/C
- remember, you're on a houseboat, so if you need something, you'll to get a boat to take you, it's all charged through the hotel, really cheap and always available
- there's floating markets, floating snack bars, floating everything

If you're in Kashmir, you have to try the houseboat experience, and this place would be my recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank zkhoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews