We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Hotel with Awesome View and Excellent Staff”
Review of Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
Ranked #14 of 138 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We were 3 couples and we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during the month of March 2017. The hotel is situated on the banks of Nagin Lake with excellent view of Hari Parbat. The lawns in front of the Hotel would be excellent for evening tea but during our visit it had snowed at night so it was covered with snow.

The Staffs were polite and helpful. I would like to thank Mr. AB Hameed, Mr. Shabir and Mr. Imtiyaz for their hospitality and they ensured we had a great stay. Every need was catered to. We were hungry at 10pm and nothing was available outside due to Strike and Friday and they prepared Maggi for us even at odd hours of the night.

Breakfast was abundant and catered to both Vegetarians and Non Vegetarians. The staff ensured we had eaten well and made us try the Kashmiri breads and dishes as well. Although there were only 5 rooms occupied during our stay the breakfast layout was adequate and lots of variety to chose from.

Rooms on the 1st floor with a common room and lounges had an excellent view and we all loved this hotel.

Would definitely recommend anyone looking for a boutique hotel in Srinagar to stay here. It was a great choice as compared to houseboats for winters.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first Floor have lounges and common rooms with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rachneebkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2016

I stayed here for 1 night on last day of my Honeymoon trip to Srinagar. I must say staying here completed trip with beautiful memories forever. Hotel is situated on bank of Nagin Lake and from room you can view Hari parbat. Nothing can be romantic then watching the lake during sunset with your love. Rooms are well maintained and cozy. Staff is so friendly and helpful. I will highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: First floor room with lake view and hari parbat view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 296lavk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Over 30 years ago we lived in Srinagar, Kashmir. We lived near Nishat Gardens for 15 years studying the ancient philosophy of Kashmir Shaivism with Swami Lakshmanjoo. We had many fond memories of past times living in Kashmir.
My wife and I had reservations for 5 nights at the Hotel Dar-Es-Salam in July 2016.This was during the time when the curfew and fighting had just begun. We arrived at the hotel at 6 am and were warmly greeted by Imtiaz and Rafiq. They made our stay for the full duration very comfortable and calmed our concerns for safety. Although we were the only guests there they prepared the most delicious vegetarian Kashmiri food for every meal. They were also very interesting to talk to and gave attention to whatever we needed. They made our stay memorable and it was a wonderful way to spend our wedding anniversary during those difficult times.
One more thing to add is that the Guest house is well maintained with beautiful, immaculate and comfortable rooms. The gardens are beautifully manicured situated next to Nageen Lake with a very high wall surrounding it.

Room Tip: We loved the room we stayed in on the first floor to the left of the entrance door to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We were booked to go to Kashmir from 28 July to September 2, when trouble erupted in the valley and spoilt our travel plans- we had to cancel our entire trip.
When we spoke to the hotel mgmt and explained our predicament, they were so absolutely decent and gave us the full refund for our three booked rooms.
Thank you for being so prompt in your transfer of the money.
Kudos to the mgmt of hotel daresalaam,
I sure to enjoy your hospitality when it's possible for us to visit Srinagar .
Travellers these people are truly decent and their establishment should be patronised.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tripfilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Stay here if you want to get a real feel of what Kashmir has to offer. Located right beside the Nagin lake this hotel is full of old-world charm and nostalgia. Rooms on the first floor with lounges and sitting-out space have an excellent view of the lawns. Great food and personalised hospitality. Loved that they served so many Kashmiri bread with the regular eggs and omelette for breakfast. Their walnut cake and Kehwa is to die for. We stayed here in March/April 2015.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor with lounges and sitting-out space have an excellent view of the lawns
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sha_kaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
4.4 km away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar
4.6 km away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
5.5 km away
The Heritage By Heevan
The Heritage By Heevan
#20 of 138 in Srinagar
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
1.0 km away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
1.4 km away
Mascot Houseboats
Mascot Houseboats
#23 of 138 in Srinagar
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar-Es-Salam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

Address: Nagin lake, Srinagar 190003, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
#6 Business Hotel in Srinagar
#6 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range: ₹ 8,432 - ₹ 8,757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar-Es-Salam 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing