We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful gardens but littered!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mughal Gardens

Mughal Gardens
Ranked #7 of 70 things to do in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens but littered!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

These are some amazing things the Mughals left behind but our people are spoiling! Beautiful gardens and with amazing structure, flowers, fountains, etc. but littered by the local tourists! People swimming in the fountain ponds in their under clothes! Disgusting!

Another disappointment was that there were no signs or descriptions indicating what we were looking at inside the gardens or the history behind them. A recorded tour would also be nice if they were available for a charge!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kingrahul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    241
    98
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
pune
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Mughal garden”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The Chashmeshahi garden we visited & that was the 1st one we visited .we were stunned to see the roses.Even the other trees like Magnolia,Elcot etc was great & eye pleasing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gayatriPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place to be in.”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

A must see in Srinagar, the Mughal Gardens is a big garden, blooming with trees and flowers. Its nice to spend time here and one can spend a full day picnic here. we enjoyed, though time was a little scarce for us.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PavanSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside walls fool you”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

You can't judge a book by it's cover! You also can't stand in line wating your turn to get an entrance ticket, otherwise I would still be standing there! 20 rupees in hand pushed into the wicket hoping to get a ticket back - success! The terraced gardens and waterfalls are beautiful. The view from the top gardens enables you to see Dal Lake and the Mughal Gate. When I was there, boys were playing in one of the terraced water pools and having a terrific time. Be wary of the boys that offer to tour you around (for free), they really only want to take a picture with you and try to kiss you. Maybe it was my lucky day, but it didn't happen for him. There is also an outdoor area with mats and pillows on the ground to relax with a drink or light refreshment.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pashminagirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mughal Garden”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Nothing so great about it..just a time pass. I garden well maintained..

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mughal Gardens also viewed

 
Srinagar, Kashmir
 

Been to Mughal Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing