We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view, nice rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta By Taj Dal View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Ranked #3 of 129 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level Contributor
180 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Amazing view, nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

The place was renovated and new buldings were build last year so the main bulding is old and not attractive and the new ones as well as the pool area great .
Service is good . The food was good and again the view was very nice from the teracce. The room spacious with lake view. Overall a very nice place. Main problems not serving snacks and drinks in the pool!!!' not attractive common areas fe bars lobby etc

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    260
    66
    36
    20
See reviews for
492
285
22
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

I went there with my family in July. When we arrived at the hotel I couldn't stop glaring at the view. Brilliant. We were loving the hotel. We got an excellent driver from the hotel who knew every inch of the state. The room was very cosy and the area was very peaceful since it was on top of a tall hill. Although the service in the hotel was poor. It was not up to its name. The food wasn't up to its name either. For a hotel like Taj the service should have been much better. If you want to stay in the Vivanta by Taj Srinagar then you will only stay for the view. If you are looking for a hotel for the same price, go for Lalit Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sahas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

I stayed at Taj Vivanta Srinagar for two nights in June'12. This hotel has excellent location on top of a hill. There are two levels of the rooms. Lower levels rooms are useless. There is no view. I wasted my one night in the lower level room given to me on first night. Then on my insistence, the hotel management shifted me to the higher level room. This room had amazing view of the lake, Shankaracharya and Parimahal etc.. I was happy to find that the management was helpful though the front desk staff was rude and always lying to the guests. The Indian and Chinese food was excellent and service was damn good.

Overall, I was quite happy over my decision to stay at Taj Vivanta even though it was pretty expensive.

Room Tip: select the upper level rooms which have better lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkgoelindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

The best view in Srinagar. One one side you can see the entire Dal Lake, and the mountains on the other. The food and service is good, but can be a lot better. The rooms are big, and the bathrooms are huge. Great view from the rooms. Nice balconies. If you are planning a trip to Srinagar, there are mainly two places to stay, the other one being The Grand Palace. would rate Taj a few notches higher.

Room Tip: Choose from the rooms that are before the main block. Better view and easy approach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suneeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Well this property is the best property in srinagar. We were in doubt while choosing this hotel against Lalit, but once we enetered this hotel we became sure that our decision was not wrong, we also went to have a lunch in Lalit to confirm the same. And too our surprise Lalit is far behind Vivanta Dal View. May it be quality of rooms, may it be food, or the staff. Though Lalit is very big as its a palace, but still the Taj is the hotel to stay in. I must say that every thing was excellent over here. Staff was courteous and the food was just amazing. Located on a hill top this hotel provides a good view of dal lake as the name suggests. Though it is little far from main city, but anyways who would like to stay in crowded city. You must opt for a complete package provided by the hotel which includes airport transfers, one day sightseeing, breakfast and some meal coupons. The food over here is just awesome, also you can ask chef to cook as per your choice. I have already sent many of my friends and family members over here, and everyones experience was just the same.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishekgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.9 km away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
1.9 km away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
5.3 km away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
5.3 km away
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)
5.6 km away
Hotel Royal Batoo
Hotel Royal Batoo
#17 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta By Taj Dal View? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta By Taj Dal View

Property: Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Address: Kralsangri, Brein, Srinagar 191121, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Srinagar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#2 Business Hotel in Srinagar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
#5 Family Hotel in Srinagar
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,614 - ₹ 20,388
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta By Taj Dal View 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Agoda so you can book your Vivanta By Taj Dal View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta Dal View Srinigar By Taj Hotel Srinagar
Vivanta By Taj Dal View Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing