We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,243 results
Traveller rating
803
303
71
41
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
803
303
71
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshill topinfinity poollatitude restauranthill overlookingjade dragonpremium indulgence roommain buildingin room diningtulip gardenduty managerbeautiful propertyexcellent viewpanoramic viewrooms are hugef broom servicebreakfast spread
Filter
Updating list...
1,167 - 1,172 of 1,243 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The hotel is very good located .
The rooms are good .
The food is not good and service is very bad .
The front office team is very confused .
The stay is not at all value for money .
The hotel services is worst than 2 star hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank taruny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband, 4 month old son and I stayed at the Taj Dal View Srinagar for 8 nights from 8th to 15th June. It was our longest continuous stay at any property on a vacation. It was also the most disappointing (at best) and simply harassment (at worst). Leave alone luxury properties, we’ve had better service responsiveness in unequipped jungle lodges.

The good things first - the rooms are spacious and have an exceptionally beautiful panoramic view of the view of the Dal Lake. The breakfast served at the hotel is an extremely well prepared mix of South Indian, North Indian and International cuisine served efficiently and with a smile.
We however had a horror of an experience with the hotel staff- right from the property manager to housekeeping, all of whom were insensitive, inefficient and lacked the minimum grace expected from professionals in the hospitality business.
When we were welcomed into the hotel, we had explicitly told our ushering staff that our last few experiences with Taj have been extremely poor, and we were hoping to be proved wrong this time. We also mentioned we were travelling with our four month old for the first time and it was therefore a special vacation for us. The staff of the hotel went out of their way to ruin it.
Here's a summary of our experiences with some of the staff and services of the hotel:

Room Service: For ordinary requests like glasses/teacups/water bottles we had to wait between 15-30 minutes and make multiple phone calls to the helpdesk. A request for sanitary bags for safe disposal of diapers took three days to materialize and was then responded to without even a basic apology. Basic supplies like towels and soaps for not replaced regularly during cleaning of the room and in one instance, we had no toilet paper in the bathroom after a round of service. Once when we had requested for our plates to be cleared, the room service staff asked if he could do it the next day. In other instances, they kept ringing our door bell and phones at all the odd hours for feedback on food and clearing plates etc, despite several explicit and written requests for privacy as we had an infant with us.We were never offered the hotel’s feedback form at the end of our stay either.

In room dining: Since we were with an infant, invariably all our dinners were in our room. The in room dining menu was extremely ordinary and insipid, barring a few notable Indian exceptions like dal makhani and paneer lababdar. Once we ordered snacks into our room ( fries platter), which arrived stone cold. When I complained of the same, the gentleman raised his hands and claimed that the kitchen was too far away and couldn’t help us. Eventually we simply cancelled the order in disgust. nobody from in room dining called us back to apologize.

Rude Duty Manager: During one of our innumerable reminders for room supplies, a phone call was picked up by a gentleman named Vikas, who claimed to be the duty manager. When I appraised him that bubble bath in my room was missing (it had been around for the 6 prior days of my stay) and I requested him to send some immediately, his cold reply was that it was not put into the rooms by default and was available only on request and therefore the delay in delivery. A conversation with the room service pro and property manager revealed that it was supposed to be in room by default. I would recommend that senor hotel staff like duty managers read the hotel rule books themselves before they throw the same at their guests.

Air Conditioning not functional: We were outdoors during day time for most of our stay at the Taj, however once when we arrived back to our room in the afternoon, we found it unbearably hot with the temperature controller not functional. After 20 minutes of tinkering around in the room, the technician told us that the chiller in the room had been turned off by the hotel. Which luxury property in India would keep the cooler off in peak summer?

Male Cleaners in Ladies Room: A Cleaner, a gentleman named Mr. Hameed barges into the ladies rest room for cleaning twice in the span of 5 mins by announcing 'housekeeping' and without waiting for a response even a minimum 30 seconds , while I was nursing our 4 month old infant. I found this to be quite a serious breach of privacy and security and the hotel never came back to us on our written complaint regarding the same.

Travel Desk: was completely uninformed about interesting places that one could visit in and around the city and their suitability for a four month old .

Property Manager: We brought up the issue of the problems regarding service and the staff that we were facing with the property manager, a lady named Parveen Shah, quite a few times during our stay( both orally and in writing). Each instance was greeted with long silences followed by a lame apology, with minimum commitment or effort to look into our problems.
We had requested for national newspapers in our room every day, and the property manager personally promised that our request would be honoured in the evening as the newspapers arrived from Delhi. Needless to say,we never received them and even the local newspapers which were put into our rooms after several complaints disappeared after two days. The only time a national newspaper was delivered to our room was accompanied with a loud ring of the bell - exactly 5 minutes after my husband requested the property manager that we did not want to be disturbed.
We were sent an 'invite' by her office for a dinner on the last night of our stay - probably a freebie thrown at guests who complain too much or those who stay for long enough periods. Ironically, this invitation was discovered by my husband outside the room when he was collecting our in room dining order. There was no co-ordination between the property manager and her in room dining staff, on whether they should be collecting orders for a certain room and the invitation was not even slipped inside the room, leave alone handed over in person (when they were disturbing us for everything else!).

Billing instructions had been conveyed to the property well in advance of our stay but of course were not noted and we again received multiple calls from the checkout desk asking us to resend them even as our son was sleeping. Even basic decencies were missing in the staff- I would personally push my son's pram and bag around, but no help was not offered even on a single occasion. This contrasts starkly with the single visit we made to the Lalit , where the doorkeeper relieved me of the pram the instant i stepped out of the car

There were some exceptions to the in general poor staff at the hotel whose names I would like to mention:
1) Our hotel driver Zubair, who was exceptional in his understanding of the places in and around the city and to whom we credit all our pleasant outdoor experiences
2) Restaurant staff at Latitude, especially Shenaz Islam who was exceptionally sweet with our kid and whose warm smile in the morning made our day
3) Duty manager Iqbal, who tried to set things right on the service front, but was not backed up by his staff. He at least always had a patient ear and the decency to see us off in person at the end of our stay
4 ) Shivani at welcome desk, who very sweetly welcomed our little son with flowers and a cake and thoughtfully sent in an infant cot for him

We have sworn off the Taj after this experience. A $300 per night hotel stay with such a pathetic attitude to service from a leading hotel chain like the Taj leaves me feeling not just angry but also cheated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank gp2008Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

i stayed in taj vivanta for 3 nights 4 days and i was mesemerised with the property and beautiful views of the dal lake. the property is brand new and cottage style , very spacious rooms and huge bathrooms. the food was great especailly the buffet breakfast. the staff are polite and very courteous. Its a little away from the city but worth the drive all the way to the top. i liked it better than lalit in all aspects.

Room Tip: please check for a room which has unrestricted views of the valley and dal lake.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Hi
We were a group of seven people including a child. We reached the hotel at 1pm on june5.
The hotel is located on a hilltop!.
Since we had prebooked the rooms in advance ( Do'nt even think of a spot reservation..they are fully booked), we were expected but the reception told us to have lunch at the restaurant ......till our rooms get ready? It was 4PM --almost three hours . Finally we got our three deluxe delight rooms. We were pretty miffed but as soon as we reached the rooms !!!! wow , what a view! Our exasperation vanished. The rooms had a massive space and the toilet was excellent with separate shower and bathtub areas. the backyard was a small garden overlooking Dal lake and full of seasonal flowers.

we could see almost all of Dal Lake and many historic places from the hotel .

Apart from a very slow service nothing to complain about . The food at the buffet was excellent and I should commend chef Joshi who met my son and offered to take him to kitchen. The manager was very helping.

There is a small infinity pool which had temperature control...very important since srinagar can be very cold..but pool water was dirty.

We stayed for two nights and again the checkout was very slow . The a la carte service was slow to an extent that it took us 2 hours for a meal.

overall a very good location hotel with excellent rooms and garden.

I would recommend this hotel to every one . I hope they improve the service as well by improving the manpower.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. But choose Deluxe Delight on the far side since they have bigger gardens
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NILAYJaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I had gone to Taj Vivanta with a lot of expectations as the Taj vivanta in my city really rocks.
But it was a disappointment right from the checking in process. It took all the time and though we had 5 rooms they said as per their policy check in time is 2 pm so they can give after that only.
the pool was not functioning and neither was the business centre.
my room airconditioning was also not working properly and had to call the engineer 3 times before he could rectify the problem
the lawns are not ready and they have a lot of teething problems till now though they opened a year back( that is the excuse they give for all their problems)
it was also very expensive compared to the Lalit hotel to which we shifted after 2 days.

Room Tip: If you are wary of walking too much do ask for the rooms in the main building or near the entrance.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lovetravelling46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews