We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,254)
Filter reviews
1,254 results
Traveller rating
810
305
71
41
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
810
305
71
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hill top infinity pool latitude restaurant hill overlooking jade dragon premium indulgence room main building in room dining tulip garden duty manager beautiful property excellent view panoramic view rooms are huge f b room service breakfast spread
Filter
Updating list...
1,195 - 1,200 of 1,254 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed at Vivanta Srinangar for 4 nights with my wife at our first wedding anniversary. The hotel is an hour from the airport, on a hilltop overlooking Dal lake and the mountains. The hotel lobby was well designed, but the narrow corridors looked more like an industrial design than aesthetic.
What we liked: Great location close to Tulip Garden. great view of Dal and mountains. Remote, secure location. Fleet of Innovas means you can plan trips at short notice. (Thanks Mudasir). Checkin took time, since our room wasn't ready, but Mr Iqbal made us feel comfortable. Car drivers (Sameer, Farhan, Ismail etc) are knowledgable and helpful, and act as semi-guides. Food was delicious, though choice at Latitude restaurant was limited. Jade Dragon (Chinese restaurant) was good. Hospitable, helpful staff. The hotel sent us a complimentary cake & bouquet on our wedding anniversary, and prepared a floral bath, though I had made just a casual mention of it to the staff. Quick checkout, quick room service.

What we didn't: Swimming pool was under maintenance; though I don't use the pool. The sit outs are common, not private, as advertised in their website. Website mentions Iron & ironing board too, but neither were in our room. Heater was temperamental, sometimes working and sometimes not. Mini-bar is rather lean. I felt some of the drivers had preexisting arrangements with certain guides at picnic spots to hike rates & share revenues. Do ask for clear rates for skiing, trekking etc before you sign up. There was a connecting door between my room and the next; so, all sounds in the next room would be transmuted right across.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chackowacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Taj can be very proud of this beautifully located Hotel facing the Dal Lake. Stayed here for two nights and it has been a very different experience. Srinagar as such looks like a very ruined Town. The moment you arrive in to Airport, You can sense the hardships people go through. Main town is spoiled like hell and roads are in a very pathetic condition. It's only near to Dal lake that we really feel the true Kashmir. Hotel has heavy security and only inhouse guests are allowed inside the resort premises. I was extremely well looked after and made very welcome. Its a well crafted accommodation and the views are brilliant from the rooms. I must say I have never experienced such prompt and fast f&b service. I tried all my meals from their main restaurant and the food was excellent.Weather was fierce and roads were partly blocked due to the snow and hence didn't get a chance to go around that much.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the far end of the resort.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The best view one can expect in Srinagar. It is located at a height, hence gives a complete view of Dal and areas around it.
I would recommend it as a must for first time visitors looking for a luxury hotel as it offers a mesmerizing view of the paradise that Srinagar is.

The flip side is --> most of the facilities such as gym is still not ready for use! Also, as it is secluded, u'll have to call for a cab everytime you want to go out.

Room Tip: Please make your room requirements amply clear before reaching. My personal experience --> We went for our honeymoon (which we mentioned while booking our room) and they gave us twin beds!!!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sakshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The best location in town let down by a poor standard of finish and inadequate maintenance for a property only 12 months old. Food was not up to the mark for the steep nightly rate but the view is superb and this is the hotel's main redeeeming feature. Sweeping views of the lake and mountains with great sunsets over the water. Rooms are fine and easily fitted a rollaway bed for our daughter but you have to leave your eye for detail at home as is the case with many properties in India. The Taj Vivanta brand doesn't allways deliver and I wouldn't consider the Dal Lake property value for money by any stretch of the imagination. At the time of our visit, the spa has not been completed, the pool was empty (at the beginning of summer) and the other ornamental and infinity pools bone dry as well. Very basic mini bar and limited menu had us looking for other meal options after day 2. However, we couldn't fault the staff or the service. A place with great potential but currently just not up to the mark.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms give a better view of the lake and surrounding hills.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed twice at this hotel while on holiday in Dec 2011. My first stay was flawless. However, the second stay revealed the gaping lacunae in the service standards

Let me start with the good parts though

The property is right on top of a hill with a decent view. The rooms are very large and very comfortable. As some others have mentioned, the bathrooms are very large

The main room has a large bed and a very comfortable sofa. A large screen tv is standard

The bathroom has a separate rain shower and a lovely soaking tub. Water pressure is decent

I tried only one restaurant through out my stay and a bit of room service

The restaurant for breakfast and dinner is very good. The food is excellent and the service is absolutely superb. One of the staff would always start the espresso machine early for us so we could enjoy our lattes. The staff was very attentive and helpful and keen to recommend options. They took pride in the food on offer and it was great to see that. Even at room service, the food delivery was prompt and very tasty

Now to the really dismal areas:

1. Badly maintained rooms: On our second stay, the room simply wasn't warming up. On complaining, we were given a fan heater which is not a good thing to have with a child in the room. The maintainence person told us that the heating couldn't be improved further which was ridiculous since I'd stayed there earlier in a warmer room. With great reluctance, we were moved to another room where not surprisingly, the heating was much much better. Basically, the maintainence person was loathe to work in the evening.

In the second room, we found a dead insect within the sheets. It took over an hour for the staff to change the sheets and they took action only when I offered to go to the housekeeping desk and pick up the sheets to do it myself. Between the room change and the sheet change, we lost over 2 hours with a very tired child to attend to

The bathroom then turned out to be leaky and we had to get it fixed the next day

2. Terrible service: Housekeeping wasn't upto the mark. On one occassion, we found a tray left behind under the table. On another, we found stained towels and hair in the shower stall. Not what would be expected from a Taj

The next day the power went out. At first I thought it was a power cut. After waiting for half an hour when I went to check at the desk, I found that it was only our room that had no power

Through out the difficulty, each time I complained to the front desk, the only question they had was when I would check out

So in short, a nicely located hotel, nice rooms if they are well maintained, great food and service in the restaurant but absolutely dismal service elsewhere. The ladies at the desk staff are to be highlighted in their absolute disregard for guest complaints

Would never stay there again

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms give you the feel of a large lawn attached to the room
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Adesitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews