We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impression and happy when stay in house boat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
Ranked #7 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2016

This is good House boat I like location near the road and market, comfortable for travel another place. Good service start at airport until comeback .The meals were good tasty and they asked what we would like for our meals.The room was nice decorate Kashmir tradition style. Aizaz & family & staff given a warm welcome very friendly I feel stay at my home .That time in Kashmir not calm any place was shutdown cannot travel, Aizaz help us change program and flight. We have happy and will go to visit again sooner.

Room Tip: good view every rooms
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanisap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for The Shelter Group of Houseboats
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2016

For a long time it was a cherished dream to stay in a house boat during Kashmir Tour. The dream came true with the courtesy of Aizaz bhai, when we came to know that our pick up car from the Air Port was heading to a House Boat of Shelter Group. It was a nice House Boat, beautifully decorated with all items of comfortable and luxurious stay in it. The main thing that the house boat was on a flowing river.
The arrangement of food was very nice and tasty.
The hospitality of Aizaz Bhai and his staff has no comparison. I have already stated the qualities and cooperation of Aizaz bhai in a separate review Titled 'Amarnath Yatra & Darshan'. Aizaz bhai and his family run the Lonely Guest House where we stayed in the following days.
The care, the service, the food, the comfort which Aizaz bhai and his family rendered to us were extraordinary.
Really during the stay in Kashmir even in such an adverse situation, the whole tour was successful only due to the continuous cooperation of Aizaz bhai.
We strongly recommend to stay in the House Boat of Shelter Group managed by Aizaz Bhai.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STABAK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

The main thing what we liked is about theie hospitality. The staff were very friendly . it gives a homely feeling . We visited here during the curfew in Srinagar and they arranged things very well even during this time.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nishanth123606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We were given a warm welcome, the rooms were comfortable & we were always asked what we would like for our meals. The packed lunch provided (on request), was a blessing. It saved us time & helped us maintain good health. Also, a dedicated vehicle was provided and the staff provided us excellent feedback before every trip.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabethvsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

This was our first visit to Kashmir and since Srinagar was a part of our itinerary, my 5 year old daughter was keen on staying in a houseboat.
Pretty pleased that we choose The shelter group over the other houseboats in Dal lake. Since we were on a self drive trip, close proximity car parking was quite important, This is right in front of a parking lot unlike the houseboats on Dal lake. Having said that Dal lake houseboats definitely have a more scenic advantage over the ones on Jhelum river.
We stayed here for three nights and the hospitality provided by Shafiq and the staff is simply awesome. There was never a negative reply for any request, even if it meant some trouble to them. We hoteliers need to learn a lot from these Kashmiris who without formal training are providing the best of service to the guests.
The bed rooms are a bit small if three people are staying in a room. Bathroom too is a bit cramped. But guess thats the standard in houseboats, hence ideal for a couples in a room. It does have a common hall and dining area in each of the houseboat. Food provided was basic but mouth watering and hygienic.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AvijitSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
6.0 km away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
5.9 km away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
5.6 km away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#16 of 135 in Srinagar
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#30 of 135 in Srinagar
143 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel
5.0 km away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelter Group of Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelter Group of Houseboats

Address: Lal Mandi Road | Near S. P. S Museum, Srinagar 190008, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range: ₹ 779 - ₹ 2,142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shelter Group of Houseboats is only Houseboats in Valley knows how important the sense of security and safety is to all its guests. Hence, a special effort is made at all our Houseboats to ensure that guest security and the Houseboats security takes precedence over any other objective.The Lal Mandi Road is security patrolled by security guards and all emergency plans well in place. The Houseboats is located in high security zone and shares the VIP road and Political residence on another side of the shore , both well guarded by BSF. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, HostelWorld and TravelGuru so you can book your The Shelter Group of Houseboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelter Group Of Houseboats Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing