We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit and much better and”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
Ranked #7 of 136 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Great shelter Group houseboats in kashmir valley, i writing this review from srinagar valley and 2nd time visit , the location is awesome which you never get anywhere in kashmir , From room you can flowing river ,
its like second home for me in Srinagar valley
There are following feature in this group
1 The Food is awesome there and i bet you that you not get anywhere in india
2 The location is great and centrally located
3 The great habit of understanding the people and there worries

last but not least
the shelter is best

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ken_samal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 159 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We 2, stayed there 4 days 4 nights. Everybody of houseboat group is friendly. We got warm hospitality. They always assisted us. They gave us a suggestion and warning before traveling other places. Room is quite clean, but slightly dark and easy noisy when anybody walk, talk or do anything outside. Food is good taste. Well if you like closely nicely take care of, the shelter group of houseboats would perfect for you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuun_Supit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed on the houseboat from 24 Mar to 26 Mar 2012
We were provided with very good, helpful and friendly services. Transports to various attractions and to our next destination were arranged by the owner, which were really a convenience to us
The breakfasts and dinners were very much to our liking
We were even offered the used of their personal phone (without charges) and laptop to call home as communications using our own hand-phones were blocked
Overall, we enjoyed our stay on this houseboat and would not hesitant to stay there again on our next trip

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orkidmunsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were 2 couples with kids. Booked the place due to online reviews.

First & foremost the location is not on Dal lake. It is 15mins away from Dal lake and looks more like a canal which offers no views. We visited several other house boats during our stay & I would like to recommend a stay on the Nageen lake for their splendid views and even the quality of houseboats are better.

The entire houseboat lacks lighting which makes everything too dark. The food was also not up to the mark.

What we did like was the experience of sharing the houseboat with the owners and sitting with them for tea or sharing a casual conversation.

So stay in Houseboat only for the different experience, but I would suggest booking some other houseboat, not Shelter.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AtitRuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My friends and i stayed at the houseboat for 4 days 3 nights from the 16th till 20th of february 2012. The boat is very nicely decorated with wooden cravings, you will also get a hot shower, room heater, as well as room service. Everyday we would request for toasted bread, fried eggs and kashmiri cooked tomatoes for breakfast. For dinner we would ask them to surprise us with traditional kashmiri cooking. Usually a mix some vege, kashmiri curry and fried chicken, fish or meat.

Our guide, Mr Qayyum was very attentive and friendly. He would explain the sites visited and if asked will even take photos for you, which is great when travelling in groups as everyone can be in the photo. The itinerary was well arranged and with good timing. We would recommend this houseboat for anyone wanting a tailored trip.

Room Tip: There are 2 boat, choose the main one. as it is bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank firzaliyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
6.0 km away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
5.6 km away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#16 of 136 in Srinagar
353 reviews
5.9 km away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Wangnoo Houseboats
Wangnoo Houseboats
#24 of 136 in Srinagar
235 reviews
2.6 km away
New Bul Bul Group of Houseboats
2.0 km away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#33 of 136 in Srinagar
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelter Group of Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelter Group of Houseboats

Address: Lal Mandi Road | near Shri Pratab Singh Palace, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range: ₹ 782 - ₹ 2,215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shelter Group of Houseboats is only houseboats in valley knows how important the sense of security and safety is to all its guests. Hence, a special effort is made at all our houseboats to ensure that guest security and the houseboats security takes precedence over any other objective.The Lal Mandi Road is security patrolled by security guards and all emergency plans well in place. The houseboats is located in high security zone and shares the VIP road and political residence on another side of the shore, both well guarded by BSF. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your The Shelter Group of Houseboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelter Group Of Houseboats Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing