We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Kashmiri Food”
Review of Ahdoos

Ahdoos
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic Kashmiri Food”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

One of the best restaurants in Srinagar. I don't know about the hotel but the eating facility is simply fantastic. The service is outstanding and the food much better than the service. The traditional Kashmiri cuisine (Wazwan) is their speciality and you will be thinking about it days after you have eaten there. Also try the Ahdoos bakery downstairs.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank therunningloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    313
    97
    38
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I visited Srinagar in the month of Jun12 with my family. We have booked hotel Ahdoos from cleartrip.com with meals (Breakfast and Dinner). Just want to share some good and bad experience with all my family friends.

Advantages.

Hotel Ahdoos is in the heart of the city only 2 or 3 kms away from Lal chowk. Shops are nearby from where you can buy dryfruites, kids wear and ladies suits etc. Hotel food is very delicious and tourist comes from different places to enjoy the Hotel food.
Manager sitting on the reception are very helpful. They have arranged the cab with good driver for us who shows us all the tourist places in Srinagar.


Disadvantages

Average Hotel with high room price per day. Never Book this Hotel with meals (breakfast and Dinner), if you do this mistake, on the restaurant table first NO one will come to attend you and they will treat you like you are eating food for FREE. Waiter are hungry for tips (very frustrating experience. There is no view of the Hotel, pictures shown on website are not true. I suggest you all to book lake site hotels at the same price. Rooms are Big but needs Renovation. We saw cockrogies in the bathroom, Toilet seats are broken etc etc.
Overall not a good experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Manish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Original Kashmiri Food”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

A must visit on your trip to Srinagar. It's the place that locals go to. the food was just too good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Go-Jolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Kashmiri Cuisine”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Authentic Kashmiri Cuisine and excellent service here. The lehabi kebab and Haak Saag were excellent and so also the Phirni. They have a very good bakery too

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank YourSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Good for Kashmiri food”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had heard a lot about the food at Ahdoo's as our parents had visited the same several times in the past. We ate here twice during our recent visit to Srinagar. The first time we were scared of "spicy" food, so we ordered relatively safe curd based dishes like Goshtaba, Yakhni, etc. We also tried the Iranian Nan and fruit cream. The food this time was average.
The second time we decided to give safety the miss and tried dishes like Mutton Roganjosh, Chicken Masala, Nadur Yakhni (Lotus stem), Haq Saag etc. The food was very good this time and was relished by both vegetarians and non-vegetarians!
I am surprised to read that some reviewers felt that service was not good. My experience was to the contrary. The staff was quite polite and helped us in selecting which dishes to order. Also, service was really quick.
Would recommend this restaurant to everyone visiting Srinagar who wants to try Kashmiri food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank IshwinderSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ahdoos also viewed

Srinagar, Srinagar District
Srinagar, Srinagar District
 
Srinagar, Srinagar District
Srinagar, Srinagar District
 

Been to Ahdoos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing