We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Experience in Srinagar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Group of Houseboats

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swan Group of Houseboats
Ranked #20 of 533 Speciality Lodging in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Experience in Srinagar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Kashmir was not in my plans when coming to India, due all the politic and news we heard about overseas, now I am very grateful with Umar at Perfect Holiday Travels that included this as an option, and also because he is always making sure you are ok and helping youi with everything.

I strongly suggest you hire an agency services when coming to India - it is not an easy country to get through by yourself, and if you have short time this is excellent to seize your days the best way possible.

Srinagar is a piece of heaven. I went for 3 days in February, it was very cold and snowing which was great for the horseback riding in the mountains.

Regarding my stay, Swan House is a great place to stay where you feel like home, literally i felt like a princess for 3 days, they are always looking for every details to make you happy.

I specially recommend Shaban (tour guide) @ Swan, he is very helpful, patient and always offering excellent service.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    59
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
67
43
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

My family and I have stayed at the Swan houseboat many times over the past 25 years. We have always been made to feel very welcome and enjoyed our stay. Despite all the political difficulties that Kashmir has faced, it still feels wonderfully calm sitting on the front deck of the Swan houseboat watching the sunset on the Dal lake. (I've put Aug 2011 as our travel date but last time we visited was actually 2010 when my wife and I stayed on the houseboat.)

Room Tip: Check whether others are staying on the boat at the same time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnnyalive2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I went to Srinagar a few weeks before and stayed at swan group of house boats. It was a perfect place to stay at. The rooms are big enough and really comfortable. There were good heating arrangements in the boat and the food was nice.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pooja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My wife and I had spendid time in kashmir The scenery was absolutely stunning, it was very cold in srinagar but the people at swan group of house boats always kept us warm,our room was very nice with hot water in the bathroom always. The food at the boat was clean and fresh we will be looking forward to come back in summer.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vishuarora05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

It is very well maintained houseboat in Dal Lake... Service & Food is good...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hardik20782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.9 km away
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
3.0 km away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
0.3 km away
Young Bombay Group of House Boats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Heaven Breeze - Group of House Boats
4.4 km away
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
#3 of 127 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
4.0 km away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Group of Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Group of Houseboats

Property: Swan Group of Houseboats
Address: Golden Dal Lake opposite | Boulverd Road,srinagar, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 533 Speciality Lodging in Srinagar
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,420 - ₹ 1,49,032
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Group of Houseboats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swan Group of Houseboats, a company recognized by Govt. of India, Ministry of Tourism, a houseboat with people with delegation of powerful experience, knows its way around. Swan Group of Houseboats, a houseboat with difference, has been successfully engaged in the travel business for past 20 years & has gathered together a specialized and well experienced team dedicated to the path of the traveler in Srinagar. Indeed our commitment to Srinagar is unsurpassed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayzilla, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and TravelGuru so you can book your Swan Group of Houseboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Group Of Houseboats Hotel Srinagar
Swan Group Of Houseboats Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing